Vilander Posted June 7, 2019 Posted June 7, 2019 15 hours ago, rtmohanlal said: stupid move from ICC . Dhoni projecting some military symbol need not offend any body because military basically is a matter of 'noble' purpose for any nation.On a normal note, it doesn't offend any nation.Some people here are seen claiming 'what if Afghan projects Taliban' etc etc ... Well, that is different because Taliban is a terrorist organisation.If some poorkies got intolerant & complained about it , then that only shows the evil association of Poorkistan with the enemies of the 'Indian military'. Simple. dude. Army action is on top in the border, they surely do not care or have taken any morale from this glove promotion from Dhoni. IA will keep killin the scum as and when they please. There is no need to bring Army into this at all. And theoretically what appears noble to us does not appear so to the enemy and what appears noble to them does not appear so to us ( they think terrorists are noble). AK007 1
Austin 3:!6 Posted June 7, 2019 Posted June 7, 2019 (edited) 9 minutes ago, Cricketics said: Couple of points need to be made clear and many posters have mentioned it but yet the there is some misunderstanding. - Dhoni isn't trying to show any Nationalistic feeling here. He is just trying to show off his liking for Indian Army, he has in the past and still does, worn and carried Camo cricket related equipments. Infact he has kept the wickets for India with camp gloves on many occasions. He just likes to show off, be it fashionable or liking for Indian military, whichever way you want to put it. He is in no way trying to promote any message here which many might assume. - ICC is well within their right to ask him to not wear the logo. This is because other players from around the globe might misuse the law and start using to their advantage in the future and it can become messy situation for ICC to handle and they could be in a situation where they are called BCCI's puppets. To avoid such scenario, we must honor the request. It does make sense. Dhoni may not have intentionally struck political controversy but now with BCCI intervening and hashtags trending, it is all political. As you rightly said, he should have removed it as soon as ICC asked and should have avoided any controversy in the middle of world cup. Dhoni being the senior most guy should have shielded the team from this undue controversy. It is all over British media as well and I am sure players are feeling the heat. Now the 16th June game against Pakistan will be 10 times more pressure for our boys because of this political angle/ army pride etc. which we could have avoided. Edited June 7, 2019 by Austin 3:!6 Switchblade 1
Cricketics Posted June 7, 2019 Posted June 7, 2019 4 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said: Dhoni may not have intentionally struck political controversy but now with BCCI intervening and hashtags trending, it is all political. As you rightly said, he should have removed it as soon as ICC asked and should have avoided any controversy in the middle of world cup. Dhoni being the senior most guy should have shielded the team from this undue controversy. It is all over British media as well and I am sure players are feeling the heat. Now the 16th June game against Pakistan will be 10 times more pressure for our boys because of this political angle/ army pride etc. which we could have avoided. Thats fine man, not a big deal. Its not like India Pak game would have been any less pressure. Yes, Dhoni can get it removed. But time to focus on Australia. Even Pakistan has to focus on Australia and not India as both of us play Australia before.
maniac Posted June 7, 2019 Posted June 7, 2019 12 minutes ago, Cricketics said: Couple of points need to be made clear and many posters have mentioned it but yet the there is some misunderstanding. - Dhoni isn't trying to show any Nationalistic feeling here. He is just trying to show off his liking for Indian Army, he has in the past and still does, worn and carried Camo cricket related equipments. Infact he has kept the wickets for India with camp gloves on many occasions. He just likes to show off, be it fashionable or liking for Indian military, whichever way you want to put it. He is in no way trying to promote any message here which many might assume. - ICC is well within their right to ask him to not wear the logo. This is because other players from around the globe might misuse the law and start using to their advantage in the future and it can become messy situation for ICC to handle and they could be in a situation where they are called BCCI's puppets. To avoid such scenario, we must honor the request. It does make sense. As I said that is not something to show off. He can wear anything he wants in his personal life. Also wearing equipment is not nationalistic anyways it is show off. As many mentioned here he can donate his fees to kids and wives of martyrs or there are plenty of other ways to show his appreciation. Your 2nd point pretty much spot on
maniac Posted June 7, 2019 Posted June 7, 2019 @Cricketics don’t know what you are trying to defend here? No one is saying Dhoni is evil or hurt the sentiments of India. He was ignorant and thought it was cool. This is what happens when you are handed titles like lt.col etc without having to work towards earning it. That is fine, he got carried away with emotions. However ICC has done a right thing to curb this before it opens a Pandora’s box
Cricketics Posted June 7, 2019 Posted June 7, 2019 6 minutes ago, maniac said: @Cricketics don’t know what you are trying to defend here? No one is saying Dhoni is evil or hurt the sentiments of India. He was ignorant and thought it was cool. This is what happens when you are handed titles like lt.col etc without having to work towards earning it. That is fine, he got carried away with emotions. However ICC has done a right thing to curb this before it opens a Pandora’s box Defending? Dude stop hyping the issue. lol. My main point is the 2nd point, and you agreed to it. You replied to my previous post and agreed with my 2nd point and now you are saying I am trying to defend. But looks like you want a new discussion topic. No one is defending Dhoni. All I said is that its fine for ICC to ask Dhoni to remove, as we their own situation down the line could become a problem if they don't take an action now as other players might misuse this too. The other point I said was that Dhoni isn't trying to prove anything to which you responded and gave a lecture that these kind of things shouldn't not be seen on cricket field etc. There is nothing to agree or disagree here. Initial point made about asking to remove is what is important and what you should focus. Everything else is opinion and we shouldn't worry. AK007 1
maniac Posted June 7, 2019 Posted June 7, 2019 49 minutes ago, ViruDilSeKhelo said: He's a pauji through and through. Balidaan. Standing up for those that were martyred and remembering them. He knows very well they would now be watching the cricket if not for the dastardly terror attack. Proud of you skip. BCCI better stand up for our golden boy. If you count standing in kharagpur station and helping poor families get berths especially lower berth for kids/old people. I agree. Without expecting anything in return of course
Kaptan Posted June 7, 2019 Posted June 7, 2019 Players all the time wear something similar in olympics. Especially when they are from armed forces. Dhoni did nothing wrong. AK007 and Vilander 2
Austin 3:!6 Posted June 7, 2019 Posted June 7, 2019 As per cricinfo: " The BCCI "won't escalate" the matter of MS Dhoni's gloves with the ICC. But they have also asked ICC for "flexibility". "
maniac Posted June 7, 2019 Posted June 7, 2019 This is clearly a gimmick. This is what infuriates me. His first thing should be to concentrate on the game on the field. His keeping sucks right now and his batting is mediocre at best. Good job to deflecting focus onto something else. The Dark Horse, Rasgulla, Stan AF and 1 other 3 1
Vilander Posted June 7, 2019 Posted June 7, 2019 4 hours ago, Sachinism said: The same idiots who say Dhoni should keep it on the gloves are the same people who'd throw a fit if Pakistani's were doing this. well their thought process is this. Imagine India winning with Dhoni stumping and dhonis insignia is visible - unlimited bragging rights. But if India lose does that mean Indian army lost in some way? lol this is a sport and has no significance for eminence or mission of Indian armed forces - who will do all they do for no limelight.
Cricketics Posted June 7, 2019 Posted June 7, 2019 6 minutes ago, maniac said: This is clearly a gimmick. This is what infuriates me. His first thing should be to concentrate on the game on the field. His keeping sucks right now and his batting is mediocre at best. Good job to deflecting focus onto something else. You are making wearing insignia a bigger issue than people who complained "padosis". I just hope I don't end up finding that you sent an e-mail to cricinfo and ICC about this logo issue? P. S - Logo is not needed, before you try to defend yourself and say I want Dhoni to use the logo lol. AK007 1
maniac Posted June 7, 2019 Posted June 7, 2019 2 minutes ago, Cricketics said: You are making wearing insignia a bigger issue than people who complained "padosis". I just hope I don't end up finding that you sent an e-mail to cricinfo and ICC about this logo issue? P. S - Logo is not needed, before you try to defend yourself and say I want Dhoni to use the logo lol. Dhoni’s hands were so fast behind the stumps i hardly noticed. Only difference is this time he was faster than the ball and missing easy takes. So no it wasn’t me Cricketics, Rasgulla and bahubali 1 1 1
maniac Posted June 7, 2019 Posted June 7, 2019 @Cricketics kya hua bhai. Bol confusion door karta hoon
Cricketics Posted June 7, 2019 Posted June 7, 2019 6 minutes ago, maniac said: @Cricketics kya hua bhai. Bol confusion door karta hoon Kya bolu. Its a fun drama going on. I am enjoying it. Things to ponder, will Dhoni be wearing Karthik's glove in the next game, assuming he has same logo on every game. Now Dhoni has excuses ready for next drop catches. Saying he wasn't used to the brand new gloves which just came from his sponsor after he was asked to not use the previous ones. Lot of questions :)
MechEng Posted June 7, 2019 Posted June 7, 2019 My reasons for not using the insignia are different. By using the army insignia in a civilian environment you are basically commercialising it to some extent. And any army or government symbols are not meant to be commercialised. nitinbwj and maniac 1 1
gattaca Posted June 7, 2019 Posted June 7, 2019 (edited) Moen Ali could wear something for palestine for but dhoni couldnt for his own country. The first case was religious more than anything. ] Edited June 7, 2019 by gattaca AK007 1
Khota Posted June 7, 2019 Posted June 7, 2019 This is a distraction. There is an important game on Sunday.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted June 7, 2019 Posted June 7, 2019 ICC has denied Dhoni permission to wear the Insignia.Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
nitinbwj Posted June 7, 2019 Posted June 7, 2019 4 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: ICC has denied Dhoni permission to wear the Insignia. Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk Good.Now get new gloves,forget the matter and move on.Really tough game coming up on Sunday.