Can you enter Italy if your passport expires in less than 3 months?

I have around 16 hours layover in Rome. I plan to enter the city. However, I realized that when I am in Rome, my passport would have around 80 odd days (not 90 days) validity before expiration. Would I be denied entry? I have booked a hotel at the historic city center, hoping to walk around Rome at night. Should I cancel the hotel booking and simply chill at the airport (FCO)? 

The rulebook says No. You cannot enter.

However, for cases like these when its just a matter of a day and you are not very far from the stipulated 90 day validity number, its at the discretion of the airport authorities. They may just let you into the city.

As I see it, no harm trying. Worst case you go back to the lounge.

15 hours ago, zen said:

I have around 16 hours layover in Rome. I plan to enter the city. However, I realized that when I am in Rome, my passport would have around 80 odd days (not 90 days) validity before expiration. Would I be denied entry? I have booked a hotel at the historic city center, hoping to walk around Rome at night. Should I cancel the hotel booking and simply chill at the airport (FCO)? 

This 90 day rule is mainly applied when someone is staying longer in the Schengen area.

For airport transit or very short stays it should not be a problem - yours is a transit visit.

Check with your airline before cancelling hotel booking. 

4 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Thumb rule of six months is for all  countries.

Bhai kyun galat advise de raha hai. If your passport is from a country with visa-free access to Schengen (e.g., US, Canada, Australia, etc.), and everything else checks out (onward ticket, hotel booking )  they won't even raise an eyebrow before admitting you. Don't deny the chap a chance to explore Rome in the evening. 

1 minute ago, rangeelaraja said:

Bhai kyun galat advise de raha hai. If your passport is from a country with visa-free access to Schengen (e.g., US, Canada, Australia, etc.), and everything else checks out (onward ticket, hotel booking )  they won't even raise an eyebrow before admitting you. Don't deny the chap a chance to explore Rome in the evening. 

this was a general rule, of course in case of immigration it depends on the person checking the details, even with all the rules. I have had issues even with everything is correct based on some minor detail. It’s not like I’m telling him not to travel at all, just to be careful and check out all loose ends. That is all !! Bhadakta kyun hain, bhai!

2 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

this was a general rule, of course in case of immigration it depends on the person checking the details, even with all the rules. I have had issues even with everything is correct based on some minor detail. It’s not like I’m telling him not to travel at all, just to be careful and check out all loose ends. That is all !! Bhadakta kyun hain, bhai!

I've always felt airlines are stricter than immigration.  I normally verify with the airlines. I do agree it depends on the person checking the details but officers assess based on your intended departure date (which you can prove with onward tickets). 

44 minutes ago, zen said:

I have been to Rome before but not in a while. 

In Italy, other places that I have  visited include Milan, Venice, Pisa, and Florence. 

Given the timelines - going to city center for an evening stroll would be best.  Colosseum area, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon are all within 30 mins walking distance. 

3 hours ago, rangeelaraja said:

Given the timelines - going to city center for an evening stroll would be best.  Colosseum area, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon are all within 30 mins walking distance. 

Exactly. And Rome tends to be awake at night. 

Arrive at FCO —> FCO Express to the historic city centre —> Hotel Check In —> Walk around for a few hours at night —> Get back to the hotel —> Take the FCO Express (starts from 5 am to around midnight iirc) back to the airport in the morning. 

5 hours ago, Mariyam said:

The rulebook says No. You cannot enter.

However, for cases like these when its just a matter of a day and you are not very far from the stipulated 90 day validity number, its at the discretion of the airport authorities. They may just let you into the city.

As I see it, no harm trying. Worst case you go back to the lounge.

Mariyam, both practical and adventurous as ever!