Burn down panauti Modi stadium

1 minute ago, Gollum said:

Only bucket seats, no concrete slabs. None of the top Indian venues have concrete slab sitting areas anymore. Has been many years now. Have you not attended any game in a stadium in India?

I am going by what @Mariyamhas said.

2 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Only bucket seats, no concrete slabs. None of the top Indian venues have concrete slab sitting areas anymore. Has been many years now. Have you not attended any game in a stadium in India?

Circa 2019, the bucket seats were ripped off and most people in the stand I was in, were forced to sit on the concrete slabs underneath.

Just now, G_B_ said:

I am going by what @Mariyamhas said.

Maybe she got confused by the grey coloured seats, or maybe some people were sitting on the stairs. Eden, like Chepauk, Chinnaswamy, Uppal, has only bucket seats. 

Just now, Mariyam said:

Circa 2019, the bucket seats were ripped off and most people in the stand I was in, were forced to sit on the concrete slabs underneath.

I have never had that kind of experience.

2 hours ago, G_B_ said:

Chepuk had three stands closed for close to decade. What atmosphere are you going to build? 

Modi stadium fundamentally can handle large amount of corporates. People say india won the 2011 wc on atmosphere around 10k of the 33k were corporate seats. Its just that the stadium is small it feels as if there is huge atmosphere. Apart from the north stand it was pretty docile.

Keep in mind the north stand also booed tendulkar. So they are far from standing behind the team.

I can tell you from experience that teams used to be worried to come to Eden at one point in time. I don't know the atmosphere now as I have not been to the stadium in last 10 years but there is a reason why Eden has seen so many classic matches in its history because the crowd has played a role notwithstanding the disruption during 96 WC semi and the infamous run out of Tendulkar by devious Pak in that 1 off Asian Test championship. The working class crowd of the  legacy cities knew how to increase the tempo. Not to say Ahmedabad can't build that but it takes time. Hence the matches should have been also in a staggered manner as opposed to scheduling all matches blatantly  just because the PM and HM and ICC chairman is from that place.

38 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Maybe she got confused by the grey coloured seats, or maybe some people were sitting on the stairs. Eden, like Chepauk, Chinnaswamy, Uppal, has only bucket seats. 

:wp19::wp57::wp57:

@G_B_ @Gollum

I remember having this discussion with my dad. 

Until the 2010s, a large chunk of the tickets were distributed by the BCCI/ State Cricket Association to various gymkhanas that played the Kanga league.

Shivaji Park Gymkhana

Bombay Gymkhana

Matunga Gymkhana

Shardashram

Islam Gymkhana

Police Gymkhana etc would get tickets. These guys would give them to members free of cost or even distribute them in the nearby localities.

As a result Cricket viewing was always a communal activity where entire Hsg societies, or chawls would find themselves seated in near vicinity.

That resulted in specific chanting and helped build atmosphere.

With the advent of Bookmyshow and related apps and corporatization of ticketing, while access increased for the vast majority, atmosphere went for a toss.

A certain class of people who were the majority at our stadia earlier can't afford these tickets. Smaller groups of middle class/upper middle class/rich people cannot make the same noise or have a the same chants that the larger groups did.

That why DJs are a common feature at most Indian stadiums now. To regulate the crowd and get them on their feet.

7 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

:wp19::wp57::wp57:

Sorry you got caught in the crossfire yam. This has become more of a political thread now. 

Anyway, I hold @G_B_ in high regard, won't post in this thread any more. Faltu ka misunderstanding ho jaata hai aise hi. 

34 minutes ago, Norman said:

SA vs WI is at the same panoti stadium..

Fully expect WI to win a close game .:giggle:

I'm sure it won't be a meek surrender like the last match that happened here a few days back.

1 hour ago, G_B_ said:

Lol ok sure.

Enjoy the karunanidhi stand

MAC was not built yesterday. It was built before Karunanidhi was born. LOL Random association doesn't make any point.  It is always MAC. Indias oldest stadium..venue where India got its first win. No renaming after any politician

Edited by vvvslaxman
On 2/23/2026 at 9:02 AM, Laaloo said:

It's not suitable for our hitters you mean. No issues for good teams to win here batting first or chasing.

Our team is good too - from an ability standpoint. They just don't adapt quickly or change their game-plan when necessary.

49 minutes ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

Our team is good too - from an ability standpoint. They just don't adapt quickly or change their game-plan when necessary.

That has been our issue since 2008 in T20 WCs. Top 4 chases all were where kohli top scored. Others barely did anything. We needed miracle to pull those off

4 hours ago, Gollum said:

I want a proper venue rotation policy, where one venue doesn't get to host disproportionately high numbers of big games. 

giphy.gif

4 hours ago, rangeelaraja said:

I hate how the PCA Mohali stadium has been sidelined in all of this because of Ahmedabad stadium. 

PCA Mohali is an iconic stadium and one of Team India's  'luckiest' venues.

Luck ki baat nahi hai. Mohali was where we got knocked out in 2006 CT (final group game against Aus which was virtual KO), all venues will have happy as well as sad moments associated with Indian cricket. Kotla may be the only exception in last 30 odd years but that is just for test cricket. Ultimately boils down to how the team plays. Namo black soil pitch and dead crowd doesn't suit us, ultimately our players will have to crack it like professionals. 

This thread was made in lighter vein I am sure. But the point stands, when you have 8-10 top tier venues, should not favor one venue so much. Politics should take a backseat when we are hosting some global event. Even coming to bilaterals, since 2021, Ahmedabad has probably hosted more games than Wankhede, Chinnaswamy, Eden, Dharamsala etc. combined. If BCCI is applying rotation policy, I don't see it. 

BJP hates Pak so much, then why the desperation to host the Pak game in 23 WC in this stadium. Clearly other factors at play.