bowl_out Posted November 7, 2024 Posted November 7, 2024 14 hours ago, Frustrated said: Next ODI WC is in SA. Iyer won't be lasting more than 10 balls against any top side. In the 3 match ODI series against SL earlier this year, Iyer averaged 10. He can play neither spin nor pace/bounce/short balls. Only flat pattas are where he can thrive somewhat. Going forward, I don't see him retaining his spot in ODI (or any format). Agree. The only alternative I see is Jaiswal, but it might be too early for him. I don't want his batting to suffer because of captaincy. Frustrated 1
vayuu1 Posted November 7, 2024 Posted November 7, 2024 The only way to get this done is if power is with BCCI and selectors plus coach and broadcasters are told that the only brand one should care is brand India ,the more it wins the more u and us makes money,players aayenge players jayenge but if team performs consistently well u will earn good and so would we,ye presentable non presentable ki bakwas chhodo tendulkar wasnt a photogenic face same with bumrah but they were ur biggest match winners Ultimate_Game 1
Ultimate_Game Posted November 7, 2024 Posted November 7, 2024 21 minutes ago, vayuu1 said: The only way to get this done is if power is with BCCI and selectors plus coach and broadcasters are told that the only brand one should care is brand India ,the more it wins the more u and us makes money,players aayenge players jayenge but if team performs consistently well u will earn good and so would we,ye presentable non presentable ki bakwas chhodo tendulkar wasnt a photogenic face same with bumrah but they were ur biggest match winners Yup. Team India itself is a brand. We don't need fake brands or players to be turned into brands.
Lord Posted November 7, 2024 Posted November 7, 2024 On 11/6/2024 at 11:43 PM, Serpico said: Looks like blame games have started using PR. Rohit on record said that he was happy with the rank turners in last yrs BGT. He literally asked for a rank turner in world cup final and ate sh#t. But now we're supposed to believe that turners in this series are Gambhir's idea? rank turner in WC Final? I don't remember even one delivery turning big or sharp. Do people even know what rank turners or any non patta slow pitch is categorised as rank turner? Ultimate_Game and Frustrated 2
Ultimate_Game Posted November 7, 2024 Posted November 7, 2024 12 minutes ago, Lord said: rank turner in WC Final? I don't remember even one delivery turning big or sharp. Do people even know what rank turners or any non patta slow pitch is categorised as rank turner? Knowing our think tank and team management's incompetency, they aimed for a turner in WC2023 but managed to end up with that black molasses, cow dung of a pitch Lord and Frustrated 2
Serpico Posted November 7, 2024 Posted November 7, 2024 18 minutes ago, Lord said: rank turner in WC Final? I don't remember even one delivery turning big or sharp. Do people even know what rank turners or any non patta slow pitch is categorised as rank turner? I think he asked for a turner and got that abomination instead. That's why he looked so spooked at the toss, he knew they fked up Lord, raki05 and Ultimate_Game 3
Ultimate_Game Posted November 7, 2024 Posted November 7, 2024 6 minutes ago, Serpico said: I think he asked for a turner and got that abomination instead. That's why he looked so spooked at the toss, he knew they fked up Rohit and Kohli never had any clue about reading pitches. And then you've guru Dravid on top. That's a recipe for disaster and that's what happened. If they had the the pitch be as it was, it would've been so much better.
Lord Posted November 7, 2024 Posted November 7, 2024 34 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: Rohit and Kohli never had any clue about reading pitches. And then you've guru Dravid on top. That's a recipe for disaster and that's what happened. If they had the the pitch be as it was, it would've been so much better. Pitch played similar to Pak game I think. Good for batting early, then slowing down around 25-30 overs. In any case we lost due to KL's knock and general coward batting. It was still a 280-300 pitch after that start
Ultimate_Game Posted November 7, 2024 Posted November 7, 2024 5 minutes ago, Lord said: Pitch played similar to Pak game I think. Good for batting early, then slowing down around 25-30 overs. In any case we lost due to KL's knock and general coward batting. It was still a 280-300 pitch after that start No, the pitch in Pak game was much better. Pak openers were hitting the ball cleanly and it was only them being extra cautious they didn't score much more. They were 150+/2 off 30 overs, and it was defensive batting by Babar and Rizwan which doomed them. If the final had a similar pitch, we would've scored around 300, which would've been something for our bowlers to defend. But even on that cow dung pitch, we should've been able to score 280. We were 80/2 in 10 overs. All we had to do was score at 5 an over and you reach 280. The pitch wasn't as bad as KL and Kohli made it seem and went into their shells. Wish Iyer had stayed around for some time as he was the only enforcer in our middle order. Kohli and KL never took risks. Even in the SF it was Iyer whose innings took the match away from NZ else we would've ended up with 330 the way Kohli and KL were batting, and would've ended up losing. Losing Iyer early was the biggest loss and wish we had lost KL early instead of Iyer. Also wish we had backed a player like Rinku who has a stellar List A record and has the game to consolidate and attack instead of that hack SKY who can't cut it in ODIs and Tests, and you can see that in his domestic record. Lord and raki05 2
Lord Posted November 11, 2024 Posted November 11, 2024 @Ultimate_Game Gambhir is so bechara Ultimate_Game and vvvslaxman 1 1
diga Posted November 11, 2024 Posted November 11, 2024 6 minutes ago, Lord said: @Ultimate_Game Gambhir is so bechara Acknowledge the problem and work on it.. or move away Ro-Ko. We are touring Australia and their media & fans will be unforgiving. Feel there should be a media manager like we used to have during Gangulys captaincy :) Lord 1
vvvslaxman Posted November 11, 2024 Posted November 11, 2024 51 minutes ago, Lord said: @Ultimate_Game Gambhir is so bechara That is a mild observation. Gambhir lost his cool ? Forget about Ponting. What about Indian fans who has concern about Kohli? Are we allowed to talk about that? Lord 1
Serpico Posted November 11, 2024 Posted November 11, 2024 53 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: That is a mild observation. Gambhir lost his cool ? Forget about Ponting. What about Indian fans who has concern about Kohli? Are we allowed to talk about that? It is so funny that Gambhir is trying to draw boundaries on what retired cricketers can talk about lol. He literally could not shut up before he became the coach vvvslaxman, Iconoclast and Lord 3
Ultimate_Game Posted November 11, 2024 Posted November 11, 2024 3 hours ago, Lord said: @Ultimate_Game Gambhir is so bechara What did you expect Gambhir to say publicly? That Ponting's right and if he had his say he would've dropped Kohli ages ago? Even if Kohli flops in all the 5 Tests in Aus, Gambhir or any other official on record will still back Kohli. It doesn't mean that Gambhir wouldn't want to see Kohli dropped. raki05 and rollingstoned 1 1
vvvslaxman Posted November 11, 2024 Posted November 11, 2024 This is why selectors and team management should not interfere with each other. If you ask me Gambhir should not have had his way with selecting assistant coaches. That was unprofessional.
wanted_desi Posted November 11, 2024 Posted November 11, 2024 3 hours ago, vvvslaxman said: That is a mild observation. Gambhir lost his cool ? Forget about Ponting. What about Indian fans who has concern about Kohli? Are we allowed to talk about that? Gambhir has been d*gsh*t since he joined the team. So much for that no nonsense aura where all team members are equal. Lord and New guy 1 1
Ultimate_Game Posted November 11, 2024 Posted November 11, 2024 Just now, vvvslaxman said: This is why selectors and team management should not interfere with each other. If you ask me Gambhir should not have had his way with selecting assistant coaches. That was unprofessional. No, the coach needs to have his own staff. The problem is that the seniors and captain (Rohit) have more power than the coach. raki05 1
vvvslaxman Posted November 11, 2024 Posted November 11, 2024 2 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: No, the coach needs to have his own staff. The problem is that the seniors and captain (Rohit) have more power than the coach. If selectors select players based on form then team management has to play with the right resources. Once they are in the squad they are going to be preferred. No one is going to sit them out.
Lord Posted November 11, 2024 Posted November 11, 2024 22 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: What did you expect Gambhir to say publicly? That Ponting's right and if he had his say he would've dropped Kohli ages ago? Even if Kohli flops in all the 5 Tests in Aus, Gambhir or any other official on record will still back Kohli. It doesn't mean that Gambhir wouldn't want to see Kohli dropped. Its an arrogant response indicating he backs Kohli and Rohit. Otherwise he would have said something like Virat has eggsperience etc etc
Ultimate_Game Posted November 11, 2024 Posted November 11, 2024 6 minutes ago, Lord said: Its an arrogant response indicating he backs Kohli and Rohit. Otherwise he would have said something like Virat has eggsperience etc etc Gambhir is a combative person by nature and most of his comments are on similar lines. Doesn't change the fact that there's a huge difference in comments made in public and what he would really like to do. Just like any of us do. If someone asks me about my employer or organization I work for in a public setting, you'll get a different response altogether compared to what I may honestly think. express bowling, Lord and raki05 2 1