sandeep Posted August 4, 2016 Posted August 4, 2016 (edited) Galle 2015, and now Sabina 2016. Even if they are controlling the game, take the attack to them and they are liable to flinch. Gaaan mein dum nahi saalon mein. Yes, I'm pissed about the draw. Edited August 4, 2016 by sandeep Rasgulla, maniac and tweaker 3
G_B_ Posted August 4, 2016 Posted August 4, 2016 Unfair post. We came back solidly in SL and we are still leading in the windies. Looking at forecasts ahead in the series the remaining two tests are bound to be rain affected as well. mishra and tweaker 2
Bigg Brother Posted August 4, 2016 Posted August 4, 2016 Galle 2015, and now Sabina 2016. Even if they are controlling the game, take the attack to them and they are liable to flinch. Gaaan mein dum nahi saalon mein. Yes, I'm pissed about the draw. We are mediocre test side and there isnt anything to deny this fact.We have been through this already.It is not new..But those 2 hurt us much more because we were on the verge of winning and according to many of us 'The LQ wi side" wont do anything so we should have declared with 200 runs lead. J'burg against SA, 1st test against England where we could have taken lead of 100 runs instead of that conceded 100 runs lead. tweaker 1
CoverDrive Posted August 4, 2016 Posted August 4, 2016 there is some merit to this. Start attacking the bowlers and then the lines and everything goes off plan. smart batsman can then take time to settle down and bowling gets defensive. do our bowlers have the talent to outsmart the batsman tweaker 1
tweaker Posted August 4, 2016 Posted August 4, 2016 Really pissed off with this draw,never thought our bowler will not be able to take wickets of rookie WI batsman .Windies were 4 down & it was pathetic effort of bowlers to take only 2 wickets of batsman who are new to test cricket.
zen Posted August 4, 2016 Posted August 4, 2016 welcome to the world of "test" cricket In 2007, I was pissed off that Ind did not go for the win in Eng and ended up 1-0 vs 2-0. I was like Ind does not even win too many tests overseas so why let go of even a single opportunity .... In 2016, I am happy that Ind is still ahead and that a draw in a test if you are ahead in the series = still being ahead Bigg Brother, tweaker and Mosher 3
Ankit_sharma03 Posted August 4, 2016 Posted August 4, 2016 We dont have 11 good players, we are a team of basically 5-6 players- Vijay, kohli, rahane, ashwin , shami , Kl Rahul. There isnt to much exp there as well, such high expectation of winning all time is also not right. We will only get better when we get more brilliant players
sandeep Posted August 4, 2016 Author Posted August 4, 2016 4 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: We dont have 11 good players, we are a team of basically 5-6 players- Vijay, kohli, rahane, ashwin , shami , Kl Rahul. There isnt to much exp there as well, such high expectation of winning all time is also not right. We will only get better when we get more brilliant players Its not about expecting to win every time. But good teams would win 999 out of 1000 times defending 304 at 48/4 with 90+ overs left in the game. And the 1000th time would be a miracle earned by quality players playing brilliantly. With all due respect to Windies, they earned their draw, but they were far from brilliant. India squandered an easy opportunity to win an overseas test with - let's call it ineptitude, inability. And that's being kind.
Adi_91 Posted August 4, 2016 Posted August 4, 2016 People learn from their mistakes, but our bowlers hardly ever learn. First in NZ in 2014, then against SL last year and WI in 2016. Har ek saal, yeh ek riwaaz hai.
Ankit_sharma03 Posted August 4, 2016 Posted August 4, 2016 12 minutes ago, sandeep said: Its not about expecting to win every time. But good teams would win 999 out of 1000 times defending 304 at 48/4 with 90+ overs left in the game. And the 1000th time would be a miracle earned by quality players playing brilliantly. With all due respect to Windies, they earned their draw, but they were far from brilliant. India squandered an easy opportunity to win an overseas test with - let's call it ineptitude, inability. And that's being kind. Thats what i meant we are a decent team but a team with 6 people means a team has gaping holes and loosing 1-2 session due to it can make u loose games. Thats what happened in all test. Those 6 player wnt come good all time and rest are not ready to take initiative
sandeep Posted August 4, 2016 Author Posted August 4, 2016 7 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: Thats what i meant we are a decent team but a team with 6 people means a team has gaping holes and loosing 1-2 session due to it can make u loose games. Thats what happened in all test. Those 6 player wnt come good all time and rest are not ready to take initiative Sorry. You don't need all-stars at every spot in the XI to win test matches. Especially from 48/4 defending 300. Even the greatest teams had average players. Its how you execute. Worse players could and would have found a way to get through the inexperienced West Indies. 5 bowlers failed. The Captain failed. Batsmen not being able to score at more than 2.5 RPO for 2 days was a smallish failure. Team should take a hard look in the mirror and decide what they want to be. This loss should burn them a lot more than its burning their fans. Saying that its ok, we are mediocre, at least they drew the game, we are still in the series, is how you stay mediocre. I will be watching closely how this team plays in the 3rd test. I want them to blow the Windies away.
Ankit_sharma03 Posted August 4, 2016 Posted August 4, 2016 1 minute ago, sandeep said: Sorry. You don't need all-stars at every spot in the XI to win test matches. Especially from 48/4 defending 300. Even the greatest teams had average players. Its how you execute. Worse players could and would have found a way to get through the inexperienced West Indies. 5 bowlers failed. The Captain failed. Batsmen not being able to score at more than 2.5 RPO for 2 days was a smallish failure. Team should take a hard look in the mirror and decide what they want to be. This loss should burn them a lot more than its burning their fans. Saying that its ok, we are mediocre, at least they drew the game, we are still in the series, is how you stay mediocre. I will be watching closely how this team plays in the 3rd test. I want them to blow the Windies away. Not giving excuse but m not having too much expectations as well For me we failed with our mindset,started with batting ended with bowling Pujara wasted bowls - Kahin collapse na ho jaye Ishant, Umesh Wasted bowls- Kahin run Na padd jaye For me this is where u fail in the mind- when of Fear of failure comes in before thinking about win u have lost the game their itself. International game is about mindset. I understand the pitch was flat but Ishant n Umesh didnt ask many question with ball as well specially when it was reversing as well. Captaincy was also very ordinary but then he is young captain he ll learn , if not after sometime he ll get the deserving bashing. But no excuse for of exp Ishant sharma
maniac Posted August 4, 2016 Posted August 4, 2016 why can't we give credit to WI where due...infact 2 of these players Blackwood and Holder who were one of the reasons for WI drawing the test where also the reason for WI drawing the series vs England and I am pretty sure people will agree that England has a better test team than ours mishra and zen 2
maniac Posted August 4, 2016 Posted August 4, 2016 10 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: Not giving excuse but m not having too much expectations as well For me we failed with our mindset,started with batting ended with bowling Pujara wasted bowls - Kahin collapse na ho jaye Ishant, Umesh Wasted bowls- Kahin run Na padd jaye For me this is where u fail in the mind- when of Fear of failure comes in before thinking about win u have lost the game their itself. International game is about mindset. I understand the pitch was flat but Ishant n Umesh didnt ask many question with ball as well specially when it was reversing as well. Captaincy was also very ordinary but then he is young captain he ll learn , if not after sometime he ll get the deserving bashing. But no excuse for of exp Ishant sharma No it wasn't....it was pretty decent.....also Mishra bowled too many pies and Ashwin had an off day after a while. It was just WI's approach paid off........I am glad in a way that playing attacking cricket worked for them...they will now play into our hands in atleast 1 of the upcoming tests
mishra Posted August 4, 2016 Posted August 4, 2016 25 minutes ago, maniac said: why can't we give credit to WI where due...infact 2 of these players Blackwood and Holder who were one of the reasons for WI drawing the test where also the reason for WI drawing the series vs England and I am pretty sure people will agree that England has a better test team than ours Agree. We are ignoring the fact that our tailenders with Rahane added nearly 180 runs, that too trying to accelerate the run rate. This pitch was phatta. Credit to India bowlers for making a match out of it and Windies ground staff for creating home advantage
mishra Posted August 4, 2016 Posted August 4, 2016 (edited) 46 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: Not giving excuse but m not having too much expectations as well For me we failed with our mindset,started with batting ended with bowling Pujara wasted bowls - Kahin collapse na ho jaye Ishant, Umesh Wasted bowls- Kahin run Na padd jaye For me this is where u fail in the mind- when of Fear of failure comes in before thinking about win u have lost the game their itself. International game is about mindset. I understand the pitch was flat but Ishant n Umesh didnt ask many question with ball as well specially when it was reversing as well. Captaincy was also very ordinary but then he is young captain he ll learn , if not after sometime he ll get the deserving bashing. But no excuse for of exp Ishant sharma Sorry, It may sound rude but Did you really watch the game on day 5 morning? Umesh bowled beautifully. Infact better than Shami. Dont put him in category of Ishant. On the start of the day 5, Positive approach from Blackwood and Chase made Kohli to make change Shami and Ishant. IMO, One mistake he did was changed the end of Umesh in the middle of spell when I though he will get a wicket nxt over. Edited August 4, 2016 by mishra
Ankit_sharma03 Posted August 4, 2016 Posted August 4, 2016 45 minutes ago, mishra said: Sorry, It may sound rude but Did you really watch the game on day 5 morning? Umesh bowled beautifully. Infact better than Shami. Dont put him in category of Ishant. On the start of the day 5, Positive approach from Blackwood and Chase made Kohli to make change Shami and Ishant. IMO, One mistake he did was changed the end of Umesh in the middle of spell when I though he will get a wicket nxt over. May be u didnt read what i wrote - "Ishant n Umesh didnt ask many question with ball as well specially when it was reversing as well." Now Umesh did bowl decent in morning, but its a test where one decent spell in not enough. Even ishant bowled some Jaffa's but some in whole day is not enough. As far spinner goes it gets a likl tough when pitches become slow for them as playing turn becomes easy. But that where bowlers with speed have to take over. When the ball was reversing Umesh bolwed close to the stump n the ball kept dragging on leg stump coz no problem. My issue with him was he didnt go wide of the crease and slinged his arm to bowl those balls which have been effective for him in last 2 test. I have never put them in same category as i knw the diff btw the number of test both have played. M still keen on playing umesh but Not ishant. Mosher 1
mishra Posted August 4, 2016 Posted August 4, 2016 Yes, didnt watch the second spell.wont comment on that. Third spell was for spinners. Dig the match thread and u will see that people started to believe that Windies are a pushiver after day 4. What you got to realise is its windies home series. 1 wicket for around 350 runs in less than 90 overs agains second half of batting lineup means pitch was definitely dead. We are unnecessary picking needle in haystack
sandeep Posted August 4, 2016 Author Posted August 4, 2016 7 minutes ago, mishra said: Yes, didnt watch the second spell.wont comment on that. Third spell was for spinners. Dig the match thread and u will see that people started to believe that Windies are a pushiver after day 4. What you got to realise is its windies home series. 1 wicket for around 350 runs in less than 90 overs agains second half of batting lineup means pitch was definitely dead. We are unnecessary picking needle in haystack Home series or not. You cannot let a team escape from 48/4 with 2 debutants and a bowling allrounder left. Only bad teams do that, good teams just do not. sscomp32, Adi_91 and beautifulgame 3
Lala Posted August 4, 2016 Posted August 4, 2016 there is nothing wrong with players or attacking tactics. Its all about the pitch getting worse for bowlers in day 5. Misbah 1