India to host Sri Lanka later in 2017, may hamper SA tour

It is all about protecting home season, India needs to have set home calendar like both England and Australia. October to January is India's traditional cricket season.

South Africa wanted its own Boxing Day tradition so they refused to play Australia during that period .Why can't India have their own set home season.Let them tour South Africa in January.Haroon Lorgat is a weasel trying to take advantage of weakened BCCI.

All emotional people who think India is afraid to tour SA are clueless.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

On 7/30/2017 at 0:50 AM, wanted_desi said:

What is the point of playing SriLanka, these guys can be beaten by India A team. I hate when we don't chase after things that challenge us.

Can be beaten by India Womens Team !!! i bet my life on it .....

Going to get raped again in India !!!!!:facepalm:

BCCI has belatedly realized that having a well-defined 'home season' as part of the cricket calendar is an important asset (read $$$$).   Plus, it doesn't help that CSA has been actively, vocally and enthusiastically participating in anti-BCCI moves at the ICC.   

Of course the babus are going to respond in the language of cricket boards.   Tours are anyway done on a 'bi-lateral' basis.   Its not as if the CSA has been scheduling 4 and 5 test series with our team in years past.    And btw, CSA's IPL "threat" was as empty as AB's motivation to play test cricket against SL.   

On 7/30/2017 at 8:22 AM, putrevus said:

It is all about protecting home season, India needs to have set home calendar like both England and Australia. October to January is India's traditional cricket season.

South Africa wanted its own Boxing Day tradition so they refused to play Australia during that period .Why can't India have their own set home season.Let them tour South Africa in January.Haroon Lorgat is a weasel trying to take advantage of weakened BCCI.

Spot on.

On 7/30/2017 at 5:52 PM, putrevus said:

Wrong. Our long home season is from September to March. Giving up 2 months for overseas tours in Southern hemisphere is normal. How does it matter if we host Lanka in Oct-Nov or Feb-March. We should be playing RSA and Aus in Dec-Jan, plain and simple. 

On 7/30/2017 at 6:46 AM, BeautifulGame said:

Srilanka toured us last in 2009.This is their  FTP scheduled tour .Just being preponed to fill in the vacant period which was scheduled to host Pakistan.

SA tour was never scheduled for Nov - Dec.South Africa ofcourse wanted us to pre pone our you to start in December so that they can host us during Boxing day which is a big revenue cash cow for them.

Obviously we don't give two hoots about their issues and want what makes sense for Indian cricket generation.

We already have lost huge revenue with ICC recently.Some now want us to give up our home seasons too now so that our revenues suffer even more.Ridiculous lol

We will tour SA most likely Jan - Feb on our schedule . Considering how they tried to bully us during IPL it's nice fck off response from BCCI too.

This. BCCI should be allowed to manage bilaterals as it suits

45 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Wrong. Our long home season is from September to March. Giving up 2 months for overseas tours in Southern hemisphere is normal. How does it matter if we host Lanka in Oct-Nov or Feb-March. We should be playing RSA and Aus in Dec-Jan, plain and simple. 

September still has a lot of rain in India.   And after Feb it starts getting pretty hot.  And don't forget IPL isn't too far away at that point.  Oct-Jan is the sweet spot for India's home calendar - and BCCI hasn't locked it down so far.  Whatever their motive, I'm glad that the home calendar is finally being given the priority it deserves.

2 minutes ago, sandeep said:

September still has a lot of rain in India.   And after Feb it starts getting pretty hot.  And don't forget IPL isn't too far away at that point.  Oct-Jan is the sweet spot for India's home calendar - and BCCI hasn't locked it down so far.  Whatever their motive, I'm glad that the home calendar is finally being given the priority it deserves.

Well there were floods in Chennai during Nov-Dec in Chennai last two years. So it actually varies a lot across the country, for eg. you can't play anything in Dharamsala between during the sweet spot you said due to the cold weather.

India is geographically very diverse when compared to those countries so it is difficult to have a common home calendar.

11 minutes ago, Forever Indian said:

Well there were floods in Chennai during Nov-Dec in Chennai last two years. So it actually varies a lot across the country, for eg. you can't play anything in Dharamsala between during the sweet spot you said due to the cold weather.

India is geographically very diverse when compared to those countries so it is difficult to have a common home calendar.

Its not just about the weather - its festive season from Oct to Jan - Navratri, Diwali, Pongal, Christmas etc.  If Australia can build a tradition around the boxing day test match at the MCG, why can't BCCI?  Just because they haven't done it so far doesn't mean they should give up the right to do so.  And it would be good for the home fans to be able to watch top international cricket during holidays.   

Bottomline is that the Cricket Calendar is the biggest asset that is up for grabs right now - and the competition is intensifying between all the different boards and their sposnored T20 leagues.   This is only going to get more crowded and hectic as time goes on.   I don't want international cricket to be FIFA-ized, where only the world cups are meaningful and the other fixtures are meaningless "friendlys".    And India needs to stake out its piece of the global calendar.    They should have done it 10 years ago.  But typical of the BCCI babus to be late to the administrative work.  But still, better late than never.

3 hours ago, Gollum said:

September is start of international season but main season is between October to January.Starts from Dassera to Pongal which are main holidays.

India never had any set season and it is high time they start having one.We should not play RSA in December period.It can wait till January.

If we have a 40 day window for SA series I would prefer 5 test series in stead of 3 tests, 3 ODIs, 3T20s. World no 1 vs World no 2 over 5 tests in seaming, bouncy pitches...bring it on. We have always competed well there but never won a series, so a great chance to make history, that too in a proper series and not a 2 test mini series. Desperately want to watch every single ball of our tour there. 

But no ODIs please. We suck in bilaterals there, they will steamroll us with record scores. Moreover both the choker teams aren't winning another ICC tournament for a long long time, so why waste time in the shorter formats? Besides who wants to see losers like Cool, Rahane and Yuvraj milk more $$$ and fame at the expense of Indian cricket team's future?

3 hours ago, Gollum said:

If we have a 40 day window for SA series I would prefer 5 test series in stead of 3 tests, 3 ODIs, 3T20s. World no 1 vs World no 2 over 5 tests in seaming, bouncy pitches...bring it on. We have always competed well there but never won a series, so a great chance to make history, that too in a proper series and not a 2 test mini series. Desperately want to watch every single ball of our tour there. 

But no ODIs please. We suck in bilaterals there, they will steamroll us with record scores. Moreover both the choker teams aren't winning another ICC tournament for a long long time, so why waste time in the shorter formats? Besides who wants to see losers like Cool, Rahane and Yuvraj milk more $$$ and fame at the expense of Indian cricket team's future?

The host nation decides the schedule - and CSA want to milk the Indian audience for maximum $$$.  

9 minutes ago, BeautifulGame said:

We should always a test match at Chennai during Pongal holidays .If not every year atleast alternate years.

With the general interest for tests in Chennai , the stretch of holidays due to Pongal , we could easilyake it our own iconic test like the boxing day test is for Aussies with a bit of Marketing.

My grandpa used to say he always attended the pongal test when the West Indies toured India. They hardly play any tests in Chennai these days.

11 minutes ago, BeautifulGame said:

We should always a test match at Chennai during Pongal holidays .If not every year atleast alternate years.

With the general interest for tests in Chennai , the stretch of holidays due to Pongal , we could easilyake it our own iconic test like the boxing day test is for Aussies with a bit of Marketing.

Pongal test in Chennai was always a tradition right from the 60s. Check all the home test series' on espncricinfo and you will always notice a test in Chennai during the Pongal period. Only in the last decade and a half have we moved on from this tradition. A test in Chennai is iconic, our 2nd greatest venue after Eden and a Pongal test even every 2 years will be awesome. But with so many new test venues and rotation policy I doubt we will see this happen. Also isn't there some case going on about a few of the stands in Chepauk, obviously that will have to be dealt with at the earliest. 

https://www.sportskeeda.com/cricket/india-s-tour-of-south-africa-to-get-underway-on-january-3

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/news/indias-tour-to-south-africa-will-include-four-tests/articleshow/59925868.cms

It seems we will tour SA in Jan-Mar. 4 tests, 5 ODIs and 3T20s with a New Year's test starting on Jan 3rd. 

Big point of worry is that the stupid Sri Lanka series will end on December 23rd and team will fly out to SA only on December 28th. Only 5 days between our landing there and the 1st test. We might not get even a single warm up match. Hope better sense prevails and we send our main players at least 2-3 weeks in advance. We can try out newbies in the Lanka series and send 10-11 main test players immediately after the test series against Lanka is over(hopefully we play the tests before LOIs). But knowing BCCI morons this may be too much to expect from them in which case we are starting the series 0-1 down.

Another development is the Australia home series in October has been reduced to 5 ODIs from 7 with a solitary T20. Kiwis will tour India after that to play 3 ODIs, 3 T20s. More Cool-Yuvi torture coming up guys.