Sean Bradley Posted March 7 Posted March 7 Rank the most knowledgable (&unbiased) crowds for cricket in India. My List. 1) Chennai 2) Mumbai 3) Kolkata 4) Tiruvanantapuram (though dont get enough games) 5) Mohali, Chandigarh 6) Bangalore 7) Nagpur 8) Guwahati 9) Vizag Rest are all crap. Ahmedabad the worst !
Trichromatic Posted March 7 Posted March 7 Ahemdabad at top Ultimate_Game, putrevus, Stan AF and 3 others 1 5
singhvivek141 Posted March 7 Posted March 7 (edited) Chennai has lost the top position after their "love" towards Pooki cricketers in 2023 ODI WC. Though I know many Indian fans weren't allowed to carry banners and posters due to political agenda. Hyderabad goes to last due to the stupidity they've shown during the Pooki-SL match in 2023 ODI WC. Old city jaahils must not be allowed. And IMO, crowd shouldn't be unbiased, they're supposed to back their home team and cheer for them, though respecting the opposition is as important (unless they're terrorists). 1. Bengaluru 2. Mumbai 3. Kolkata 4. Mohali 5. Vizag 6. Thiruvananthapuram 7. Lucknow 8. Ahmedabad 9. Chennai 10. Hyderabad Edited March 7 by singhvivek141 Laaloo, Suhaan and G_B_ 3
Gollum Posted March 7 Posted March 7 39 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said: Chennai has lost the top position after their "love" towards Pooki cricketers in 2023 ODI WC. Though I know many Indian fans weren't allowed to carry banners and posters due to political agenda. Hyderabad goes to last due to the stupidity they've shown during the Pooki-SL match in 2023 ODI WC. Old city jaahils must not be allowed. And IMO, crowd shouldn't be unbiased, they're supposed to back their home team and cheer for them, though respecting the opposition is as important (unless they're terrorists). 1. Bengaluru 2. Mumbai 3. Kolkata 4. Mohali 5. Vizag 6. Thiruvananthapuram 7. Lucknow 8. Ahmedabad 9. Chennai 10. Hyderabad Most of those cheering for Pak would have been Kashmiris in those cities, either students or traders. Similar allegation was levelled against Kolkata in 2016 WC, that most of the crowd was supporting Pak over BD. Those fans were Kashmiris, not locals. Big propaganda targetting non-BJP states showing them as Pak sympathizers, gaddars...even Punjab isn't spared, the state that sends max people to armed forces is shown as some secessionist, Khalistani hub. Please don't allow the cultists to brainwash you bro. They have failed to deliver their election promises, so simply pitting Indians against each other. Vilander 1
singhvivek141 Posted March 7 Posted March 7 5 minutes ago, Gollum said: Most of those cheering for Pak would have been Kashmiris in those cities, either students or traders. Similar allegation was levelled against Kolkata in 2016 WC, that most of the crowd was supporting Pak over BD. Those fans were Kashmiris, not locals. Big propaganda targetting non-BJP states showing them as Pak sympathizers, gaddars...even Punjab isn't spared, the state that sends max people to armed forces is shown as some secessionist, Khalistani hub. Please don't allow the cultists to brainwash you bro. They have failed to deliver their election promises, so simply pitting Indians against each other. Bro, there aren't many Kashmiris in Chennai...there is significant Urdu speaking population in places like Waniyambadi/Ambur, but for them travelling to Bengaluru is much easier in comparison to Chennai. There were several allegations that DMK didn't allowed the "real" crowd inside the stadium, and they went to another extreme to overcompensate for the behavior of Ahmedabad. 2 wrongs don't make it right. https://www.freepressjournal.in/sports/pak-vs-afg-cwc-2023-video-of-cop-pulling-indian-flags-out-of-dustbin-goes-viral-amid-allegations-of-tricolour-ban-at-chennai-stadium https://x.com/arunpudur/status/1716399483435774087?s=20 https://hindupost.in/news/tricolour-allegedly-banned-at-chepauk-stadium-amid-pak-vs-afg-match-knowledgeable-chennai-crowd-appear-in-green-jerseys-supporting-pakistan/# Hyderabad, I don't know what to say. As much as I love this city, the old city part is completely gone to the dogs who'll dance and cheer for Pakistan even if those Pakjabis would cut their families head in broad daylight. This is what happens when you stay in the blanket for parties like AIMIM who make you a zombie. G_B_, Laaloo, Manucrick and 1 other 3 1
Sean Bradley Posted March 7 Author Posted March 7 (edited) 1 hour ago, singhvivek141 said: Chennai has lost the top position after their "love" towards Pooki cricketers in 2023 ODI WC. Though I know many Indian fans weren't allowed to carry banners and posters due to political agenda. Hyderabad goes to last due to the stupidity they've shown during the Pooki-SL match in 2023 ODI WC. Old city jaahils must not be allowed. And IMO, crowd shouldn't be unbiased, they're supposed to back their home team and cheer for them, though respecting the opposition is as important (unless they're terrorists). 1. Bengaluru 2. Mumbai 3. Kolkata 4. Mohali 5. Vizag 6. Thiruvananthapuram 7. Lucknow 8. Ahmedabad 9. Chennai 10. Hyderabad I disagree with your assesment on chennai crowds. They appreciate good cricket, no matter who the opposition is. I dont see any harm in appreciating good cricket irrespective of the political situation and bias. Thats where they topple most crowds in India. Back in those days i remember, chennai crowd used to flood stadium with amazingly creative banners for test matches. They are the best and it will take a total paradigm shift for other locations to match the cricketing IQ of Chennai crowd. Edited March 7 by Sean Bradley speedster and vvvslaxman 2
G_B_ Posted March 7 Posted March 7 1 hour ago, singhvivek141 said: Chennai has lost the top position after their "love" towards Pooki cricketers in 2023 ODI WC. Though I know many Indian fans weren't allowed to carry banners and posters due to political agenda. Hyderabad goes to last due to the stupidity they've shown during the Pooki-SL match in 2023 ODI WC. Old city jaahils must not be allowed. And IMO, crowd shouldn't be unbiased, they're supposed to back their home team and cheer for them, though respecting the opposition is as important (unless they're terrorists). 1. Bengaluru 2. Mumbai 3. Kolkata 4. Mohali 5. Vizag 6. Thiruvananthapuram 7. Lucknow 8. Ahmedabad 9. Chennai 10. Hyderabad +1
G_B_ Posted March 7 Posted March 7 Re mumbai I think the key issue most people are not accounting for is the % of corporates taking up seats. Many simply have a passing interest in cricket. Ok 33k i think barely 18 to 20k are fans with knowledge. Very hard for crowd to be well informed with tickets given on basis of clubs and corporates. I last went to wankhede to see a ranji match in 2016 (entry was free). Prior to that in cwc in 2011. Cousins and friends tell me its getting harder and harder for common fan to get a ticket. singhvivek141 1
vvvslaxman Posted March 7 Posted March 7 13 minutes ago, Sean Bradley said: I disagree with your assesment on chennai crowds. They appreciate good cricket, no matter who the opposition is. I dont see any harm in appreciating good cricket irrespective of the political situation and bias. Thats where they topple most crowds in India. Back in those days i remember, chennai crowd used to flood stadium with amazingly creative banners for test matches. They are the best and it will take a total paradigm shift for other locations to match the cricketing IQ of Chennai crowd. Chepauk was built 110 years back. They didn't build this reputation yesterday. They built over a century. Only Eden Gardens is older than Chepauk which was built in 1864.
G_B_ Posted March 7 Posted March 7 2 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: Chepauk was built 110 years back. They didn't build this reputation yesterday. They built over a century. Only Eden Gardens is older than Chepauk which was built in 1864. Ma chidambaran was built 110 years ago?
vvvslaxman Posted March 7 Posted March 7 4 minutes ago, G_B_ said: Ma chidambaran was built 110 years ago? yes. 1916. Eden Gardens 1864
G_B_ Posted March 7 Posted March 7 4 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: yes. 1916. Eden Gardens 1864 What was its capacity in 1916?
vvvslaxman Posted March 7 Posted March 7 1 minute ago, G_B_ said: What was its capacity in 1916? 38000 it says. G_B_ 1
Gollum Posted March 7 Posted March 7 (edited) 1 hour ago, singhvivek141 said: Bro, there aren't many Kashmiris in Chennai...there is significant Urdu speaking population in places like Waniyambadi/Ambur, but for them travelling to Bengaluru is much easier in comparison to Chennai. There were several allegations that DMK didn't allowed the "real" crowd inside the stadium, and they went to another extreme to overcompensate for the behavior of Ahmedabad. 2 wrongs don't make it right. https://www.freepressjournal.in/sports/pak-vs-afg-cwc-2023-video-of-cop-pulling-indian-flags-out-of-dustbin-goes-viral-amid-allegations-of-tricolour-ban-at-chennai-stadium https://x.com/arunpudur/status/1716399483435774087?s=20 https://hindupost.in/news/tricolour-allegedly-banned-at-chepauk-stadium-amid-pak-vs-afg-match-knowledgeable-chennai-crowd-appear-in-green-jerseys-supporting-pakistan/# Hyderabad, I don't know what to say. As much as I love this city, the old city part is completely gone to the dogs who'll dance and cheer for Pakistan even if those Pakjabis would cut their families head in broad daylight. This is what happens when you stay in the blanket for parties like AIMIM who make you a zombie. I was there in the Pak-RSA game and almost the entire stadium was cheering for RSA. When the last batting pair of RSA had some 15 runs to get, every run was being cheered. There were just a handful of people who stayed silent that day or chanted Babar, Iftikhar, Shaheen's names, came in a small group, quite clear that they were Kashmiri students, maybe a couple of other Pak flag bearers were UPites, from the way they spoke. I returned in local train to Velachery after that and entire compartment was so happy that RSA won. It was the last match in Chepauk and people were saying that at least the Chennai leg ended in a good note. I was also there in the Indo-Pak hockey match in 23 ACT in Egmore. Deafening support to Indian team, Pooks weren't booed but no special love for them, they were treated just like any other opponent (Malaysia, China, Japan, South Korea). Pak scored a goal in first 30 seconds but then it was referred and decision got overturned, I still remember the deafening roar that followed. Every now and then the locals would break into singing the Tamil version of Maa Tujhe Salam, all organic, you may even find such videos on SM. That was one game where despite it being group encounter, Indian team did a lap of honour to acknowledge the crowd. Nothing to indicate that locals there are prop-Pak, anti-India. See in a sport like cricket, even if Kashmiris are less in number, more of them will try to catch Pak team in action like 2016 WT20 in Eden when majority crowd cheered for Pak over BD. PS: Flags weren't carried in Chinnaswamy, Uppal and Chepauk in 23 WC, I attended games in all these 3 cities. They were very strict with what to allow, even hand sanitizer, was seized. Jerseys were sold outside the stadiums. Edited March 7 by Gollum
vvvslaxman Posted March 7 Posted March 7 1 minute ago, Gollum said: I was there in the Pak-RSA game and almost the entire stadium was cheering for RSA. When the last batting pair of RSA had some 15 runs to get, every run was being cheered. There were just a handful of people who stayed silent that day or chanted Babar, Iftikhar, Shaheen's names, came in a small group, quite clear that they were Kashmiri students, or at the very least outsiders, my guess UPites. I returned in local train to Velachery after that and entire compartment was so happy that RSA won. It was the last match in Chepauk and people were saying that at least the Chennai leg ended in a good note. I was also there in the Indo-Pak hockey match in 23 ACT in Egmore. Deafening support to Indian team, Pooks weren't booed but no special love for them, they were treated just like any other opponent (Malaysia, China, Japan, South Korea). Pak scored a goal in first 30 seconds but then it was referred and decision got overturned, I still remember the deafening roar that followed. Every now and then the locals would break into singing the Tamil version of Maa Tujhe Salam, all organic, you may even find such videos on SM. That was one game where despite it being group encounter, Indian team did a lap of honour to acknowledge the crowd. Nothing to indicate that locals there are prop-Pak, anti-India. See in a sport like cricket, even if Kashmiris are less in number, more of them will try to catch Pak team in action like 2016 WT20 in Eden when majority crowd cheered for Pak over BD. PS: Flags weren't carried in Chinnaswamy, Uppal and Chepauk in 23 WC, I attended games in all these 3 cities. They were very strict with what to allow, even hand sanitizer, was seized. Jerseys were sold outside the stadiums. When MCG or SCG stands up and applauds our players we are so proud. pretty much every sporting crowd will appreciate good thing. Despite Australia-India under current during our tour crowd all appreciate good performances. That is pretty much what we see in Chennai right through the history. IPL has certainly polluted the mindset across the country. Other day at wankhede sectino of crowd chanting RCB RCB .. I am sure some CSK chant would go during India match at chennai. OTherwise Test matches are appreciated the best in Chennai. I have heard stories about the crowd where they do extensive analysis while sitting in the stadium . David Gower is said to be one of the biggest idol in Chennai https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/blogs/tracking-indian-communities/chennais-cricketing-spirit-stumps-david-gower/ You mention Chennai and David Gower’s face lights up. The for mer England captain may have played in only two Tests at the MA Chidambaram Stadium, but he fondly recalls those matches till today . “In 1982, we drew the game against India, and in 1985 -I was leading England and we won the match by nine wickets. In the 1982 game, G R Viswanath gave an exhibition in batting when he hit a brilliant 222,“ reminisced Gower, who was in the city during the weekend to deliver the inaugural KS Narayanan oration. More than the matches he played, what stands out about the city for Gower is the buzz he gets each time he pays a visit.“Chennai is a place where I feel welcomed. I have been here as a player, and even as a commentator. Many here love the game and have watched it for years, retaining facts. The enthusiasm people share for the game is overwhelming,“ said the 58-year-old. On the two occasions Gower played at Chepauk, he was witness to the genuine affection people had for him and his side.“It’s the standout feature for me.Not only did the crowd cheer for India, they also rose to applaud their efforts when England opener Graeme Fowler and Mike Gatting each scored a double century in the 1985 Test. The IndiaPakistan Test in 1999 which saw the visiting team get a lap of honour after their win is well documented. There is genuine appreciation here for a player’s efforts -irrespective of his team,“ pointed out Gower. He felt Chennai could give a lesson or two to many centres across the world on how to embrace the different formats of the game.“Be it Test or other formats of cricket, the crowds flock in to watch their favourite stars on the field. One of the challenges for the game is to maintain its popularity. In places such as Chennai and most parts of India, there is a euphoria surrounding the game and the Inter national Cricket Council (ICC) must tap into it,“ he said. During his present trip to Chennai after many years, Gower felt the city had not lost any of its charm. “I have been here for a few days and 95% of the conversations with my hosts have been about cricket. People here seem to know more about my career statistics than I can remember. When you are around cricket loving public, it’s almost like a history lesson,“ said Gower, breaking into a chuckle. Apart from the warmth of the people, Gower has a lot of respect for the bowlers he has faced from this region. “Be it V Ramnarayan, whom I faced during my club stint in Australia for Claremont Cottesloe (now the ClaremontNedlands Cricket Club), or S Venkataraghavan and L Sivaramakrishnan who bowled to me in international games -they were all fierce competitors and some of the toughest I played against,“ said Gower, who played in 117 Tests and 114 ODIs for England. As part of his visit here, Gower interacted with players from Jolly Rovers and Alwarpet CC. “I am told the league cricket in Chennai is immensely competitive and even players from other parts of the country come in to play . I believe it’s great for the game here,“ said Gower.
Gollum Posted March 7 Posted March 7 (edited) None of the crowds are knowledgeable in India. One or two may be a bit more sporting I guess, but knowledgeable none. The average Indian cricket fan is retarded, don't go by ICF, look at your friends, relatives, what goes on in SM. Chennai may be more sporting in general but try to arrange a Lankan game there and see what Seeman and NTK clowns do. Heck, few years back, Lankan players weren't even allowed to play IPL there, forget scheduling an international match. Nothing more disgraceful than that. There were no protests against Ashwin, Vijay, DK when they played in Lanka that time. Nobody can claim moral high ground in this country, sab ke sabe chwtiye hai. Edited March 7 by Gollum Norman, Tillu, Ultimate_Game and 1 other 2 2
vvvslaxman Posted March 7 Posted March 7 1 minute ago, Gollum said: None of the crowds are knowledgeable in India. One or two may be a bit more sporting I guess, but knowledgeable none. The average Indian cricket fan is retarded, don't go by ICF, look at your friends, relatives, what goes on in SM. Chennai may be more sporting in general but try to arrange a Lankan game there and see what Seeman and NTK clowns do. Heck, few years back, Lankan players weren't even allowed to play IPL there, forget scheduling an international match. Nothing more disgraceful than that. There were no protests against Ashwin, Vijay, DK when they played in Lanka that time. Nobody can claim moral high ground in this country, sab ke sabe chwtiye hai. IPL has polluted everything. But there is a rason why CHennai earned that reputation. It was through 50s, 60s, 70s.. etc.
zen Posted March 7 Posted March 7 It is almost impossible to know the knowledge of the crowd unless the barometer is “circus like antics”. When it comes to general knowledge of the game, it is common around the globe.
Gollum Posted March 7 Posted March 7 3 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: When MCG or SCG stands up and applauds our players we are so proud. pretty much every sporting crowd will appreciate good thing. Despite Australia-India under current during our tour crowd all appreciate good performances. That is pretty much what we see in Chennai right through the history. IPL has certainly polluted the mindset across the country. Other day at wankhede sectino of crowd chanting RCB RCB .. I am sure some CSK chant would go during India match at chennai. OTherwise Test matches are appreciated the best in Chennai. I have heard stories about the crowd where they do extensive analysis while sitting in the stadium . David Gower is said to be one of the biggest idol in Chennai https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/blogs/tracking-indian-communities/chennais-cricketing-spirit-stumps-david-gower/ You will find such old timers in most venues. Chennai crowd may applaud visiting players but it isn't as widespread like you see in Lord's or MCG. Still better. Ok but will they applaud if a Lankan player does well? Every state has friction with certain countries....most of North and West have suffered atriocities, terror attacks at the hands of Pak, so of course they will be hostile towards Pak. Likewise, Lankans did a genocide against their Tamils and continue to target TN fishermen, so there will be hostility in Chennai against them. Koi dudh ka dhula nahi hai, everyone has reasons to be the way he/she is. Tillu 1