express bowling Posted January 29, 2014 Posted January 29, 2014 Dhoni ,the captain, has deteriorated in the last two years. The team is not looking like a gelled unit for the last 3 months or so. This team was known for its ability to fight back hard. Now, suddenly, they are giving in easily. The team spirit is missing in this series .... whatever the reason. Public criticism of very young bowlers won't help this either. They should have been criticized privately. Also, guided and motivated.
adi B Posted January 29, 2014 Posted January 29, 2014 Whenever he or anyone else gets the captaincy' date=' they too will get their share of abuses (not just criticism) from the usual suspects[/quote'] lol man they are earning in crores ,they dont care a sh1t what we say about them or the team selections..they are professionals,why are u so worried about them :cantstop:
express bowling Posted January 29, 2014 Posted January 29, 2014 If a player is not performing, he is replaced. Successful ones and Ishant are given a longer rope. Why can't the same principle be applied to the captain ? Why can't we try out a new captain atleast in the test matches ! Fact is .... we all know the answer. If Srini were not at the helm, Dhoni would not have survived in test matches.
asterix Posted January 29, 2014 Posted January 29, 2014 I just don't see what a new captain can do other Than some cosmetic stuff' date='our bowlers are still one of the worst in international cricket.[/quote'] New captain will have fresh ideas, fresh team selection, reduce number of CSK players, could get a genuine spinner in the team... On field could go on backing his bowlers and not ditch in open public... However, I believe, at this stage, Dhoni should be leading the team in WC2015.... He should get the blame of losing the WC...he was entrusted to build the team for WC...
express bowling Posted January 29, 2014 Posted January 29, 2014 New captain will have fresh ideas, fresh team selection, reduce number of CSK players, could get a genuine spinner in the team... On field could go on backing his bowlers and not ditch in open public... Exactly.
vvvslaxman Posted January 29, 2014 Posted January 29, 2014 Dhoni generally goes to extremes. 2007 wordl T20 win 2009, 2010 first round elimination, CB series win next time CB series first round elimination, Asia cup win then elimination in early rounds, Now world cup 2011 win,, we can expect a thrashing in 2015 world cup. Thank god there won't be any CT anymore.
Lord Posted January 29, 2014 Posted January 29, 2014 Dhoni generally goes to extremes. 2007 wordl T20 win 2009' date=' 2010 first round elimination, CB series win next time CB series first round elimination, Asia cup win then elimination in early rounds, Now world cup 2011 win,, we can expect a thrashing in 2015 world cup. Thank god there won't be any CT anymore.[/quote'] there will be,CT has replaced Test Championship as per new proposal
adi B Posted January 29, 2014 Posted January 29, 2014 Dhoni generally goes to extremes. 2007 wordl T20 win 2009' date=' 2010 first round elimination, CB series win next time CB series first round elimination, Asia cup win then elimination in early rounds, Now world cup 2011 win,, we can expect a thrashing in 2015 world cup. Thank god there won't be any CT anymore.[/quote'] we were knocked out early in 2009 CT and 2012 WT20 as well..by the way CT is likely to comeback and test championship will be abolished according to the new proposals..
vvvslaxman Posted January 29, 2014 Posted January 29, 2014 Post Yuvraj , Dhoni will really struggle . Batting was covering up lot of cracks earlier. Now batting is also iffy. So Dhoni is forced to depend on bowling to win matches. Not just spinners but pacers a scenario which is going to test Dhoni big time. "How to win matches with pacers alone" - Well we are already seeing it. 358/4 280/6 301/8 292/7 271/7 314 280/3 Lowest is 271/7
Lord Posted January 29, 2014 Posted January 29, 2014 Post Yuvraj , Dhoni will really struggle . Batting was covering up lot of cracks earlier. Now batting is also iffy. So Dhoni is forced to depend on bowling to win matches. Not just spinners but pacers a scenario which is going to test Dhoni big time. "How to win matches with pacers alone" - Well we are already seeing it. 358/4 280/6 301/8 292/7 271/7 314 280/3 Lowest is 271/7 thats because it was a 42 over game:cantstop:
jalebi_bhai Posted January 29, 2014 Posted January 29, 2014 He has reached his sell by date.......horrible man-management......
GolGappe Posted January 29, 2014 Posted January 29, 2014 Dhoni ,the captain, has deteriorated in the last two years. The team is not looking like a gelled unit for the last 3 months or so. This team was known for its ability to fight back hard. Now, suddenly, they are giving in easily. The team spirit is missing in this series .... whatever the reason. Public criticism of very young bowlers won't help this either. They should have been criticized privately. Also, guided and motivated. Excellent post!
cowboysfan Posted January 29, 2014 Posted January 29, 2014 New captain will have fresh ideas, fresh team selection, reduce number of CSK players, could get a genuine spinner in the team... On field could go on backing his bowlers and not ditch in open public... However, I believe, at this stage, Dhoni should be leading the team in WC2015.... He should get the blame of losing the WC...he was entrusted to build the team for WC... this is all talk .i would like to hear these new ideas,no captain is going to magically change the fortunes of the team when any bowler we select cannot bowl a single over without bowling atleast one bad ball,you just cannot set fields to our bowlers when they are so wayward.
Varun_Ind Posted January 29, 2014 Posted January 29, 2014 I too agree that he should not have said that, specially when he never has anything bad to say about IS and keeps backing him at every given opportunity. But in a way it's good too, hope it does knock some sense in the brains of the bowlers, selectors bit more importantly the bowling coach, who I think is completely useless.
rkt.india Posted January 30, 2014 Posted January 30, 2014 Funny he never criticised Ishant like this. And now probably he will bring him back after calling other bowlers brainless in public. The realist story will gain weight.:giggle: Ishant is smart bowler. He can improvise. These bowlers cannot as Dhoni said. :agree:
rkt.india Posted January 30, 2014 Posted January 30, 2014 Dhoni should have done this long long back when India was conceding regularly 300 plus totals. He is okay when pitch offers a bit of spin or spinners come in to play like Jadeja in CT. When spinners don't take wickets he is at wits end. Pacers provided initial breakthroughs in CT and this is the ODI game today, pick wickets regularly, otherwise, you are doomed. Pacers picked 2 early wickets in first 10 overs in 2 matches out of 4 but spinners could never come into play to take wickets. Our main spinner is averaging 190.
cowboysfan Posted January 30, 2014 Posted January 30, 2014 Pacers provided initial breakthroughs in CT and this is the ODI game today' date=' pick wickets regularly, otherwise, you are doomed. Pacers picked 2 early wickets in first 10 overs in 2 matches out of 4 but spinners could never come into play to take wickets. Our main spinner is averaging 190.[/quote'] Stop calling him a spinner, he is a glorified floater of the ball.
div Posted January 30, 2014 Posted January 30, 2014 Pacers provided initial breakthroughs in CT and this is the ODI game today' date= pick wickets regularly, otherwise, you are doomed. Pacers picked 2 early wickets in first 10 overs in 2 matches out of 4 but spinners could never come into play to take wickets. Our main spinner is averaging 190. Don't u remember Sir Jadeja's 5 wicket haul against WI?..u r saying Indian pace bowlers are crap,and can't win a match without some help from spinners.