Vickydev Posted November 29, 2025 Posted November 29, 2025 Agree. Need to totally end any hopes of making a comeback under GG
Prabhdeep Singh Posted November 29, 2025 Posted November 29, 2025 (edited) 4 hours ago, Nikhil_cric said: Even if that's the case, can't go back to guys who are nearly 39 years old Well if your goal is to reach 2027 WTC final and Rohit is going to play until 2027 anyway due to ODI WC it might make sense if he has regained form & fitness which he seems to have. Edited November 29, 2025 by Prabhdeep Singh
CG Posted November 29, 2025 Posted November 29, 2025 we need one senior batsman be it Rahane or Rohit.
Lord Posted November 30, 2025 Posted November 30, 2025 19 hours ago, R!TTER said: When, in recent years? Even Sharma was at best a decentish spin player, till the ball turned square consistently! People forget the Karun Nair innings either side of that triple at Chennai - where Jadeja was the real MVP & Eng wanted to go home badly after playin flaying in these conditions Nair was an utter failure in 5-6 tests on good/flat tracks! Same goes for Sharma ji ka mota ladka who threw away his wicket in third test of 2014 Eng series - against Bhai of all the bowlers, that triggered a collapse & we went on to lose the series 66.2 how abominably awful! He is bent over his bat at the crease, depicting poignant disappointment but this was a seriously poor shot. Came down and lifted a tame delivery right down mid-off's throat when England were trying to give their main bowlers a breather. And tea was barely five minutes away 210/5 If you ask me Pujara, Jadeja, Ashwin have been the best players of spin for us post 2011/12 especially in India! Remember the later two also came down the order so it was doubly hard for them against the turning ball. Rohit scored a ton on square turner in Chennai 2021 and generally was one of our better bats at home till Eng series. Nair on those tracks got done mostly by pace. He has the sweeps others in the lineup don't have to counter spin
R!TTER Posted November 30, 2025 Posted November 30, 2025 1 hour ago, Lord said: Rohit scored a ton on square turner in Chennai 2021 First day, first(second?)session - easy to bat on. Don't you remember Ashwin scored a ton in second innings for us as well i.e. third innings of the game. 1 hour ago, Lord said: generally was one of our better bats at home till Eng series. I put him in the front runner category, just like BRat - goes missing when the heat is. really on He rarely had the stomach for long drawn out fights - and that is why he never made it into the test squad consistently! If you take out the 2021 Eng series, away in Eng, you'd be hard pressed to find a single one where he was the clear standout.
Prabhdeep Singh Posted November 30, 2025 Posted November 30, 2025 On 11/29/2025 at 8:45 AM, R!TTER said: This is why I don't take anyone seriously who rates Sharma anywhere near as a good test player - the *er had at best a 1-2 year peak & he also opened in India, easily the best position to bat in these conditions Opposition team Australia or England or India or New Zealand or Pakistan or South Africa or Sri Lanka or West Indies Host country India Start of match date greater than or equal to 1 Jan 1970 Batting position between 1 and 3 Qualifications runs scored greater than or equal to 500 Overall figures Player Span Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave 100 50 0 HM Amla (SA) 2008-2015 6 10 2 825 253* 103.12 4 2 1 MW Gatting (ENG) 1984-1993 5 10 3 641 207 91.57 2 2 0 Younis Khan (PAK) 2005-2007 6 11 1 661 267 66.10 2 2 2 MA Agarwal (IND) 2019-2022 7 11 0 641 215 58.27 3 1 0 YBK Jaiswal (IND) 2024-2025 12 22 1 1204 214* 57.33 3 5 1 VG Kambli (IND) 1993-1994 8 10 1 507 224 56.33 1 3 1 V Sehwag (IND) 2002-2013 49 85 3 4496 319 54.82 13 17 5 NS Sidhu (IND) 1983-1998 22 32 1 1665 131 53.70 5 8 1 CA Pujara (IND) 2010-2023 46 71 6 3470 206* 53.38 10 16 5 AN Cook (ENG) 2006-2016 13 26 2 1235 190 51.45 5 4 0 ML Hayden (AUS) 2001-2008 11 22 2 1027 203 51.35 2 5 2 R Dravid (IND) 1996-2011 62 97 6 4440 222 48.79 12 21 3 RG Sharma (IND) 2015-2024 22 36 1 1697 212 48.48 7 3 2 SM Katich (AUS) 2004-2010 9 17 2 718 102 47.86 1 4 0 SM Gavaskar (IND) 1972-1987 63 103 4 4738 205 47.85 15 22 6 Just a query, you highlighted record above for Sehwag and Gavaskar in bold but not Rohit’s, any reason for this or just an oversight.
zen Posted November 30, 2025 Posted November 30, 2025 Such threads hint at moving on issues. The guy, along with Kohli, has retired from tests and here we have some folks talking about SOS to him in tests That too knowing that youngsters will take some time to settle down as if India has to do well in every WTC cycle. It is as if many fools think that the rest of the world is a fool to be clapping at their foolish agenda where making a fool of themselves online is the the accepted foolish way to discuss issues foolishly!
Prabhdeep Singh Posted November 30, 2025 Posted November 30, 2025 7 minutes ago, zen said: Such threads hint at moving on issues. The guy, along with Kohli, has retired from tests and here we have some folks talking about SOS to him in tests That too knowing that youngsters will take some time to settle down as if India has to do well in every WTC cycle. It is as if many fools think that the rest of the world is a fool to be clapping at their foolish agenda where making a fool of themselves online is the the accepted foolish way to discuss issues foolishly! I am sure India has had transitions in the past but they have not been whitewashed in consecutive years at home, for a cricket mad country like India transition should not be an excuse for losing especially losing at home. sage 1
vishalvirsingh Posted November 30, 2025 Posted November 30, 2025 Dear All, I am taking my son and daughter for VISHAKAPATNAM ODI on Saturday. We are in the "C STAND". do read my two cents after that match as i will see live in the stadium. nevada and MK55 2
Lord Posted November 30, 2025 Posted November 30, 2025 8 hours ago, vishalvirsingh said: Dear All, I am taking my son and daughter for VISHAKAPATNAM ODI on Saturday. We are in the "C STAND". do read my two cents after that match as i will see live in the stadium. Click some photos too
sage Posted December 6, 2025 Author Posted December 6, 2025 We need him back in tests Prabhdeep Singh 1
Prabhdeep Singh Posted December 6, 2025 Posted December 6, 2025 Remaining tests in current cycle, 7 out of 9 tests in Asia, it is a no brainier that Rohit should return to tests vs SL at opening or number 3 position, who knows India may qualify for WTC final. 2 VS SL AWAY 2 VS NZ AWAY 5 VS AUS HOME Rohit looking very clinical with minimal mistakes, improved fitness. It would be the correct way his test cricket ends, unfairly ousted in May 2025 due to petty management. sage 1
vvvslaxman Posted December 7, 2025 Posted December 7, 2025 You just need a better replacement. YOu don't need them. they were part of the epic flops we had against NZ and we had in Australia. Unfortunately the replacements were not vastly experienced players. Sai Sudarshan has hardly any experience.
putrevus Posted December 7, 2025 Posted December 7, 2025 (edited) One thing is for sure Rohit would have scored 500 plus runs with ease in England against that putrid England bowling attack and would have done more than many bozos who went on that tour. If you remove idiot Gambhir from the mix, NZ series would have been completely different too. He is best equipped in Indian team to attack spinners on Bunsen burner. If idiot KL is still in team Rohit is an upgrade over him. Edited December 7, 2025 by putrevus sage 1
lemsip Posted December 7, 2025 Posted December 7, 2025 This thread shows the deeply embedded messiah mindset in Indian cricket. All issues will be solved if you just bring back XYZ. As mentioned above, the now retired RoKo were part of the NZ whitewash and the thrashing in Australia. It's not as if having them in the team and Rohit as captain was giving far superior results. India has the largest pool of young talent in the world by some distance. They should be more than capable of finding credible replacements for ageing players. In fact in England the batting looked a lot more solid than it has in the games before that. The real issues in the side can be attributed to leadership - GG and the selectors. These were just more brutally exposed than they would normally have been through Gill - the best batsman in England- missing out and playing a very good SA side. Crap scheduling didn't help. Slotting 2 tests against the world champions but surrounding with 16 white ball games with the likes of Bumrah, Gill etc flying all over. Unless the poisonous GG is sacked I don't see the team improving and if they go in to a home series vs Australia with GG at the helm, we can fully expect another humiliating thrashing at home.
putrevus Posted December 7, 2025 Posted December 7, 2025 (edited) 4 hours ago, lemsip said: This thread shows the deeply embedded messiah mindset in Indian cricket. All issues will be solved if you just bring back XYZ. As mentioned above, the now retired RoKo were part of the NZ whitewash and the thrashing in Australia. It's not as if having them in the team and Rohit as captain was giving far superior results. India has the largest pool of young talent in the world by some distance. They should be more than capable of finding credible replacements for ageing players. In fact in England the batting looked a lot more solid than it has in the games before that. The real issues in the side can be attributed to leadership - GG and the selectors. These were just more brutally exposed than they would normally have been through Gill - the best batsman in England- missing out and playing a very good SA side. Crap scheduling didn't help. Slotting 2 tests against the world champions but surrounding with 16 white ball games with the likes of Bumrah, Gill etc flying all over. Unless the poisonous GG is sacked I don't see the team improving and if they go in to a home series vs Australia with GG at the helm, we can fully expect another humiliating thrashing at home. There is nothing messiah, Rohit is not great test batsman.But he is an upgrade over guys like Nair, Sai Sundar and Rahul who seem to be getting chances under Gambhir.How can anyone in their right mind say Jurel is better batsman than Rohit. It is a fact that Rohit still is one of best equipped batsmen to handle spin bowling on Bunsen burners but when you play attacking cricket on those wickets you may lose your wickets early.How you coach and TM react and give confidence is the key. We have no idea about dynamics in dressing room once GG entered there.Even yesterday all thru his press conference, this idiot GG seem to praising everyone other than Rohit and Kohli. Gambhir and Agarkar came in with agenda to disrupt the team and fill it with their own puppets. India losing 5 tests in India is very very big deal.IMO it is Gambhir and Agarkar who are bigger reasons for those losses than anyone else. Edited December 7, 2025 by putrevus
vvvslaxman Posted December 7, 2025 Posted December 7, 2025 (edited) 4 hours ago, lemsip said: This thread shows the deeply embedded messiah mindset in Indian cricket. All issues will be solved if you just bring back XYZ. As mentioned above, the now retired RoKo were part of the NZ whitewash and the thrashing in Australia. It's not as if having them in the team and Rohit as captain was giving far superior results. India has the largest pool of young talent in the world by some distance. They should be more than capable of finding credible replacements for ageing players. In fact in England the batting looked a lot more solid than it has in the games before that. The real issues in the side can be attributed to leadership - GG and the selectors. These were just more brutally exposed than they would normally have been through Gill - the best batsman in England- missing out and playing a very good SA side. Crap scheduling didn't help. Slotting 2 tests against the world champions but surrounding with 16 white ball games with the likes of Bumrah, Gill etc flying all over. Unless the poisonous GG is sacked I don't see the team improving and if they go in to a home series vs Australia with GG at the helm, we can fully expect another humiliating thrashing at home. Nitish Reddy outplayed Kohli and ROhit by miles lol That shows their level in this format. They have been sucking balls for 5 years. Atleast ROhit had one or two decent series at home. Edited December 7, 2025 by vvvslaxman lemsip 1
Prabhdeep Singh Posted December 7, 2025 Posted December 7, 2025 (edited) 1 hour ago, vvvslaxman said: Nitish Reddy outplayed Kohli and ROhit by miles lol That shows their level in this format. They have been sucking balls for 5 years. Atleast ROhit had one or two decent series at home. I agree with Kohli about bad form in Tests from 2020 however Rohit’s bad form was only his last 8 test matches starting from Sep 2024, before that he was India’s best batsmen at home since he started opening in 2019 (check the stats if you don’t agree). Rohit averaged 50 in Tests from October 2019 to August 2024. As Rohit was good on the spinning pitches it makes sense to play him in the remaining cycle (7 out 9 tests in Asia) if you want to salvage this campaign, also as he is going to play 2027 WC, it makes sense for him to play this WTC cycle also to stay in rhythm. We all know 2027 will be Rohit’s final year in international cricket. Edited December 7, 2025 by Prabhdeep Singh
sage Posted December 11, 2025 Author Posted December 11, 2025 SOS call needed in T20 too we miss his blast starts