putrevus Posted November 15, 2025 Posted November 15, 2025 (edited) 9 minutes ago, BacktoCricaddict said: Point is - don't blame the players for being where they don't belong. It's the selectors' job to decide. Just like with RoKo - I don't blame them for wanting to stick around. They are sportsmen - they will always believe that they can get it done. It's not their job to retire. Selectors must force their hand. I agree.Selectors are there , they should do their jobs. FYI for all those who are complaining about Gill's place in t20s, most of them want Abhishek to play all odis. Edited November 15, 2025 by putrevus
zen Posted November 15, 2025 Posted November 15, 2025 4 minutes ago, BacktoCricaddict said: Point is - don't blame the players for being where they don't belong. It's the selectors' job to decide. Just like with RoKo - I don't blame them for wanting to stick around. They are sportsmen - they will always believe that they can get it done. It's not their job to retire. Selectors must force their hand. The tragicomedy is that if X replaces Gill in T20s, people who don’t want X in T20s will start writing against him, hoping he gets replaced. More or less, online world is a Wild Wild West where groups that want A battle aimlessly against groups that want B. BacktoCricaddict 1
vvvslaxman Posted November 15, 2025 Posted November 15, 2025 1 hour ago, BacktoCricaddict said: Someone should tell him that he has no place in t20s, unless he comes back with a different approach and ability for PP hitting. He comes down the wicket rolls the wrist at the same trying to clear the infield. Atleast 3 or 4 times he got caught in the inner ring. Look what Priyansh arya, Vaibhav do. They have great clarity of mind.
bowl_out Posted November 15, 2025 Posted November 15, 2025 1 hour ago, putrevus said: I agree.Selectors are there , they should do their jobs. FYI for all those who are complaining about Gill's place in t20s, most of them want Abhishek to play all odis. Always in favor of format based players. We didn't have the luxury to do that 10-15 years back, but now with the pool of talent, all-format players make less and less sense. Gill out of T20, no Abhishek in ODI. We have enough players who perform better in those formats
putrevus Posted November 15, 2025 Posted November 15, 2025 6 minutes ago, bowl_out said: Always in favor of format based players. We didn't have the luxury to do that 10-15 years back, but now with the pool of talent, all-format players make less and less sense. Gill out of T20, no Abhishek in ODI. We have enough players who perform better in those formats Then nobody will play test cricket. You need to have all format players too. Why are we playing Bumrah in all formats then.Why is everyone okay with it.
New guy Posted November 15, 2025 Posted November 15, 2025 (edited) 8 minutes ago, putrevus said: Then nobody will play test cricket. You need to have all format players too. Why are we playing Bumrah in all formats then.Why is everyone okay with it. Because we need bumrah to win cups. He was the man of the tournament for world t20 which we won and played the most crucial role in the final and other crucial matches. Edited November 15, 2025 by New guy express bowling 1
New guy Posted November 15, 2025 Posted November 15, 2025 (edited) BTW @Gollum news is that Gill was stretchered out into an ambulance and is admitted in a hospital and was not at the ground. So it seems more serious than what we thought initially. https://sports.ndtv.com/india-vs-south-africa-2025-india/injured-shubman-gill-stretchered-into-ambulance-with-neck-immobilised-admitted-to-hospital-9641856 He is also out of the entire series. Edited November 15, 2025 by New guy
putrevus Posted November 15, 2025 Posted November 15, 2025 (edited) 9 minutes ago, New guy said: Because we need bumrah to win cups. He was the man of the sword for world t20 which we won and played the most crucial role in the final. We won cups without him too. So no need for him to play to win cups.with him playing we lost more than we won and he was one of those primary reasons for those losses. Gill if he plays t20s multiple t20 world t20s he also has ability to win MOS. Edited November 15, 2025 by putrevus
Gollum Posted November 15, 2025 Author Posted November 15, 2025 (edited) 10 minutes ago, New guy said: BTW @Gollum news is that he was stretchered out into an ambulance and is admitted in the hospital and was not at the ground. So it seems more serious than what we thought initially. https://sports.ndtv.com/india-vs-south-africa-2025-india/injured-shubman-gill-stretchered-into-ambulance-with-neck-immobilised-admitted-to-hospital-9641856 He had this issue even before taking the field in the morning. Watch warm up pics from today when he was discussing it with his coaches. From the link you shared, seems like a whiplash sort of injury, painful but no big scare, heals on its own and one can take painkillers to ride over the pain. Not some life threatening spinal injury which PR mouthpieces were pushing in SM. Common in F1 where G forces strain neck/back muscles, less common otherwise but can be picked freakishly by any sudden movement of the head. Quote South Africa assistant coach Morne Morkel blamed it on bad night's "sleep and not his workload". Edited November 15, 2025 by Gollum New guy 1
lemsip Posted November 15, 2025 Posted November 15, 2025 22 minutes ago, Gollum said: From the link you shared, seems like a whiplash sort of injury, painful but no big scare, heals on its own and one can take painkillers to ride over the pain. Not some life threatening spinal injury which PR mouthpieces were pushing in SM. Common in F1 where G forces strain neck/back muscles, less common otherwise but can be picked freakishly by any sudden movement of the head. I'm sorry but I don't think you can make those sweeping diagnoses based on hearsay and (I assume) no medical expertise. The facts being reported are that he has been hospitalised and is still in hospital overnight. The Kolkata based Revsportz guys are reporting that he is unlikely to get clearance to play the next match also. No doctor would clear someone in that situation to go out and play whatever the mob demands. Neck/spine related issues are not things you take risks with.
bowl_out Posted November 15, 2025 Posted November 15, 2025 1 hour ago, putrevus said: Then nobody will play test cricket. You need to have all format players too. Why are we playing Bumrah in all formats then.Why is everyone okay with it. Two format players are fine. All format players will burn out soon, particularly when their selection becomes mandatory in all formats. Even someone as fit and driven as Kohli couldn't sustain playing and captaining all-format (3 formata +IPL) for too long. He had to give up IPL captaincy and then pick and choose formats. Even Bumrah is not a mandatory selection in all formats, he chooses to play only important games in certain formats. But with Gill, he becomes a mandatory selection in all formats including his weakest format T20, particularly when his inclusion disrupts an existing stable set up putrevus 1
vvvslaxman Posted November 15, 2025 Posted November 15, 2025 Is there a possibility he can bat in the 2nd dig? or he is done for the test? If so we are screwed if SA takes a 100 plus lead. We just need an extra body there. New guy 1
putrevus Posted November 15, 2025 Posted November 15, 2025 12 minutes ago, bowl_out said: Two format players are fine. All format players will burn out soon, particularly when their selection becomes mandatory in all formats. Even someone as fit and driven as Kohli couldn't sustain playing and captaining all-format (3 formata +IPL) for too long. He had to give up IPL captaincy and then pick and choose formats. Even Bumrah is not a mandatory selection in all formats, he chooses to play only important games in certain formats. But with Gill, he becomes a mandatory selection in all formats including his weakest format T20, particularly when his inclusion disrupts an existing stable set up I agree but we also need to give players choice.If any player is good in all formats he should be allowed to play if he wants to play. Gill playing all formats will take toll on his career. just like it did on Kohli's career just like you mentioned.Kohli never got time to work on his technical issues and second he burned out.
Gollum Posted November 15, 2025 Author Posted November 15, 2025 (edited) 3 hours ago, Suhaan said: Kya yaaar! High standards? I find his posts quite good like yours I have always observed he seems to back youngsters since the time I logged into this forum Problem kya hai? Just like you preferring few ones whom I despise,won't ask you why you find those posts absorbing Btw, I sincerely apologize for dragging you in this bhai. Heat of the moment, shouldn't have happened. Not often that I get into confrontations with other ICFers, no anger or ill intent was directed towards you. Only that other poster who I have now put on ignore. Edited November 15, 2025 by Gollum Suhaan 1
Gollum Posted November 15, 2025 Author Posted November 15, 2025 1 hour ago, lemsip said: I'm sorry but I don't think you can make those sweeping diagnoses based on hearsay and (I assume) no medical expertise. The facts being reported are that he has been hospitalised and is still in hospital overnight. The Kolkata based Revsportz guys are reporting that he is unlikely to get clearance to play the next match also. No doctor would clear someone in that situation to go out and play whatever the mob demands. Neck/spine related issues are not things you take risks with. Let us agree to disagree on this matter. Neither of us can change the other person's mind. I wish Gill speedy recovery, but won't budge on my initial opinion, because I have certain expectations from any leader.
lemsip Posted November 15, 2025 Posted November 15, 2025 19 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: Is there a possibility he can bat in the 2nd dig? or he is done for the test? If so we are screwed if SA takes a 100 plus lead. We just need an extra body there. Given the fact that he has been admitted to hospital and is there overnight this looks unlikely. Hopefully the team can get the job done without it being an issue. I feel even the current total would be a tough chase on this cowdung patch of a pitch- whatever the compacent sports media is currently saying.
Suhaan Posted November 15, 2025 Posted November 15, 2025 1 hour ago, Gollum said: Btw, I sincerely apologize for dragging you in this bhai. Heat of the moment, shouldn't have happened. Not often that I get into confrontations with other ICFers, no anger or ill intent was directed towards you. Only that other poster who I have now put on ignore. I'm not offended at all,just talking to you like I talk to my friends in person Gollum 1
vvvslaxman Posted November 16, 2025 Posted November 16, 2025 Pant keeping has to be sharp. Can't let byes
tweaker Posted November 16, 2025 Posted November 16, 2025 Gill is currently under observation in the hospital. He will take no further part in the Test match. He will continue to be monitored by the BCCI medical team.
vishalvirsingh Posted November 16, 2025 Posted November 16, 2025 gill will come to Bat for sure...he will not prove himself as a coward. wait guys...