Arshdeep comments about Tilak Varma

Have you ever lived in an Indian hostel? also how is it any different than celebrating those who do well in 10th or 12th vs those who have avg/below avg numbers 

Social media could be becoming too intrusive.

It is a private matter b/w the two guys who know each other well, having shared the dressing room. 

No need to turn it into drama unless anyone reported being hurt. 

50 minutes ago, zen said:

It is a private matter b/w the two guys who know each other well, having shared the dressing room. 

Thing is it is a pattern with him. He did the same to Sai Sudarshan and also that rookie Sakib, doubt he and Sakib are BFFs. 

Colourism, racism must be called out in this country. A public figure doing the same and posting on SM must definitely attract condemnation. He didn't keep it private, posted that in his SM account. 

Deserves a ban tbh. There should be no place for such nonsense in a civilized society. 

Btw what is with Punjabi players and colourism/racism? Saw the same with Bhajji and even Yuvi who would throw their bile at the 'Bihari' Dhoni and some Southies. Is this a Jat thing or what, hear so many horror stories of how Bihar/UP laborers are treated as subhumans in Punjab because of their skin colour. We all know how racist Pakjabis are, border ke iss taraf ke log bhi waise hi hai kya? 

Colourism is a pan-India issue but at least people hide it better in other regions I guess. Not only is Arshdeep a piece of ****, but also a paindu. 

49 minutes ago, zen said:

I sometimes feel people forget that all these players are in their early 20s. at that age people talk all kind of sh!t and no one cares. 

1 hour ago, jf1gp_1 said:

Have you ever lived in an Indian hostel? also how is it any different than celebrating those who do well in 10th or 12th vs those who have avg/below avg numbers 

Yeah most of these guys aren't well educated either to be aware of these things.. that's how common Indians act with people they know well.

Casual racism has been normalised in Indian society in the name of fun it is what it is..

Edited by Lone Wolf

Indians defending Arsdheep will suddenly get enraged if a white guy were to do that to any Indian player. 

That Pak wk Sarfaraz was banned for a couple of games when he called a Saffer guy kalua or something like that. If BCCI doesn't take action against Indian offenders, they are even beneath PCB in my eyes. 

8 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Colourism is a pan-India issue but at least people hide it better in other regions I guess. Not only is Arshdeep a piece of ****, but also a paindu. 

People don't hide it anywhere else bro..  that's South Cinema for you right here btw.

Doubt MI would have posted this had Tilak really been unaffected with what happened. You could clearly see how uneasy he was during that interaction, and now this. 

1 minute ago, Lone Wolf said:

People don't hide it anywhere else bro..  that's South Cinema for you right here btw.

People don't say these things publicly or take the mic and deride someone for his/her skin colour. Be it Bollywood or South industries. 

What happened here is a completely different matter. 

Replace Arshdeep with a Stoinis or Seifert here. Had they pulled something similar with an Indian player, called him darkie, made fun of skin colour and posted on their SM, they would have immediately been rebuked by their own country's fans, and their boards would have taken action. Lehmann once called Sri Lankans black c*ts in 2003, got banned for 5 games....this was 20+ years back. Aaj koi karega toh a longer ban and cancel bhi ho jayega. You can say this didn't happen on the field, but that makes it worse. During the game, people can hurl expletives out of anger/frustration, yahaan cool and calm environment mein this guy has recorded a video and posted it for the world to see. 

Severe attitude problems with this guy. His behavior with Mitchell in the WC final was the ugliest sight of the entire tournament. Apologize bhi nahi kiya, SKY had to do that for him. Post-game he did it for the cameras and it came across as so insincere. Mitchell is one of the nicest guys in world cricket. Nip the problem in the bud, otherwise you are creating a menace. 

16 minutes ago, Gollum said:

People don't say these things publicly or take the mic and deride someone for his/her skin colour. Be it Bollywood or South industries. 

What happened here is a completely different matter. 

Replace Arshdeep with a Stoinis or Seifert here. Had they pulled something similar with an Indian player, called him darkie, made fun of skin colour and posted on their SM, they would have immediately been rebuked by their own country's fans, and their boards would have taken action. Lehmann once called Sri Lankans black c*ts in 2003, got banned for 5 games....this was 20+ years back. Aaj koi karega toh a longer ban and cancel bhi ho jayega. You can say this didn't happen on the field, but that makes it worse. During the game, people can hurl expletives out of anger/frustration, yahaan cool and calm environment mein this guy has recorded a video and posted it for the world to see. 

BCCI should absolutely reprimand him that it's not a good look at all.  No 

I am saying that these guys don't have much education or awareness about such stuff and they act how a common Indian who is born with casual racism around him would react.  

Lehmann's intent was obviously racially motivated and to a foreign countrymen which has a colonial past.  So obviously it was a bigger deal. 

B Mac and Buttler in the past were making fun of Indian player's accent as well.

Ishant Sharma called Darren Sammy Kaaalu which went viral few years back.

1 hour ago, jf1gp_1 said:

I sometimes feel people forget that all these players are in their early 20s. at that age people talk all kind of sh!t and no one cares. 

Its hilarious how bigots always excuse racist comments like these. Tells a lot about these bigots. Its ok to be racist when you are in early 20s,, you guys. Next, its ok to rape and murder when you are in your 20s. Just kids having some fun..

Even children should know not be be racist pieces of shiete in 2026, let alone adults in 20s

2 hours ago, zen said:

Oye Andhere, sunscreen lagaaya?" 

This was what Arshdeep said 

.. you can interpret it as Thilaks fetish for sunscreen too., then the first part was unnecessary 

Even in uk i notice punjabi community (sikh or hindu) make comments on tamils and other communities like bengalis etc. 

Noticed this in uni indian and hindu soceities.

5 hours ago, New guy said:

Its hilarious how bigots always excuse racist comments like these. Tells a lot about these bigots. Its ok to be racist when you are in early 20s,, you guys. Next, its ok to rape and murder when you are in your 20s. Just kids having some fun..

Even children should know not be be racist pieces of shiete in 2026, let alone adults in 20s

Let alone post it on social media for all to see. This guy is an idiot. 

He needs to be banned for couple of matches.This idiot should not be allowed to play next two matches so he will understand there is no room for bigots in the sport and country.

8 hours ago, jf1gp_1 said:

My kid who's 13 knows better to refer to someone by the colour of their skin. 

Defending Arshdeep doesn't help.