1 hour ago, rollingstoned said:

Police were ignored? They are the fcuking Law and Order! Shows how the police are caged parrots. Their advice was ignored by the state GoK who pressurized them to conduct the celebration. RCB would have given some ghoos to the state GoK to tell the police to co-operate. Of course, none of this will come out in the investigation. 15 lives lost over a fcuking photo op.

1 hour ago, rollingstoned said:

Basturds with such callous attitude and language. A rained-out game  is an unfortunate incident.  Not 15 people dying and 50 losing limbs/ankles for life. All because they scheduled a fcuking PR exercise . Because it caused anguish and pain to them seeing some  fans getting  quished, suffocated  and mauled, they give some pittance 10 lakh to grieving families, as though it will ease their pain.  Will they pay the 18% GST on top of that or will the families have to pay it to the govt. What about compensation to those injured for life? 

They won a 22 crore prize money. BSDK, MC, BC RCB-KMKB.

I will unfollow RCB and not support them for life. Criminal Krimis with the lowest morals. 

Wrong on my part to blame the players on the tragedy. If Kohli  had expressed that he had travel plans, there was no need for RCB organizers, state government to cash in on the opportunity to hurry things and not be prepared.  They could have done it after 3 or 4 days

Also, I don’t believe like Arnab, that the players knew about the deaths and continued to  celebrate inside the stadium. They are regular people like us and won’t do such inhuman acts. Most likely it was not told to them by authorities. Whether state officials or RCB organizers, it could be anyone.

In their hurry to get Kohli and foreign players (is there any difference?) in the stadium, RCB PR team and State govt establishment spoilt the victory for RCB fans . 

On 6/4/2025 at 6:07 PM, Texan said:

I am a little surprised by how much euphoria was generated by one IPL trophy. Yes, it was the first ever for Bangalore, but this tournament happens every year. It's not like a World Cup.

For me personally, I would feel more happiness when the state team I support wins the Ranji Trophy rather than the IPL team that I support winning the IPL. With the Ranji win, you know that it is your local players who won the Trophy, not just a random bunch of players from around the globe who were bought and never lived there or  spoke the same language or even give two hoots for the city they represent. 

Of course, no state level achievements come anywhere close to the elation experienced when India wins. Even then such victory parades are unwarranted. 

So much hoopla over an IPL Trophy is so disgusting. 

My two cents anyway.

+1 

2 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

Wrong on my part to blame the players on the tragedy. If Kohli  had expressed that he had travel plans, there was no need for RCB organizers, state government to cash in on the opportunity to hurry things and not be prepared.  They could have done it after 3 or 4 days

Also, I don’t believe like Arnab, that the players knew about the deaths and continued to  celebrate inside the stadium. They are regular people like us and won’t do such inhuman acts. Most likely it was not told to them by authorities. Whether state officials or RCB organizers, it could be anyone.

In their hurry to get Kohli and foreign players (is there any difference?) in the stadium, RCB PR team and State govt establishment spoilt the victory for RCB fans . 

Greed. Nothing else. They sold tickets for this event apparently. Must have easily made 5-10 cr from it. 

Plus media attention, advertisers. Cashing in on can frenzy. 

They should have simply invited players, family, and management, some 200 people to a closed group event at a star hotel and broadcasted the event if Kohli had to leave early 

20 minutes ago, bowl_out said:

Greed. Nothing else. They sold tickets for this event apparently. Must have easily made 5-10 cr from it. 

Plus media attention, advertisers. Cashing in on can frenzy. 

They should have simply invited players, family, and management, some 200 people to a closed group event at a star hotel and broadcasted the event if Kohli had to leave early 

I am not sure if the event was ticketed. The RCB Tweet said, there will be parade and celebrations. Only limited "passes" available. Get your passes. I think a lot of them didn't get the free passes and ended up going to the stadium anyway hoping that the passes will be available at the gate.  

Free passes (limited entry) available on shop.royalchallengers.com

1 hour ago, diga said:

"seems the parade was arranged hastily as one player had booked his tickets to London"

No prizes for guessing who that is 

Too much to ask the player to push out his travel to England by a couple of days.

3 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

I am not sure if the event was ticketed. The RCB Tweet said, there will be parade and celebrations. Only limited "passes" available. Get your passes. I think a lot of them didn't get the free passes and ended up going to the stadium anyway hoping that the passes will be available at the gate.  

Free passes (limited entry) available on shop.royalchallengers.com

That's crazy. Someone told me it was ticketed.

Free entry for something like this was a recipe for disaster

Thankfully Indian team return from Barbados post T20 WC win was delayed by 4-5 days courtesy a hurricane. Nahi toh similar scenes would have unfolded in Mumbai as well. Police in India too understaffed, and don't think they use hi-tech drones, mobile command centres, geo fencing, heat maps etc. With zero planning, police not on board, what else did we expect, in fact toll can get much higher in stampede situations.