Student Who Fought NEET Exam In Supreme Court Found Hanging

Stuge

On 02/09/2017 at 9:55 PM, Texan said:

There is no need to even mention the word "Dalit" here in this report. How is this student being Dalit even relevant in this case? In fact, the cut-off would have been much lower for her than if she was in the General category.

It is sad that she took such a drastic step. I think the family is largely to blame for this. Why did they make her feel that this is a question of life or death? They should have just asked her to move on. There are many ways to achieve success in life and academics just happens to be one of the streams.

However, what I hate about all the news reports is the emphasis on Dalit. Many Brahmin students also commit suicide after not getting admission to right educational institutes. Nobody reports it as "Brahmin" student committing suicide because reservations took away half the seats available. In TN, I hear it is even worse and not even half the seats are available to the General category. Ask these news agencies to report those stories too and portray a Brahmin as a victim. Alas! But that won't fit their narrative!

only reason this became a big news is that she is a dalit ..  sadly our media will keep palying dalit and minority card forevr

The Indian upper caste and class system continues to gnaw away at its less privileged citizens. Imposition of NEET on states is another example of dumping the federal structure in the trash as the privileged carve out more areas where they can subjugate the lower castes.

Vast majority of students in TN come from the state board, but the exam is conducted to favor the CBSE syllabus. This would have been a joke if it was not so cruel. How are these poor and downtrodden people supposed to compete with the elite studying in the CBSE system - they don't have the money or resources to afford the fees for CBSE schools, move to urban centers and enroll in coaching again paying Lakhs of rupees. There is absolutely no evidence to show CBSE is a better system of education than other boards. In fact, there are studies which show the contrary. 

States like TN and Kerala have an excellent health care and education system. The drop out rate in TN is negligible. The focus on HDI in these states has ensured that there was hardly any difference left in the cut-off for SC/ST/OBC versus general category students, such that so called 'merit' argument is even more rubbish than is usually the case when peddled around in the name of discriminating downtrodden sections of the society.

NEET and its adherence to the CBSE syllabus will ensure privileged upper caste students get preference in admission. They won't go to rural areas to work once they graduate, something which was instrumental in why these states have an excellent health care system. The student who got Anitha's seat is some privileged offspring of a government babu who will set up a private practice in a city or will move to the US. There is a good chance Anitha would have gone back to further strengthen the health care system of the state. It's a joke that upper caste, privileged hegemony of Delhi is running a system to 'improve' the health care of states which have HDI indicators much better than what they have been able to run. 

Moreover, these states pay far more in taxes to the center than they get back - so why should Delhi have the right to dictate to them what education criterion to set? So, Delhi doesn't pay for education, runs a far inferior health care and education system than these states and wants to dictate to them how to run it!? In an ideal world, sans upper caste hegemony and centralization, Delhi would ask TN how to run education and health care so that it can help other states improve their HDI from their current standards of sub-Saharan Africa. 

22 hours ago, The Outsider said:

The Indian upper caste and class system continues to gnaw away at its less privileged citizens. Imposition of NEET on states is another example of dumping the federal structure in the trash as the privileged carve out more areas where they can subjugate the lower castes.

Vast majority of students in TN come from the state board, but the exam is conducted to favor the CBSE syllabus. This would have been a joke if it was not so cruel. How are these poor and downtrodden people supposed to compete with the elite studying in the CBSE system - they don't have the money or resources to afford the fees for CBSE schools, move to urban centers and enroll in coaching again paying Lakhs of rupees. There is absolutely no evidence to show CBSE is a better system of education than other boards. In fact, there are studies which show the contrary. 

States like TN and Kerala have an excellent health care and education system. The drop out rate in TN is negligible. The focus on HDI in these states has ensured that there was hardly any difference left in the cut-off for SC/ST/OBC versus general category students, such that so called 'merit' argument is even more rubbish than is usually the case when peddled around in the name of discriminating downtrodden sections of the society.

NEET and its adherence to the CBSE syllabus will ensure privileged upper caste students get preference in admission. They won't go to rural areas to work once they graduate, something which was instrumental in why these states have an excellent health care system. The student who got Anitha's seat is some privileged offspring of a government babu who will set up a private practice in a city or will move to the US. There is a good chance Anitha would have gone back to further strengthen the health care system of the state. It's a joke that upper caste, privileged hegemony of Delhi is running a system to 'improve' the health care of states which have HDI indicators much better than what they have been able to run. 

Moreover, these states pay far more in taxes to the center than they get back - so why should Delhi have the right to dictate to them what education criterion to set? So, Delhi doesn't pay for education, runs a far inferior health care and education system than these states and wants to dictate to them how to run it!? In an ideal world, sans upper caste hegemony and centralization, Delhi would ask TN how to run education and health care so that it can help other states improve their HDI from their current standards of sub-Saharan Africa. 

That is seriously ironic statement from you and who told you NEET is based on CBSE. NEET is just another combined entrance exam like JEE, CAT, etc. Are they based on CBSE? Did anyone protest against them?

Actually, there shouldn't be any reservation or preference when it comes to MBBS. 

Edited by rkt.india

51 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

That is seriously ironic statement from you and who told you NEET is based on CBSE. NEET is just another combined entrance exam like JEE, CAT, etc. Are they based on CBSE? Did anyone protest against them?

Actually, there shouldn't be any reservation or preference when it comes to MBBS. 

Why? Dalit doctors are generally doing well. Problem is with Indian mentality who will not visit a MBBS doctor but will look for best doctor or atleast a MD even if they are suffering from simple constipation, flu or cold.

8 hours ago, rkt.india said:

There is nothing 'ironic' about it. I guess you meant contradictory, but they are not contradictory either. TN has one of the, of not the, best education and HC system in India which has allowed them to reach a level of HDI comparable to western countries on many parameters. 

And yes, there is proof that NEET favors CBSE set up. Search online and if you can't find evidence, I'll help you.

JEE and CAT also favor the privileged disproportionately, but they've become too ingrained anyway. We can have a separate discussion on them. This is about destroying a perfectly well working, rather model in Indian context, health care and education system so that privileged upper castes can get through.

5 hours ago, The Outsider said:

There is nothing 'ironic' about it. I guess you meant contradictory, but they are not contradictory either. TN has one of the, of not the, best education and HC system in India which has allowed them to reach a level of HDI comparable to western countries on many parameters. 

And yes, there is proof that NEET favors CBSE set up. Search online and if you can't find evidence, I'll help you.

JEE and CAT also favor the privileged disproportionately, but they've become too ingrained anyway. We can have a separate discussion on them. This is about destroying a perfectly well working, rather model in Indian context, health care and education system so that privileged upper castes can get through.

Have you appeared for NEET? The NEET was brought by a judgement of the supreme court in 2016,in which it overturned its own judgement of 2013. What perfectly working system?You mean where pvt colleges took lakhs and crores as donation to give rich priviledged people admission? How many pvt medical colleges have you visited in your life?Do you even know how admission was done?Have you seen people standing in line with suitcases of money to get their wards admitted?

13 hours ago, The Outsider said:

If TN education was so good, whether NEET survives should be of zero concern? Rather try to ask resident ICFers from TN what do they think about their education system.

On 9/6/2017 at 8:52 AM, rkt.india said:

If TN education was so good, whether NEET survives should be of zero concern? Rather try to ask resident ICFers from TN what do they think about their education system.

Though Einstein did not say it and it is attributed to him, it is suitable here 'If you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid'.

On 9/2/2017 at 8:09 AM, surajmal said:

Brahmin Conspiracy - not kidding, Tamilians are actually waving that argument. 

If the local sabziwallah gives me one onion less, it is a Brahmin conspiracy.  I'm actually glad they are raising this. The more insane they sound, the more common folks will be forced to reject them

Edited by FischerTal

15 hours ago, The Outsider said:

Though Einstein did not say it and it is attributed to him, it is suitable here 'If you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid'.

Einstein also said " Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I am sure about the universe."  Irrespective of how educated a human is, he can always have traces of stupidity inside him.

PS: Check the link beetle posted. Now after NEET there are more admissions from TN in medical colleges than before. Instead of asking govt to improve the standard of education, you are asking to lower the criteria for admissions.