Now that Dinesh Karthik has come, we are expecting more Indian players in the future: Graeme Smith

rollingstoned

7 minutes ago, putrevus said:

WI players are playing in IPL since 2008. How many times has WI beaten India again? SA players are playing in IPL too. How many times has SA beaten India in India.

Yes IPL should be not diluted at any cost. Players can be sent in A tours and other tours to get experience. 

Once players have avenues to play in other leagues, Indian cap or BCCI will not have the same value.

As long as IPL is the highest paid league, Indian players have nothing to complain.

Dont be daft, having one extra league permitted by BCCI only for Uncapped Indian players as a trial wont have am impact on the persons desire to play for India. Im not saying let Kohli play 3 overseas T20 leagues, i dont think players like Shahrukh Khan playing SAt20 has ghanta difference on the current status quo.

If India A team doesn't have T20 bilaterals with other A teams then what is the other solution?

15 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

so your priority is IPL being the main revenue generator for BCCI and not the development of upcoming indian players to get used to other conditions and pitches which help them become all round players- ok got it

The money is just not enough tbh. I remember sehwag saying the offer he got wouldn't have covered his expenses from one of those leagues. Most Ranji players also earn a decent living nowadays thanks to ipl and wouldn't dream of this unless it was that tempting an offer. 

21 minutes ago, putrevus said:

No they should not be allowed to play. There are other avenues to get better.

Had there been other avenues, I wouldn't have suggested these names.

If the above players are seemed fit only for T20's, let them play leagues and earn.

12 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

Dont be daft, having one extra league permitted by BCCI only for Uncapped Indian players as a trial wont have am impact on the persons desire to play for India. Im not saying let Kohli play 3 overseas T20 leagues, i dont think players like Shahrukh Khan playing SAt20 has ghanta difference on the current status quo.

If India A team doesn't have T20 bilaterals with other A teams then what is the other solution?

You are being idiotic, who is thinking short term and not understanding the consequences. You cannot pick and choose which player is allowed to play or not allowed to play. You will have players revolting against the system. You cannot allow ShahRuk Khan and deny Kohli or Bumrah. There are courts in India too.

It is very simple now for Indian players , they want IPL then they have to abide by BCCI rules which are very fair. If not they can retire and become Dinesh Karthik. No need to open any pandora's box.

They don't need to play t20 leagues in SA or Australia to become better t20 players.

Edited by putrevus
9 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Had there been other avenues, I wouldn't have suggested these names.

If the above players are seemed fit only for T20's, let them play leagues and earn.

They are allowed to do so even now. They can retire and play any league they want, we have seen Unmukt Chand do it.

Indian Players who were not picked in IPL auction should be allowed to play if it doesn't clash with domestic cricket. We allow Pujara and other players to play in county. HOw is this different?

Edited by vvvslaxman

Only a moron will think BCCI and IPL is hurting Indian cricket. Thanks to IPL , Ranji trophy players are earning decent salaries. 

The pay structure for domestic will only get better as tv revenues from IPL increases in future. 

BCCI is still having all domestic tournaments. Only complaint I have against BCCI is not forcing main players play domestic cricket.

Once they start allowing Indian players to play in other leagues, no TV network will be paying the same amounts to IPL or for Indian cricket.

Edited by putrevus
33 minutes ago, putrevus said:

You are being idiotic, who is thinking short term and not understanding the consequences. You cannot pick and choose which player is allowed to play or not allowed to play. You will have players revolting against the system. You cannot allow ShahRuk Khan and deny Kohli or Bumrah. There are courts in India too.

It is very simple now for Indian players , they want IPL then they have to abide by BCCI rules which are very fair. If not they can retire and become Dinesh Karthik. No need to open any pandora's box.

They don't need to play t20 leagues in SA or Australia to become better t20 players.

if you dont understand the difference between a centrally contracted plyer and a uncapped youngster playing in the IPL then I cant help you, Being Centrally contracted, BCCI can impose a restriction on Kohli or Bumrah to play overseas ( question is do they even want to when they get paid so much anyway- earnings from IPL are in crores, but probs only lakhs in these leagues so not worth their time) and an uncapped player who doesnt have similar status, playing BBL or SAt20 will NOT have am impact on the commercial model.

People tune in to see kohli not Sharukh Khan..

3 hours ago, R!TTER said:

That's a BS argument, why would I want a "black" athlete if he can't win me more games than say a Caucasian one? Same goes for educational institutes in India, or really any profession! Get them means to get better at the grassroots, not a cheat code to bypass exams/tests or hardships at a higher level. Besides quotas are already abused by the "creamy" layer, everywhere in the world :hmpf:

Spot on, Quotas are being abused in India. For example IAS officer's kids should not be getting any quotas.

Samething should be applied to politicians, they cannot be playing caste card and winning elections more than once.

Edited by putrevus
12 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

if you dont understand the difference between a centrally contracted plyer and a uncapped youngster playing in the IPL then I cant help you, Being Centrally contracted, BCCI can impose a restriction on Kohli or Bumrah to play overseas ( question is do they even want to when they get paid so much anyway- earnings from IPL are in crores, but probs only lakhs in these leagues so not worth their time) and an uncapped player who doesnt have similar status, playing BBL or SAt20 will NOT have am impact on the commercial model.

People tune in to see kohli not Sharukh Khan..

If you don't understand how things work in real world then maybe you should try to understand it first.

Williamson/Boult are not signing any central contract with NZ so they could play in league cricket. Tomorrow Bumrah will do the same.

Once Bumrah or Kohli start playing in SA t20, no tv network will offer the same value for IPL.

You  are right for once people tune in to see Kohli/Bumrah, and once Kohli/Bumrah are given more amount to play in SA t20  ( they will get more money for sure) than in IPL .They will not sign central contract and play in all leagues.

Leagues will pool enough money to lure high profile Indian players to play in their leagues as they know Indian TV networks will pay .

Edited by putrevus

Hardik Pandya is prime example of what Indian cricket will become in future if they are allowed to play in other leagues, he is just doing in IPL.I have no idea why he is being allowed to be picked for Indian team and also IPL teams.This genius is getting ready for  T20s in nets .

We all saw what Ishan Kishen did and then they had one guy I don't remember his name Gowtham or somebody, he was playing Karntaka premier league on same day when he told his duleep team he was injured/sick to play  as it was paying him more money.

8 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

Indian Players who were not picked in IPL auction should be allowed to play if it doesn't clash with domestic cricket. We allow Pujara and other players to play in county. HOw is this different?

But SA20 will always clash with our domestic cricket. SA20 league is played in Jan/Feb and during that time our domestic cricket is going on.

On 9/10/2024 at 6:59 PM, putrevus said:

If you don't understand how things work in real world then maybe you should try to understand it first.

Williamson/Boult are not signing any central contract with NZ so they could play in league cricket. Tomorrow Bumrah will do the same.

Once Bumrah or Kohli start playing in SA t20, no tv network will offer the same value for IPL.

You  are right for once people tune in to see Kohli/Bumrah, and once Kohli/Bumrah are given more amount to play in SA t20  ( they will get more money for sure) than in IPL .They will not sign central contract and play in all leagues.

Leagues will pool enough money to lure high profile Indian players to play in their leagues as they know Indian TV networks will pay .

Why is that so important? Bumrah-Kohli anyway won't go to other leagues and they can't afford them but youngsters can benefit a lot

How did Dinesh Karthik get permission to play in another league? I thought BCCI had banned Indian players - active or retired - from playing any other league other than the  retired player leagues such as Legends or Masters cup.

Quite a slippery slope. You allow Dinesh Karthik today, and there'll be others going tomorrow. And some fringe players may decide to retire from Indian cricket and play in these leagues.

21 hours ago, Lord said:

Why is that so important? Bumrah-Kohli anyway won't go to other leagues and they can't afford them but youngsters can benefit a lot

Cannot explain again.Look at previous posts.

On 9/13/2024 at 6:43 PM, Ultimate_Game said:

How did Dinesh Karthik get permission to play in another league? I thought BCCI had banned Indian players - active or retired - from playing any other league other than the  retired player leagues such as Legends or Masters cup.

Quite a slippery slope. You allow Dinesh Karthik today, and there'll be others going tomorrow. And some fringe players may decide to retire from Indian cricket and play in these leagues.

SKY tv retired him long back before he retired himself:wp23:

Screenshot_20240915-094105_copy_810x544.png

On 9/13/2024 at 6:43 PM, Ultimate_Game said:

BCCI can not control non contracted players. Unmukt Chand is also another example.

However its stupid to play in these leagues at cost of IPL. DK will still earn lot more in IPL

2 hours ago, Lord said:

BCCI can not control non contracted players. Unmukt Chand is also another example.

However its stupid to play in these leagues at cost of IPL. DK will still earn lot more in IPL

Unmukt Chand is a different case as he has moved to US just like Saurabh Netravalkar or Harmeet Singh did. But DK has his base in India. BCCI has to make sure he becomes persona non grata and he doesn't benefit from Indian cricket at all. No more commentary gigs, or coaching roles or any state cricket association roles etc. Other than pensioner leagues, Indian players shouldn't be allowed to play any other leagues else it dilutes the value of IPL.