Pant for Saha?

Texan

Keeper for Tests  

36 members have voted

1. 1. Who should be our keeper for the remaining Tests vs England?

I am a big backer of Pant....see big things for this kid...he will make it big time but still Saha needs to play this entire series. It will be injustice if Saha is dropped after 1 bad game,His keeping skills have been world class in the last few series,so let us forgive him for it.

Pant is ready for T20 and even ODI's,get him in.

5 hours ago, sandeep said:

There's a kid who keeps wicket for Dadar colony.  Best batting prospect since SRT.  Just scored 4 100s back to back.  I think he should be in the poll.  

Ahh. Surely you don't seem to know the difference between a First Class triple hundred along with being the highest scorer in our premier domestic championship  season and hundreds in club cricket. I guess you also missed the part where Wasim Akram showed up for trials and was picked for a Test team with zero FC experience and only played a practice match against the visitors before getting into the Test playing 11. You might have also missed that David Warner actually played international cricket before playing FC cricket. 

11 hours ago, Texan said:

Ahh. Surely you don't seem to know the difference between a First Class triple hundred along with being the highest scorer in our premier domestic championship  season and hundreds in club cricket. I guess you also missed the part where Wasim Akram showed up for trials and was picked for a Test team with zero FC experience and only played a practice match against the visitors before getting into the Test playing 11. You might have also missed that David Warner actually played international cricket before playing FC cricket. 

How many "first class triple hundred" does Sir Ravindra Jadeja have?  He should have been batting at #4 for India then all along.  Especially at his home ground.  By the way, if it wasn't clear already - I was being sarcastic - there is no such player in club cricket.

Surely you know the difference between fanboys clamoring and pant-gasming (tm)  over the latest flavor of the season, while the likes of Warner and Waseem were inducted after being evaluated by people with legitimate cricket credentials - Imran etc.  Dravid was u-19 coach during u-19 world cup right?  Why didn't he push for Pant's inclusion in the "A" tour to Australia if Pant is such a no-brainer guaranteed prospect?  I will rather believe Dravid over you.  

14 minutes ago, sandeep said:

How many "first class triple hundred" does Sir Ravindra Jadeja have?  He should have been batting at #4 for India then all along.  Especially at his home ground.  By the way, if it wasn't clear already - I was being sarcastic - there is no such player in club cricket.

Surely you know the difference between fanboys clamoring and pant-gasming (tm)  over the latest flavor of the season, while the likes of Warner and Waseem were inducted after being evaluated by people with legitimate cricket credentials - Imran etc.  Dravid was u-19 coach during u-19 world cup right?  Why didn't he push for Pant's inclusion in the "A" tour to Australia if Pant is such a no-brainer guaranteed prospect?  I will rather believe Dravid over you.  

Who gave you the impression that Dravid did not push for or does not think highly of Pant? Provide some links to augment your argument. If Jadeja smashed some triples and is a royal failure on the international scene, should you then stop trusting all domestic performances? What is the point of the Ranji Trophy then? 

Also, clearly you haven't encountered someone who responds to sarcasm with a straight face. 

19 minutes ago, Texan said:

Who gave you the impression that Dravid did not push for or does not think highly of Pant? Provide some links to augment your argument. If Jadeja smashed some triples and is a royal failure on the international scene, should you then stop trusting all domestic performances? What is the point of the Ranji Trophy then? 

Also, clearly you haven't encountered someone who responds to sarcasm with a straight face. 

I will "augment" my argument using one of the many common sense posts on this thread.

Has anyone of us here seen Pant keeping in  FC matches  ?

Has anyone of us here seen Pant bat in a FC match  ?

Unless they have gone to the ground for Ranji matches, it is not possible as they were not televised.

How are some people deciding that Pant is a keeper good enough for test matches without ever seeing him ?

3 minutes ago, sandeep said:

I will "augment" my argument using one of the many common sense posts on this thread.

Dravid found Pant good enough to open in crucial IPL games...Now don't brush of IPL as circus or Tamasha because if that was the case you would be accusing Rahul Dravid of being unprofessional and not dedicated to his work as he probably gets paid the same if not more for a 3 week coaching stint with IPL as he does for the A team.

And clearly we all saw how good Pant was taking on some international quality bowlers without fear.

Also the team was captained by Zaheer who is another legend who has Indian team's interest in mind and seasoned enough to recognize talent.

Edited by maniac
8 minutes ago, maniac said:

Dravid found Pant good enough to open in crucial IPL games...Now don't brush of IPL as circus or Tamasha because if that was the case you would be accusing Rahul Dravid of being unprofessional and not dedicated to his work as he probably gets paid the same if not more for a 3 week coaching stint with IPL as he does for the A team.

And clearly we all saw how good Pant was taking on some international quality bowlers without fear.

Also the team was captained by Zaheer who is another legend who has Indian team's interest in mind and seasoned enough to recognize talent.

Do you not comprehend the difference between playing as a keeper-batsman in T20 league cricket and 'keeping for an international test match?  By that yardstick, another name in your "list" - Rayudu should keep for India.  He has done it so often for Mumbai Indians.  

Banjo this is not video game fantasy cricket - just take any fashionable 'name' and stick him in the starting XI.  

18 minutes ago, sandeep said:

Do you not comprehend the difference between playing as a keeper-batsman in T20 league cricket and 'keeping for an international test match?  By that yardstick, another name in your "list" - Rayudu should keep for India.  He has done it so often for Mumbai Indians.  

Banjo this is not video game fantasy cricket - just take any fashionable 'name' and stick him in the starting XI.  

Who is advocating Pant to start keeping in test matches? I have said he is ready for T20 and ODI but obviously that is in the conflict of your's and Dhoni's interests.....Give him a taste of international cricket and plan to induct him into tests in the next 2 years.

19 is peak for any international athlete to start developing...rather the one's with immense potential get a shot now than wait till he is 24 or 25.

If you make the effort of reading a few posts before,I have said clearly Saha needs to be backed for now.

It isn't easy to keep to Jadeja and Ashwin on turning wickets. Saha is an excellent wicket keeper and seems to have improve his batting too, no point in dropping him right now. Pant is only 19 right now, give him some time to flourish plus it looks like there's an opener spot available in ODI, try him in that.

Just now, Unleashed said:

It isn't easy to keep to Jadeja and Ashwin on turning wickets. Saha is an excellent wicket keeper and seems to have improve his batting too, no point in dropping him right now. Pant is only 19 right now, give him some time to flourish plus it looks like there's an opener spot available in ODI, try him in that.

We need to start him out at 6 as we have dearth of power hitters and slowly promote him to opening....pretty much every young rookie who has been successful for India started out in the lower middle order before blossoming into a top line batsman. 

I think selectors and Kumble co. will want Rishabh Pant to play A-tours and after 12-18 months, they will consider him for ODIs if consistency shown. And Test cricket after 2-3 years if consistent. Consistency against quality bowling attack will be key (and keeping should improve over time).

SS Iyer was supposed to be the great batsman ready for ODIs and Tests. But this year he has been very inconsistent. Needs to show consistency for a couple of seasons.

Edited by fineleg

Pant should not be anywhere near the test team as of now.

First off, Pant needs to be tried as just a batsman in LOIs batting at No. 5....to aclimatize him with international pace.

He should not keep in LOIs as of now.

As the Ranji season will be over by the time the next LOI  series starts, Pant won't  be missing any FC and that is a plus.

He should also play as many A team games  as possible as batsman-keeper. .

Edited by express bowling
7 minutes ago, fineleg said:

I think selectors and Kumble co. will want Rishabh Pant to play A-tours and after 12-18 months, they will consider him for ODIs if consistency shown. And Test cricket after 2-3 years if consistent. Consistency against quality bowling attack will be key (and keeping should improve over time).

SS Iyer was supposed to be the great batsman ready for ODIs and Tests. But this year he has been very inconsistent. Needs to show consistency for a couple of seasons.

That is such a wrong way of thinking...If someone has hit a purple patch,you bring him in...period

Even the Best players have a bad patch...what is the point to give Pant of Iyer for the matter a chance when they are out of form even if let us say they have 2 great seasons.

11 minutes ago, maniac said:

Who is advocating Pant to start keeping in test matches? I have said he is ready for T20 and ODI but obviously that is in the conflict of your's and Dhoni's interests.....Give him a taste of international cricket and plan to induct him into tests in the next 2 years.

19 is peak for any international athlete to start developing...rather the one's with immense potential get a shot now than wait till he is 24 or 25.

If you make the effort of reading a few posts before,I have said clearly Saha needs to be backed for now.

What's the title and poll in this thread?  Why jump into a back and forth between me and the OP if you have a different point?  Begaani shaadi mein Maniac deewana.

4 minutes ago, maniac said:

That is such a wrong way of thinking...If someone has hit a purple patch,you bring him in...period

Even the Best players have a bad patch...what is the point to give Pant of Iyer for the matter a chance when they are out of form even if let us say they have 2 great seasons.

Because some development of the player has to happen outside of real live International matches. Rather than get them in under-cooked.

I am pro-fast-tracking too. But fast-tracking has to be done in a sensible way and reasonably.

Edited by fineleg
Just now, sandeep said:

What's the title and poll in this thread?  Why jump into a back and forth between me and the OP if you have a different point?  Begaani shaadi mein Maniac deewana.

I agree with OP that it is time for Pant to get a taste of competitive international cricket.

I disagree with OP that Pant needs to be brought in to the rigours of test cricket already.

I disagree with everyone who thinks Pant is

• Not ready for international cricket
  • should wait for Dhoni to stop enjoying his cricket(translates to power and money) before being brought in.
  • I disagree with the weird and bizarre reasoning that includes some weird measurement of how much more FC cricket he needs to play.
  • I disagree with everyone who says he is still raw and his performances are a flash in the pan