Did not like Uri. Found it average. In fact couldn't sit through to the end. Dhar's next just released and it's getting good reviews and word of mouth. Seems like he has not taken the typical Indian bollywood short cut. Let's see. 

Anyone seen it yet. 

43 minutes ago, ravishingravi said:

Did not like Uri. Found it average. In fact couldn't sit through to the end. Dhar's next just released and it's getting good reviews and word of mouth. Seems like he has not taken the typical Indian bollywood short cut. Let's see. 

Anyone seen it yet. 

Maine dekha, on opening day. Book your ticket without hesitation, it is a movie worth watching on the big screen. 

There will be some graphic violence, but fits into the plotline. Not as much as in Animal or Kill. But be warned just in case. 

16 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Aditya Dhar is one of the directors whom we can expect to have some sense in their movies.
Baramulla was another which beautifully linked 2 genuines Kashmir's issues without blaming entire community.
That Shiv mantra post the opening of lost mandir was a treat.

Aditya Dhar has cracked the code for subtle messaging...  I really like his style of filmmaking.  He is younger & has immense potential.  This is what Indian (nationalist) RW needs.

Otoh opportunistic poor filmmakers like Agnihotri can't even compose a frame competently or forget about keeping audience engaged.  Left cabal was never threatened by him the way they are with Dhar.  He is different 

Going this evening to watch Dhurandhar :isalute:

Edited by Lone Wolf
1 hour ago, Gollum said:

Maine dekha, on opening day. Book your ticket without hesitation, it is a movie worth watching on the big screen. 

Yes violent. But nothing that we havent seen yet. Easier to handle than "tambaku" ad. 

Edited by ravishingravi

I am going to watch this one again, maybe next weekend. Have convinced many of my relatives and friends also to give it a watch, some of them are going today. 

1 minute ago, ravishingravi said:

Yes violent. But nothing that we havent seen yet. Easier to handle than "tambaku" ad. 

Interval ke baad ka 1st scene will be gory. Few others also coming. But nothing one can't handle, enjoy the rest of the movie.

38 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Interval ke baad ka 1st scene will be gory. Few others also coming. But nothing one can't handle, enjoy the rest of the movie.

Netflix pe aye gi

So after full viewing it's definitely worth a watch. I am a tough audience to please. And I was on the edge for 3.5 hours. And I will watch it again next weekend. 

Apart from two strands which I think dragged and were not needed, the movie is pretty on point, crisp, direct and with surprising edge. 

If you forget the context, it is a genre movie set in the context of Lyari gang war. What amazed me was the level of detail and fleshed out nature of characters within the macabre world of Karachi. For those like me, who are interested in Pakistan, this is quite fascinating. 

Dhar is a Kasmiri pandit I believe. The wounds are real and so is the anger. But he does a better job in expressing it through the genre and the medium. It is also a very conscious attempt to freshen the wounds which I too believe is necessary. 

In my animal review, I mentioned that I find that movie remarkable. Not because it's a work of art. But because of it pure hyper masculine ( toxic for some ) perspective with no inhibitions. I had suggested that Animal will change things in Indian cinema. And it has. This is as masculine a film as I can remember. Sheer brut violence and testosterone for 3.5 hours. Felt tired by end of it and energized weirdly. 

The cast is brilliant apart from one casting choice and a strand which I won't reveal now. Akshay Khanna is at his absolute pinnacle. God what a talent. Everyone delivers. It's a pity that Ranveer is a freaking idiot in real life and makes a fool of himself. It takes the edge of mystique and sheer oriental / central Asian look that he has. He dies look other worldly and exotic from wild wild east in this case. 

Background score is the winner imo. It keeps you in the film along with the editing. Very unusual and interesting choice of songs. Set piece is unbelievably Good. Don't recall last time when Indian cinema created a world this authentic. I felt I  could smell the alleys and dingy apartments.  

No spoilers here. But there is a lot to pick here. It's a very well done genre film that is also very angry. 

Edited by ravishingravi
17 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

tu bhai ek kaam kar, stick to YRF tatti spy universe.. thats the kind of tatti audience like you deserve

Bhai didn't you have your meds today. Koi Lao bhai key liye. 

6 hours ago, LordPrabhzy said:

tu bhai ek kaam kar, stick to YRF tatti spy universe.. thats the kind of tatti audience like you deserve

People who read literature consider movie goers as brainless and shallow.

There is space for novels, durandhars and a massy dumb( so called tatti films by some esteemed ICFers) escape like Pushpa.

Edited by kepler37b

Looking forward to hearing reviews of other ICFers, maybe we can discuss the plot later once everyone has seen it, can't find the spoilers button here. @Lone Wolf bhai is watching today.

Is the resident cinephile @zen planning to watch it? 

19 minutes ago, kepler37b said:

Boys..I am going tomorrow. 

I was thoroughly impressed by animal.

I hope I like this also.

Animal had weak screenplay, and the director was looking to rage bait a certain section. No such issues with this movie. Enjoy.

PS: I wouldn't recommend Animal to my mother but every adult can watch Dhurandhar. Even my father walked out of Animal midway and scolded me for not warning him about the movie, he hates Ranbir ever since. I think Vanga is a capable director, and his movies are technically solid, innovative cinematography and direction, great music/soundtrack, great acting etc., but can also see why they are considered problematic and offensive to women.