Ravi Shastri on Shaheen Afridi

21 minutes ago, the don said:

Ohhh bhai go check out his record across formats lol. Overhyped only when you comapare him to pakistani greats like Wasim. India ka overhyped kehna nahi banta usay.

It isnt a rocket science to dig into his stats and figure out how his "stats" are improved. A bowling version of Babar.

Let Shaheen first learn how to bowl better than Siraj against quality teams..then we will compare him with other Indian greats. :phehe:

12 hours ago, the don said:

Shaheen is a lil over hyped especially on his return to injury where he is still finding his way but dude landed him straight from the coaching seat to the commentary box. Needs to sit down.

Shastri was to step down as coach after T20 WC 2021 anyway. He announced it before.

https://www.wionews.com/sports/ravi-shastri-set-to-resign-as-team-india-head-coach-after-t20-world-cup-bcci-to-invite-applications-report-413245

27 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

It isnt a rocket science to dig into his stats and figure out how his "stats" are improved. A bowling version of Babar.

Let Shaheen first learn how to bowl better than Siraj against quality teams..then we will compare him with other Indian greats. :phehe:

Siraj: facepalm

5 hours ago, the don said:

Siraj: facepalm

Homework assignment for you.  Compare Siraj and Naseem's test numbers in Australia and England, and report back your findings.  

Siraj has played 21 tests home and away, Naseem 17.  Inspite of statpadding against Sri Lanka, Naseem's overall numbers are worse than Siraj's.  And if you just compare AUS & ENG - its atrocious.  Same goes for Shaheen Couchface.  His average in Eng & Aus is 45, Siraj is 30.  

Even young, supposedly educated greenbros seem to live in the past when it comes to delusions about PAK pace bowling.  Your players are ordinary and overhyped

Here's a prediction - you will slink away from this thread like the coward that you have proven yourself to be, time and again.  Only to surface with more arrogant ignorance weeks/months later somewhere else. 

Edited by sandeep
7 hours ago, Sharjah-Harjah said:

Shaheen averages low 20s in T20, ODI and Test cricket. Ranked top 10 in both ODI and Test formats. Iconic performances against top batters in the world cups. Youngest to receive the prestigious cricketer of the year award 2021 at the age of 22. Previous winners from India since 2000 are Dravid, Sachin, Kohli and Ashwin after playing cricket for nearly a decade.

Pakistan fans don’t make the ICC committee? He has also won last 2 PSL cups as a captain already. 
Disappointed to see Ravi Shastri’s desperate commentary to downplay 1 of the best players in the world. Shaheen is clearly going through a rough patch, which all players see every now and then. It’s an overreaction. 
The Shaheen nightmare will be back. It’s as certain as death and taxes. 

Good civilized post, haven't seen you before; welcome. 

However, I think your saltiness has you missing Shastri's point.  He isn't "criticizing" Shaheen here, just pointing out that he isn't quite the legendary 'best player in the world' type that he's made out to be.  

What are Shaheen's test numbers in Australia and England again?  Can you post those please?

6 minutes ago, Lord said:

Shaheen isn't great but not many can defend 191. 

Its not about defending a target.  Its about impact.

Great bowlers find ways to have an impact on the game.  Even without taking wickets.   Take out Shaheen's first 2/3 overs with the new ball in any game, and how much impact does he have after that?  Not much.  He's not an all-phase bowler.  

Because of T20 4 over spells, those new ball 2 overs become 50% of game impact, but in ODIs its about 10 overs.  In tests, its about multiple spells.  The great bowlers demonstrate greatness not just in one aspect of bowling.....

2 hours ago, sandeep said:

Good civilized post, haven't seen you before; welcome. 

However, I think your saltiness has you missing Shastri's point.  He isn't "criticizing" Shaheen here, just pointing out that he isn't quite the legendary 'best player in the world' type that he's made out to be.  

What are Shaheen's test numbers in Australia and England again?  Can you post those please?

Lol! I understand but shastri is wrong.

overall numbers and achievements are those of a very special and world class player. A string of average games and knives are out. 
what are Kohli’s numbers in England and NZ? Can you post those.

One can easily find flaws in any player’s record, specially so early in their career. It’s an illogical argument. 
Shastri and his admirers should go and take on ICC committee for awarding Shaheen the player of the year award, which is reserved for GOATs.

10 minutes ago, Sharjah-Harjah said:

Lol! I understand but shastri is wrong.

overall numbers and achievements are those of a very special and world class player. A string of average games and knives are out. 
what are Kohli’s numbers in England and NZ? Can you post those.

One can easily find flaws in any player’s record, specially so early in their career. It’s an illogical argument. 
Shastri and his admirers should go and take on ICC committee for awarding Shaheen the player of the year award, which is reserved for GOATs.

• I thought we were talking about bowling, so lets talk about guys like Bumrah, Siraj, Shami etc.
  • Please list Naseem or Shaheen's "impact" performances in test cricket especially in AUS/ENG/SA.
  • If you want to talk about Virat, his body of work speaks for itself - he does have impact performances even in England.  
  • Just because Shaheen is the best that Pakistan has to offer, doesn't somehow make him 'best'.  

1 hour ago, sandeep said:

• I thought we were talking about bowling, so lets talk about guys like Bumrah, Siraj, Shami etc.
  • Please list Naseem or Shaheen's "impact" performances in test cricket especially in AUS/ENG/SA.
  • If you want to talk about Virat, his body of work speaks for itself - he does have impact performances even in England.  
  • Just because Shaheen is the best that Pakistan has to offer, doesn't somehow make him 'best'.  

Like I said, Shastri and his supporters should take this up with the ICC why they awarded him Player of the year in 2021, which is reserved for GOATs. They should influence ICC to change their ranking algorithm and ask why this mediocre guy consistently ranks top 10. 
As for Shaheen’s current form sucks. But mark my words: the nightmare of Shaheen will be back. It’s as certain as death and taxes. 

2 minutes ago, Sharjah-Harjah said:

Like I said, Shastri and his supporters should take this up with the ICC why they awarded him Player of the year in 2021, which is reserved for GOATs. They should influence ICC to change their ranking algorithm and ask why this mediocre guy consistently ranks top 10. 
As for Shaheen’s current form sucks. But mark my words: the nightmare of Shaheen will be back. It’s as certain as death and taxes. 

GOATs? It rewards performance of one year only. Even Jonathan Trott has won it.

Shaheen is a one trick pony as of now. Naseem is much better bowler currently.

28 minutes ago, Serpico said:

If shastri believes this with full conviction, he should have said it in 2021 when the hype surrounding him was at the peak. Now even pak fans are saying he's bowling crap so shastri is jumping on the bandwagon

beliefs evolve over time, back in 2021, teams most played t20s. This is a format he will be very effective, as Shaheen seems to be deadly with the new ball & teams can't afford to just see him through like they may in ODIs or Tests. 

At this point in time Shaheen isn't as effective if you can see his spell with the new ball off, may be he evolves his skill to be effective in other phases of the game. But he isn't at the level of Wasim or Waqar who could at their prime be effective at most times. 

1 hour ago, Lord said:

GOATs? It rewards performance of one year only. Even Jonathan Trott has won it.

Shaheen is a one trick pony as of now. Naseem is much better bowler currently.

Jonathan Trott was at his peak and a top-class player. Why haven't Bumrah, Shami and Siraj won it? They have played more cricket than Shaheen no. Again, take it up with ICC.

5 hours ago, sandeep said:

Here's a prediction - you will slink away from this thread like the coward that you have proven yourself to be, time and again.  Only to surface with more arrogant ignorance weeks/months later somewhere else.

Precisely. This Don guy and there's one other guy @ImranKhanGreatest who spring up here once in a few days , post delusional rat crap and then run away when the mirror is shown.. then come back with even more delusional rat crap and so on and on. Funny characters these lot...

23 minutes ago, Sharjah-Harjah said:

Why haven't Bumrah, Shami and Siraj won it?

Because they don't play every useless bilateral game like Shaheen did in 2021 even if it's against Uganda C team. At the end of day ICC rankings and awards are decided by stats and Shaheen padded them up very well by playing even against almighty Zimbabwe. 

Or else , he was pretty much nothing in that whole year apart from a new ball spell against India in a circus T20. Mathew wade would have had a big laugh when he saw that award announcement