rtmohanlal Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 Kohli has by far been the best opener of this decade. But one trend which is visible in the on going world cup after the unfortunate absence of Dhawan is that Kohli is not getting enough chances to play maximum balls as much as possible thru the Indian inns.Best batsman should get to play maximum balls thru an inns. With Dhawan in the team it ensured that way.As is evident in Dhawan's high str: of 94 & avg: of 44.85 , he would either get out so early ensuring Kohli's early arrival at the crease or would play a highly aggressive inns to make his stay at the crease worth counting for the cause of the team.But with a grafter like Rahul ,this is not happening. Rahul has 51.42 & 78.43 in this world cup which is so typical of a grafter. If it was Dhawan, his str : would have been in high 90s for sure with a low 40 avg:. From a team point of view Dhawan is more beneficial .I think a more aggressive slightly lesser consistant opener is required to compliment Kohli much better & there by the team .Thoughts.
gooner Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 I think Rohit has assumed the role of Dhawan, he is now playing with high strike rate. So I don't see what is the problem.
ViruDilSeKhelo Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 It hurts me that Kohli hasn't made a 100 yet but team comes first. The openers are doing a commendable job seeing off the new ball and converting too. This is crucial because our middle order is sketchy and our lower order is almost non existent. Kohli essentially coming in at over 25-30 shepherds the middle order which is perfect.
VT87 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 Brilliant point these selfish openers(although rohit has been impeccable throughout the tourney, his 140 against SA was one of the best inng by far and he is generally make up later in his inng) either get out in early when there is something in the pitch like AF,WI or sucked all balls on pattas ,which hindered kohli's game a lot ,either he has to consolidate or increase run rate at first ball..He has not played a single game freely.
Nonbeliever Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 India,england,and australia all are in semifinal because of great starts given by openers. Hope u get the point. raki05 1
raki05 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 (edited) 1 hour ago, VT87 said: Brilliant point these selfish openers(although rohit has been impeccable throughout the tourney, his 140 against SA was one of the best inng by far and he is generally make up later in his inng) either get out in early when there is something in the pitch like AF,WI or sucked all balls on pattas ,which hindered kohli's game a lot ,either he has to consolidate or increase run rate at first ball..He has not played a single game freely. you want to see kohli century or matches won.....we are top of the table inspite of glaring weakness and opening is least of them......BTW so deaperate for kohli century so dont watch wc watch any of the biletral concluded last year.... Kuch bhi thread nikal rahey hai log. Edited July 8, 2019 by beetle rkt.india, Norman, beetle and 1 other 2 2
VT87 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 (edited) 1 hour ago, raki05 said: , you want to see kohli century or matches won.....we are top of the table inspite of glaring weakness and opening is least of them......BTW so deaperate for kohli century so dont watch wc watch any of the biletral concluded last year.... Kuch bhi thread nikal rahey hai log. this is my opinion, you have yours don't show your class.next time don't quote me. Edited July 8, 2019 by beetle
raki05 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 (edited) 52 minutes ago, VT87 said: this is my opinion, you have yours don't show your class.next time don't quote me. Don't quote me my foot....itna sharmili hai to opinion mat diya kar aur aisa ghatiya opinion dega to bhugatne ko taiyar rah.... Edited July 8, 2019 by beetle Norman 1
mishra Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 Ahh man, Another thread with negativity. We should admire and appreciate Rahul who assumed the role so quickly. We must remember that right uptill start of tournament, he was not even in the team lineup. Its just that his IPL form that gave him space in team. Also instead of looking for excuses for Kohli, Kohli fans should blame Kohli for throwing away his wicket at edgbaston phattaaa vs England. Not only that, he is still not the same and match after match, he has thrown his wickets playing silly shots. Allthough, not his fault entirely but he has thrown his wicket. He is best bat and best chance India has got and we will need his hefty contribution if we are to win this cup. He must perform. Norman, raki05 and beetle 1 2
raki05 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 Just now, mishra said: Ahh man, Another thread with negativity. We should admire and appreciate Rahul who assumed the role so quickly. We must remember that right uptill start of tournament, he was not even in the team lineup. Its just that his IPL form that gave him space in team. Also instead of looking for excuses for Kohli, Kohli fans should blame Kohli for throwing away his wicket at edgbaston phattaaa vs England. Not only that, he is still not the same and match after match, he has thrown his wickets playing silly shots. Allthough, not his fault entirely but he has thrown his wicket. He is best bat and best chance India has got and we will need his hefty contribution if we are to win this cup. He must perform. Excellent post, I don't know what so fascinating about century some people just worship their lord and for them individual century is more than winning matches/ wc.
mishra Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 8 minutes ago, raki05 said: Excellent post, I don't know what so fascinating about century some people just worship their lord and for them individual century is more than winning matches/ wc. Look at English team . Lost match after match as soon they lost Jason Roy from lineup. Openers are key raki05 1
beetle Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 Team India should play to win...the way they are doing. Kohli's personal centuries don't matter. raki05, Khota and Adorable Fan 3
rtmohanlal Posted July 8, 2019 Author Posted July 8, 2019 1 hour ago, Nonbeliever said: India,england,and australia all are in semifinal because of great starts given by openers. Hope u get the point. Ideally every team should be looking for ways to put that extra run on the board.Not that the team has not got starts till this point in this world cup which is fine as of now.And batting first in lot of these matches too has helped beyond doubt. But the point is that the best batsman in the team couldn't perform in his normal performance level till now can't be neglected. For that to happen brisk starts rather than lengthy ones are required. Dhawan was the ideal one for that . Now team is forced to adjust. Hope this doesn't become a handicap in the crucial knock out matches. Atleast after the world cup, Dhawan & after him a more dashing opener should be the perfect choice for opener, not Rahul. Best batsman Kohli shouldn't get affected in the long run by any means.
raki05 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 50 minutes ago, beetle said: Team India should play to win...the way they are doing. Kohli's personal centuries don't matter. Nice edit work in beetle ji , conversation look so civic.... you can be a good editor . beetle 1
rtmohanlal Posted July 8, 2019 Author Posted July 8, 2019 2 hours ago, mishra said: Ahh man, Another thread with negativity. We should admire and appreciate Rahul who assumed the role so quickly. We must remember that right uptill start of tournament, he was not even in the team lineup. Its just that his IPL form that gave him space in team. Also instead of looking for excuses for Kohli, Kohli fans should blame Kohli for throwing away his wicket at edgbaston phattaaa vs England. Not only that, he is still not the same and match after match, he has thrown his wickets playing silly shots. Allthough, not his fault entirely but he has thrown his wicket. He is best bat and best chance India has got and we will need his hefty contribution if we are to win this cup. He must perform. this is not a negativity thread or that sort. Not blind Kohli fan either. It is just that Kohli(best batsman of the team)'s temperament is getting affected which is not good for the team cause. A pattern that has been evident in this world cup is that Kohli after getting to 60s getting out soon . I firmly believe that the thought of getting to that 100 is affecting his temperament.He gets to a dilemma whether to start blazing or playing a bit cautious to get to that 100 once he crossed 60.This conflict in his mind results in his dismissal which is very abnormal with Kohli which inturn is affecting the team cause.He is after all a human who even if deliberately would not be wishing for that 100 at the cost of team cause would be a bit bothered by the external pressure of having to maintain his reputation intact. Must not forget as to how that pressure of '100th 100 expectation ' affected Sachin a lot. It is here that what I am saying holds a lot of attention. Once that 100 mark is touched, Kohli would be a different batsman altogether blazing away huge knocks which in turn benefits the team cause a lot more.
mishra Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 5 minutes ago, rtmohanlal said: this is not a negativity thread or that sort. Not blind Kohli fan either. It is just that Kohli(best batsman of the team)'s temperament is getting affected which is not good for the team cause. A pattern that has been evident in this world cup is that Kohli after getting to 60s getting out soon . I firmly believe that the thought of getting to that 100 is affecting his temperament.He gets to a dilemma whether to start blazing or playing a bit cautious to get to that 100 once he crossed 60.This conflict in his mind results in his dismissal which is very abnormal with Kohli which inturn is affecting the team cause.He is after all a human who even if deliberately would not be wishing for that 100 at the cost of team cause would be a bit bothered by the external pressure of having to maintain his reputation intact. Must not forget as to how that pressure of '100th 100 expectation ' affected Sachin a lot. It is here that what I am saying holds a lot of attention. Once that 100 mark is touched, Kohli would be a different batsman altogether blazing away huge knocks which in turn benefits the team cause a lot more. Kohli is Gun player. He can bear the pressure. He is number 3 for a reason. he also knows, most often then not, Our bowlers have ability to restrict opposition around 300. So he is never under pressure to go any gear higher than his comfortable gear. However the SR of Rahul will improve longer he bats for Team India. More match time and batsmen start hitting sixes instead of 4s. However your point is very valid as even Rohit hasnt got a Daddy Hundred. I believe its mored down to them having faith in Pant and Pandya to accelearte the strike Rate even if them two(Rohit and Kohli) get out by 30th over. And in worse case they all expect MSD to score runs good enough which is beyond opposition on a certain day. Jason Roy is special. Not every team has a Jason Roy. So no worries. They are playing for team. Our batting order isnt dependednt on just top 3.
vvvslaxman Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 Kohli's 100s vs India topping the table. I know which one i will prefer. Why does it matter whether Kohli gets a 100 or not. Not like he didn't get a chance to get a 100. He got out to series of trundlers. beetle 1
Adorable Fan Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 Kohli himself will be happy with not scoring any more ODI centuries subject to India manages to win the WC. No place should be given to individual milestones in a team sport. If milestones happens on the way to glory, it should be a bonus. putrevus 1