Are Gambhirs personal choices damaging team India?

His coaching level starts and stops with forming team structure whehre he has liking for versatile players who can do multiple roles. In LOI that logic is fine. But he was having Reddy batting at 6. It made our line up very thin.

Bhai Siraj is the least impressive pacer as of today among Brar, Prasidh, and Siraj. I am quite sure Gautam Gambhir will bench him in next test.

You have to appreciate Gambhir; he has the guts to even ask the senior guy to sit out for a Junior. 

Prasidh is bowling well in this TEST though I agree BRAR isa superior fast bowler but with less international experience so in first test , it made sense to let Siraj and Prasidh play. 

Now if in second TEST , Brar is asked to be on bench then I will question gautam Gambhir.

HATS Off to Agarkar and GG for giving Ashok Sharma and Mayank some game time against ZIMBOKS. All the 3 pacers bowled brilliantly and we won the series 3-0.

had they played we would have beaten IRELAND too 2-1 instead of LOOSING.  Mr Shreyas was as good a captain against ireland or ZIMBabve. even the batters of both teams were same level . Just our pacers against zimbabve were top class.

Agarkar/VVS/GG have shown to the selectors that when they pick next T20 team Mayank/Ashok /Yash Thakur should also be discussed.

New crop of pacers have started coming- please understand when transition happens one looses some matches too . MSD had an opportunity of making a Varun and Umesh combo, a deadly combo who could have won us many matches but he decided to throw out one guy and send him back to BIHAR. he flew Varun to england and only played him in one Practice match. bhai us time ke selectors , coaches se behtar hai Gambhir.

give him more time , he and agarkar are getting the transition go smoothly and shifting the FOCUS from TRUNDLERS like KARAMBHOJ to genuine fast bowlers.

3 hours ago, maniac said:

I think Gambhir gets extra hate for his association with BJP. However I don’t think his appointment had anything to do with BJP. Everyone used to love his “interview swag” , he obviously played 2 of the clutchest innings in Indian cricket history, and had some good track record in IPL as captain and then  as coach/ mentor. The problem is powers that be made him an all format coach when he never coached in the any other formats. That’s the core issue :facepalm: 

Dravid had coached India A and U-19 in all formats + been captain/ coach in IPL. VVS has been coach of India-A, U-19 and coach/ mentor with SRH and has infact done a good job with SRH consistent track record of making playoffs. 

Gambhir has only done commentary and IPL tamasha coaching which is probably the easiest job in the world with 100 other coaches/ analysts  working for you in every dept. 

GG was selected bcos of he being a BJP Leader.

ideally I may have picked some other top professional coach who has had clear performance to showcase.

GG's selection of coaches ...i think his batting coach selection has been wrong; his fielding coach selection too has been biased, but Morkel has done a fair job, Harshit and Prasidh have improved, Boom has bowled well whenever he has played, Siraj too has done OK. he tried to improve Nitish reddy too , he did improve but still Nitish is not upto the mark. 

Nitish se tej vo ab bhi fankta hoga..nitish is a 5.8-inch guy not meant to be a fast bowler; he won't become a genuine fast bowler; this is the best he can become.

so his coach selections , only 1 coach looks good. But GG is straightforward, and he is clever and shrewd. Among indian caoches he is not a bad choice as he supports fast bowlers.

Edited by vishalvirsingh
17 hours ago, Malcolm Merlyn said:

Gambhir should never have been coach of team India, his bjp closeness got him the job.

now he is promoting his stupid ass choices like prasidh Krishna over more derserving players like brar or shami

as much as people like Modi, this exact kind of things brings the downfall of popular personalities in a democracy 

a lower rung bjp guy using bjps name to get Indian team job and now having no accountability.

What's the connect between Gambhir`s coaching and BJP ? 

Now you can question his coaching style and choice of XI but given you are a seasoned poster I am sure you aren't suggesting indian Xi is made at pmo.

5 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

His coaching level starts and stops with forming team structure whehre he has liking for versatile players who can do multiple roles. In LOI that logic is fine. But he was having Reddy batting at 6. It made our line up very thin.

Yup. Absolutely dislike this more than one allrounder business in test. 

Yes, only thing he is getting right is tall proper faster bowler, no run of mill ra/la nothing kind of bowlers. 

Trying to make every one a all format player when they are not even suited for 1 format.

Taking batters from IPL and thinking they can do well in tests .

Edited by tapandrun

Did we show the urgency to win? not at all..  Both Gill and Gambhir are classic defensive people like Dhoni.. he agreed for a draw when we needed 80+ in 15 overs or so to win a test against WI attack :wp13:.  All this to preserve a 1-0 lead. Also, did a similar thing to win a series against the most weakest NZ team in decades.   Now, GG & Gill are doing it in this social media era.  

On 8/19/2026 at 1:34 AM, gattaca said:

Every team is like this ? People only bring onboard only they trust and know someone. 

That can apply to the support staff not tram players

On 8/19/2026 at 2:55 AM, vishalvirsingh said:

GG was selected bcos of he being a BJP Leader.

ideally I may have picked some other top professional coach who has had clear performance to showcase.

GG's selection of coaches ...i think his batting coach selection has been wrong; his fielding coach selection too has been biased, but Morkel has done a fair job, Harshit and Prasidh have improved, Boom has bowled well whenever he has played, Siraj too has done OK. he tried to improve Nitish reddy too , he did improve but still Nitish is not upto the mark. 

Nitish se tej vo ab bhi fankta hoga..nitish is a 5.8-inch guy not meant to be a fast bowler; he won't become a genuine fast bowler; this is the best he can become.

so his coach selections , only 1 coach looks good. But GG is straightforward, and he is clever and shrewd. Among indian caoches he is not a bad choice as he supports fast bowlers.

This is one mistake bjp needs to correct before people force them to.

On 8/19/2026 at 6:12 AM, jf1gp_1 said:

What's the connect between Gambhir`s coaching and BJP ? 

Now you can question his coaching style and choice of XI but given you are a seasoned poster I am sure you aren't suggesting indian Xi is made at pmo.

I think he is suggesting anyone else would have been fired from test coaching by now. Even dhoni etc didnt survive two series losses even away, let alone losing two series at home and continuing.

On 8/19/2026 at 1:07 AM, vvvslaxman said:

This is pretty much the gist of his coaching strategy!