Lord Posted August 8, 2024 Posted August 8, 2024 6 minutes ago, deathmonger said: but neeraj literally won 2020 olympics and 2023 world championships where arshad was also participating. more about scores than Arshad. I can't fathom that 90m has been breached multiple times but Neeraj is yet to get there
maniac Posted August 8, 2024 Posted August 8, 2024 Just now, Lord said: huh, clearly said its preparing and focus on consistency than peaks. Intention kaha se aa gayi? I really hope he does better next time. Is one of our few hopes that’s why he wins medals regularly. Some of the other guys were hitting 90+ but with a lot of fouls. Neeraj usually is precise and hits the same distance consistently. its like comparing Mark Wood vs Steyn. Steyn will know how to get to his job on every pitch while Mark wood will produce a snorter out of nowhere. You seem to have high standards, I fear for your kids when they get 98% in exams rollingstoned and Lord 1 1
Lord Posted August 8, 2024 Posted August 8, 2024 9 minutes ago, Gollum said: Think India will bounce back in LA. Maybe complacency set in after Tokyo. Even though it doesn't mean much, finishing behind Pak in medals tally will give a kick up the backside of IOA. ' Even Neeraj may start throwing 90+ in the future. He needed not just any rival, but a Pakistani one. Maximus Neeraj will soon be unleashed and he'll go for gold in LA. India to get double digit medals in LA, close to 15, with 4 golds. Mark this post down. Many of our feds are going to get their act together, especially with rumours of 2036 bid floating. Early prediction from me @randomGuy Only if you open the thread :poink:
deathmonger Posted August 8, 2024 Posted August 8, 2024 2 minutes ago, Lord said: more about scores than Arshad. I can't fathom that 90m has been breached multiple times but Neeraj is yet to get there peters did in 22 Lord 1
Gollum Posted August 8, 2024 Posted August 8, 2024 2 minutes ago, Lord said: huh, clearly said its preparing and focus on consistency than peaks. Intention kaha se aa gayi? I really hope he does better next time. Is one of our few hopes Maybe 89.XX is his peak with his current technique and body. He has always said he is working on doing 90+, but unable to breach it in official competition. Maybe he will do so in future, maybe not. Right now his USP is doing 87+ irrespective of conditions or form. His ceiling is lower than some of the others, but floor is much higher, I am sure he will work on increasing his ceiling as well. 87.XX was enough in hot, humid Tokyo which was low scoring final because of the conditions, not here. Texan, Lord and rollingstoned 3
deathmonger Posted August 8, 2024 Posted August 8, 2024 but main thing is have a core belt of sports which provide guaranteed 4-5 golds so that shock golds like indonesia, pakistan, philippines cannot overtake us.
javier26 Posted August 8, 2024 Posted August 8, 2024 Doesn't even feel like India won a Medal that too silver one, hardly any celebrations unlike other times when even a Bronze is won. It seems India just settled for a consolation prize while someone else hit the Jackpot
Gollum Posted August 8, 2024 Posted August 8, 2024 2 minutes ago, Lord said: Only if you open the thread :poink: Most of us may not even be active in 2028. Life has changed so much in last 4 years. In 2028 we will have other responsibilities, priorities. Ultimate_Game 1
Ultimate_Game Posted August 8, 2024 Posted August 8, 2024 30 minutes ago, Gollum said: One of my colleagues supports Pak over India, his father is in coast guard, brother IPS. Never cares when India does something good. When Pak beats us, he is over the moon. Texted me, 'final dekha'. Still tolerable, I have heard worse stuff in Bhopal, Bengal, Bengaluru, Hyderabad. Provocative stuff. Ambedkar was right. Wish there was a "Mad" react emoji for this post. Jis thaali main kha raha hai, ussi main ched kar raha hai
Frustrated Posted August 8, 2024 Posted August 8, 2024 (edited) Labelling Arshad as a 'Freak' or using a synonymous word (like 'fluke') may not be appropriate. Coz he crossed the 90 metre mark not once but twice. That too very comfortably. He is just as consistent as Neeraj. Need to give credit where it's due. Neeraj has never touched 90 metre. Edited August 8, 2024 by Frustrated Ultimate_Game 1
Gollum Posted August 8, 2024 Posted August 8, 2024 Just now, Ultimate_Game said: Wish there was a "Mad" react emoji for this post. Jis thaali main kha raha hai, ussi main ched kar raha hai Inevitable, as we see across the world. Maybe this isn't the right thread for that kind of talk. Sgattick10 and Ultimate_Game 2
Ultimate_Game Posted August 8, 2024 Posted August 8, 2024 Just now, javier26 said: Doesn't even feel like India won a Medal that too silver one, hardly any celebrations unlike other times when even a Bronze is won. It seems India just settled for a consolation prize while someone else hit the Jackpot Our expectations changed. If our 4x400m relay team wins a Bronze, we would be over the moon. Neeraj has spoilt us so any medal other than Gold from him won't get that much reaction. In a way he's the best athlete we ever had and a true world champion where the expectation is for Gold. Hopefully we replicate it over other sports & disciplines. Frustrated and javier26 2
deathmonger Posted August 8, 2024 Posted August 8, 2024 2 minutes ago, Frustrated said: Labelling Arshad as a 'Freak' or using a synonymous word (like 'fluke') may not be appropriate. Coz he crossed the 90 metre mark not once but twice. That too very comfortably. He is just as consistent as Neeraj. Need to give credit where it's due. Neeraj has never touched 90 metre. he has higher highs and especially post 2022. he lost 2023 wc to neeraj by a bit. Frustrated 1
Ultimate_Game Posted August 8, 2024 Posted August 8, 2024 1 minute ago, Aiden said: Most Indian Muslims support Pakistan over India. Nothing new I would argue the most part. Haven't met anyone who does so.
Gollum Posted August 8, 2024 Posted August 8, 2024 3 minutes ago, deathmonger said: he has higher highs and especially post 2022. he lost 2023 wc to neeraj by a bit. Think this is the first time Neeraj lost to Arshad in any competition. That's why don't understand this obsession with 90+ when Neeraj is the benchmark for all other athletes in this sport. Sure he ain't dominant like Usain Bolt or Phelps, but to win any event you have to compete with Neeraj. Arshad did it today, maybe the Czech will do it in World Championship. Neeraj has achieved everything, won everything worth winning. Defending a gold in Olympics is tough, he did well all things considered. rollingstoned, Sgattick10, Ultimate_Game and 1 other 3 1
Gollum Posted August 8, 2024 Posted August 8, 2024 1 minute ago, Aiden said: Most Indian Muslims support Pakistan over India. Nothing new Agree.
coffee_rules Posted August 8, 2024 Posted August 8, 2024 31 minutes ago, maniac said: Premium account hai bhai, I don’t pay- family member ka Feed is based on what you click, subscribe. One week I kept choosing “don’t recommend this channel” and it stopped after a few days maniac 1
deathmonger Posted August 8, 2024 Posted August 8, 2024 1 minute ago, Gollum said: Think this is the first time Neeraj lost to Arshad in any competition. That's why don't understand this obsession with 90+ when Neeraj is the benchmark for all other athletes in this sport. Sure he ain't dominant like Usain Bolt or Phelps, but to win any event you have to compete with Neeraj. Arshad did it today, maybe the Czech will do it in World Championship. Neeraj has achieved everything, won everything worth winning. Defending a gold in Olympics is tough, he did well all things considered. hopefully this lights a fire under goi and they fund our pet sports more with all kinds of facilities. basically this avoids getting overtaken by shock golds like phillipines, indonesia, pakistan etc. get 4-5 golds and only the sporting powerhouses will be above. Gollum 1
coffee_rules Posted August 8, 2024 Posted August 8, 2024 2 medals in one day, one silver too. But why does life feel adhura adhura sa. Aaj to khush hona chahiye. maniac 1