randomGuy Posted January 10 Posted January 10 12 minutes ago, Mariyam said: Hera Pheri is the odd one out there. It’s a silly movie and not that well acted. If not for Tabu and Paresh, the movie would be a nothing burger. Paresh, Om Puri ,tabu, sunil Shetty, dialogues, accents, storyline everything is top notch hilarious. Everything meaning everything from this unknown actor to small roles from Razak Khan, gulshan Grover, kulbhushan kharbanda all had few hilarious scenes Fantastic re-watch value. Many of us would have watched Hera pheri, munnabhai, sholey, 3 idiots dozens of times (atleast in parts) , I have. Lone Wolf 1
kepler37b Posted January 10 Posted January 10 35 minutes ago, rkt.india said: What about viewers adjusted numbers? Tickets may have inflated but theater going numbers have decreased. Well, you have a point. But let us also consider the fact that we have become richer and more people from lower strata of society can go to movies now. In summary, it is quite puzzling and difficult to get a central metric.
Lone Wolf Posted January 10 Posted January 10 (edited) 16 hours ago, kepler37b said: 2nd highest footfalls is Bahubali 2 https://www.imdb.com/list/ls047470041/ But I am old enough to see Gadar in theater. It was a great experience. Sunny paaji giving phaintaa to the land of pure. As per Anil Sharma the Gadar maker, he said the number is close to 10-12 cores Edited January 10 by Lone Wolf
Lone Wolf Posted January 10 Posted January 10 (edited) 37 minutes ago, rkt.india said: If sholay was released in today's scenario, no more than 3-4 cr people would have watched it. Viewers adjusted numbers. They released in 3d few years back if I am not mistaken. Remastered print or something like that Edited January 10 by Lone Wolf
Lone Wolf Posted January 10 Posted January 10 11 minutes ago, randomGuy said: Paresh, Om Puri ,tabu, sunil Shetty, dialogues, accents, storyline everything is top notch hilarious. Everything meaning everything from this unknown actor to small roles from Razak Khan, gulshan Grover, kulbhushan kharbanda all had few hilarious scenes Fantastic re-watch value. Many of us would have watched Hera pheri, munnabhai, sholey, 3 idiots dozens of times (atleast in parts) , I have. One of the ATG comedy movies of Indian Cinema actually
rkt.india Posted January 10 Posted January 10 40 minutes ago, randomGuy said: 1975 population of India on sholey release was 61 cr. Quality wise sholey, 3 idiots, Hera pheri etc are miles ahead. I can't sit through bahubali, pushpa 2, kgf etc. Viewership has only decreased in last 20 years.
kepler37b Posted January 10 Posted January 10 (edited) 48 minutes ago, randomGuy said: 1975 population of India on sholey release was 61 cr. Quality wise sholey, 3 idiots, Hera pheri etc are miles ahead. I can't sit through bahubali, pushpa 2, kgf etc. Disagree. Baahubali might not be a great story, but it is a phenomenal piece of cinema. Risk taking, vision, Music, scale, vfx, devotional indic aspects. And both the critical and commercial reception show that. Sholay is of nostalgic value. I felt lagaan is a much better film that both of them. Nostalgic value != quality Edited January 10 by kepler37b
randomGuy Posted January 10 Posted January 10 8 minutes ago, kepler37b said: Disagree. Baahubali might not be a great story, but it is a phenomenal piece of cinema. Risk taking, vision, Music, scale, vfx, devotional indic aspects. And both the critical and commercial reception show that. Sholay is of nostalgic value. I felt lagaan is a much better film that both of them. Nostalgic value != quality What nostalgic value? Sholey was released well before I was born. Times were different, technology, culture everything different, yet everyone likes it.
rkt.india Posted January 10 Posted January 10 27 minutes ago, kepler37b said: Well, you have a point. But let us also consider the fact that we have become richer and more people from lower strata of society can go to movies now. In summary, it is quite puzzling and difficult to get a central metric. Kgf2 had the Second highest Footfalls in india after BB2 in the last 20 years, 5 cr. Half of BB2.
kepler37b Posted January 10 Posted January 10 19 minutes ago, randomGuy said: What nostalgic value? Sholey was released well before I was born. Times were different, technology, culture everything different, yet everyone likes it. There is a tendency to over value old things. That is what i call nostalgic vaue. I feel sholay is being rated above lagaan due to the same aspect.
kepler37b Posted January 10 Posted January 10 1 hour ago, rkt.india said: If sholay was released in today's scenario, no more than 3-4 cr people would have watched it. Viewers adjusted numbers. I felt lagaan is much better than sholay. I believe sholay is like that royal enfield. People like it due to the nostalgic value. Lord 1
rkt.india Posted January 10 Posted January 10 1 hour ago, Mariyam said: How did you arrive at this number? Dangal has the highest footfalls in the last 20 years for a Bollywood film in India at 3.69 crores and it was phenomenal at that time. Sholay will be somewhere in that ball park. Max, I will give it 5 cr. Same as KGF2 which was a rage.
Tillu Posted January 11 Posted January 11 All of a sudden all these opportunistic Bollywood actresses like Alia and Kiara are praising Yami Gautam for her role in Haq in the anticipation of working with Aditya Dhar. Everything is a PR exercise for these actors. zen 1
kepler37b Posted January 11 Posted January 11 2 minutes ago, Tillu said: All of a sudden all these opportunistic Bollywood actresses like Alia and Kiara are praising Yami Gautam for her role in Haq in the anticipation of working with Aditya Dhar. Everything is a PR exercise for these actors. There is that classic arvind kejriwal line "sab ke sab mile hueen ji..." Lord and zen 2
coffee_rules Posted January 12 Posted January 12 On 1/10/2026 at 2:00 AM, Mariyam said: How did you arrive at this number? His source is Trust Me Bro
coffee_rules Posted January 12 Posted January 12 On 1/10/2026 at 2:07 AM, randomGuy said: 1975 population of India on sholey release was 61 cr. Quality wise sholey, 3 idiots, Hera pheri etc are miles ahead. I can't sit through bahubali, pushpa 2, kgf etc. Bahubali and Sholay weee trendsetters. I don’t know why you are comparing such movies to movies like Pushpa two?
mishra Posted January 12 Posted January 12 On 1/9/2026 at 2:10 PM, kepler37b said: https://www.imdb.com/list/ls069056295/ The highest ever inflation adjusted grossers are 1. Sholay - 2863 cr 2. Baahubali 2 - 2420 Cr Nothing is going to beat no.1 for a long time though. I remember Sholay movie audio casettes which, one of my neighbour used to put on, full volume and we could hear the dialogues while playing cricket in our Street
kepler37b Posted January 12 Posted January 12 1 minute ago, mishra said: I remember Sholay movie audio casettes which, one of my neighbour used to put on, full volume and we could hear the dialogues while playing cricket in our Street It's a full on masala entertainer. Paisa vasool film. Music was great too. mishra 1
diga Posted January 12 Posted January 12 On 1/10/2026 at 12:37 PM, randomGuy said: 1975 population of India on sholey release was 61 cr. Quality wise sholey, 3 idiots, Hera pheri etc are miles ahead. I can't sit through bahubali, pushpa 2, kgf etc. Yet to see Pushpa series or KGF series..