Real McCoy Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 9 minutes ago, Vickydev said: Getting to semis is a guarantee medal in Boxing isnt it? 8 minutes ago, deathmonger said: boxing has 2 bronzes w/o 3rd place. why comment when you dont know? oh right, its boxing. almost forgot about the double bronze
Gollum Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 (edited) @maniac we are a better sporting nation than more successful Olympic nations like Iran, Kenya, Central Asian 'stans', Azerbaijan, Ethiopia, Indonesia etc. That is because our medal count is more diversely spread. Those countries target 2-3 sports and keep winning (Kenya has 113 medals in total, 7 in boxing, 106 in long distance track). We can and have won in shooting, wrestling, boxing, badminton, tennis, javelin. Our hockey team is still the most successful Olympic team of all time, greater than USA basketball or USSR female's gymnastics team. Even after 30 years no one will come close to India's hockey legacy in Olympics (8 golds, total 12 medals). Then sports like cricket, kabaddi, billiards, chess which are not part of Olympics. You have seen how tough it to medal in hockey, but just one event while swimming, fencing, gymnastics have dozens. Put India in a direct faceoff vs Iran/Kenya/Uzbekistan/Ethiopia etc. in all Olympic events and we will beat them in 80-90% of total events. heck we will beat USA in 20% events despite having 1% of their Olympic success. There is a reason we reach R16, QF in so many events. It is frustrating I know but we need some perspective. Edited August 3, 2024 by Gollum rollingstoned, Sandz, maniac and 1 other 1 2 1
Vickydev Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 7 minutes ago, Number said: They pinning hopes on Axelsen. Yeah they've got a very strong Handball team as well, where they'll be expecting a Gold/Silver.
Gollum Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 14 minutes ago, Real McCoy said: Its a QF. Don't go by the media excitement. Winning there is NOT a medal assured. You still need the player to win atleast one or two of the matches after this one. How many of us got fooled by the fake jio manufactured excitement? @Gollum can give tell you how many times the jio host announced the "medal assured" in archery and fans got klpd-ed In combat sports like boxing, wrestling, judo, taekwondo, 2 bronze medals are there for each event. So just getting to SF will assure us of a bronze. Real McCoy 2
coffee_rules Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 5 minutes ago, Number said: Yeah Boxing is always 2 bronze. Getting to Semis is bronze confirmed, no 3rd place match, no repechage. Who from India are in QFs and 1 match away from medal?
Real McCoy Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 6 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: I don’t know her credentials, but the Archery coach has to be replaced. As soon as Ankita releases, I hear a “great shot or good shot” aur teer lagi saath par bc teer pahunchne tak ruk jaati! I felt like strangulating the coach! Our coaches are there just to make up the numbers. we need an outsider especially in archery where our previous archers/grass roots coaches don't make a good coach. They lack the coaching skill to get our players to the next level. I see your observations and raise you with that annoying aunty in kaur's background saying "straight line" every freaking time and every pressure points she lost Gollum and coffee_rules 2
deathmonger Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 5 minutes ago, Gollum said: @maniac we are a better sporting nation than more successful Olympic nations like Iran, Kenya, Central Asian 'stans', Azerbaijan, Ethiopia, Indonesia etc. That is because our medal count is more diversely spread. Those countries target 2-3 sports and keep winning (Kenya has 113 medals in total, 7 in boxing, 106 in long distance track). We can and have won in shooting, wrestling, boxing, badminton, tennis, javelin. Our hockey team is still the most successful Olympic team of all time, greater than USA basketball or USSR female's gymnastics team. Even after 30 years no one will come close to India's hockey legacy in Olympics (8 golds, total 12 medals). Then sports like cricket, kabaddi, billiards, chess which are not part of Olympics. You have seen how tough it to medal in hockey, but just one event while swimming, fencing, gymnastics have dozens. Put India in a direct faceoff vs Iran/Kenya/Uzbekistan/Ethiopia etc. in all Olympic events and we will beat them in 80-90% of total events. There is a reason we reach R16, QF in so many events while they don't. thats why we beat them in cwg, asian
Vickydev Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 Wonder why they pushed Weightlifting for so late in these games, from memory its always played in the initial few days?? Countries like Iran always used to pick up a few medals there.
Kron Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 Judo and karate is something we don't do well in. But we are good in wrestling. Not sure why. Judo we don't have quality trainers it seems. And no interest. It's a stupid sport anyway Half of them just told on to gi and use leverage from the hold to toss their opponent around. Karate is point fighting mostly. Taekwando. I don't think anyone even knows that shite in India.
Kron Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 1 minute ago, Vickydev said: Wonder why they pushed Weightlifting for so late in these games, from memory its always played in the initial few days?? Countries like Iran always used to pick up a few medals there. We can do very well in weight lifting. Need to spend more funding for that. We have talent there in heavier weight classes.
Number Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 (edited) 5 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: Who from India are in QFs and 1 match away from medal? Lovlina and Nishant Edited August 3, 2024 by Number coffee_rules 1
Gollum Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 11 minutes ago, Real McCoy said: Even if we beat GBR, medal is not assured just saying. Let's say we win this one and lose in the SF. We may be facing one of Netherlands or Belgium. That won't be an easy task. So we have to win the next two to get a medal. If we aim for bronze medal, we are most likely to end up with nothing. Always aim for the gold even if we are playing sh1t hockey Fulton's formula is simple, focus on one match at a time, and give your everything there. He refused to take questions about the Belgium clash, after the Arg draw. Said all the focus was on Ireland next. Real McCoy 1
Real McCoy Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 18 minutes ago, deathmonger said: boxing has 2 bronzes w/o 3rd place. why comment when you dont know? its not a matter of not knowing but a lack of reading comprehension. I saw qf and medal approved and didnt see boxing. Thanks for assuming
randomGuy Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 28 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: 5 more at best , 1 or 2 at worst. @randomGuy ginti rakhta hain 5.5 more from here 0.5 lakshya 2 athletics 1 hockey, weightlifting, shooting etc 1 boxing 1 wrestling 5.5 average case. coffee_rules 1
Real McCoy Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 Just now, Gollum said: Fulton's formula is simple, focus on one match at a time, and give your everything there. He refused to take questions about the Belgium clash, after the Arg draw. Said all the focus was on Ireland next. That's the way to go. Rafa maintains that he doesn't or atleast pretends not to know the next round opponent. He has always maintained the discipline of focusing on the next point in matches and giving it the full attention. Gollum 1
coffee_rules Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 8 minutes ago, Real McCoy said: Our coaches are there just to make up the numbers. we need an outsider especially in archery where our previous archers/grass roots coaches don't make a good coach. They lack the coaching skill to get our players to the next level. I see your observations and raise you with that annoying aunty in kaur's background saying "straight line" every freaking time and every pressure points she lost Also, it didn’t help that the coach looked like a relative (mausi or bua) of Ankita Gollum, Sgattick10 and Real McCoy 3
Gollum Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 We are still the most successful hockey team of all time. And second most ICC trophies behind Australia. That has to count for something. Granted these two aren't as popular as football, but at least rugby level sports hai donon, maybe hockey being a bit more global and cricket a tad less. Spain isn't that successful in Olympics like other developed nations but they have legacy in football, tennis. Similar with Argentina. Mexico is weak in Olympics but look at their combat sports legacy. RSA great in cricket and most successful in rugby. Olympics is no doubt important but not everything, especially when there are allegations of corruption, biased officials, doping, developed countries pushing for more medals in their areas of strengths etc. Real McCoy 1
deathmonger Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 2 minutes ago, randomGuy said: 5.5 more from here 0.5 lakshya 2 athletics 1 hockey, weightlifting, shooting etc 1 boxing 1 wrestling 5.5 average case. 2 athletics is not happening. 2-3 wrestling is more likely than 2nd athletics medal. who is the 2nd athletics mendal? jena?
Kron Posted August 3, 2024 Posted August 3, 2024 (edited) 2 minutes ago, Gollum said: We are still the most successful hockey team of all time. And second most ICC trophies behind Australia. That has to count for something. Granted these two aren't as popular as football, but at least rugby level sports hai donon, maybe hockey being a bit more global and cricket a tad less. Spain isn't that successful in Olympics like other developed nations but they have legacy in football, tennis. Similar with Argentina. Mexico is weak in Olympics but look at their combat sports legacy. RSA great in cricket and most successful in rugby. Olympics is no doubt important but not everything, especially when there are allegations of corruption, biased officials, doping, developed countries pushing for more medals in their areas of strengths etc. When we talk about corruption, south africa is nothing compared to India. Besides doping by most developed countries, they also get imports from other nations particularly blacks. Edited August 3, 2024 by Kron