What I miss is the ergonomic chair and the ambient lighting of the office...maybe I have got used to artificial lighting 

7 hours ago, maniac said:

Dude Cmon the entire world is on shutdown. No one seems to know how to handle this. World leaders are coming out and saying people to lock themselves up risking the economy, service sectors etc and we are supposed to think this is a hoax.

of course there is a lot of concern. Better safe than sorry but I do agree 100% on your statement about over stocking.

I buy a small bag of rice here it lasts us about 5-6 months , the other day I saw a family  buying 4 much bigger bags of rice :laugh: maybe they have a huge gathering. Even that wouldn’t justify it as gatherings are not advisable any wah

If the world is on shutdown and people don't know what to do, I suggest following steps that everybody should know by now since we have 24 hour news. That's it. We can;t do anything else at this point. One of them is not to panic buy which lots of dumbos seem to have missed the memo. A little bit of stocking is ok.

Some guy here thinks I said you all in US should starve to death. What he said will happen if people overstock like in the US. More random unkil whatsapp forward advice from him. "US supply chain is doing fine" he said :lol:. It is fine because of a well planned system they have in US. Dumb consumers can throw a wrench into the system as they did with toilet paper and supplies. He doesn't understand what is enough stocking for him is not enough for ordinary americans. Him and you will buy a small bag of rice.

some americans plan for 5 years, 10 years in advance as though they are in cold war situation. It takes only a small percentage of these people to put enough pressure on the supply chain for it to crack. He doesn't understand the fear in the US media and the movies that have created a hyper survival instinct in the average american's subconscious mind. How many times I have heard from my friends and ICF members about "it was just like a movie" describing the current situation. Of course the fear lives rent free in the average dude's head somewhere. In the case of americans, you can multiply the fear factor

I described how we faced the chennai floods with cooperation but he just came up with blah blah. Supply chain complications more blah blah from him. What can I say to this guy. His reaction to "Don't panic and over stock" is "You're being too optimistic like an unkil". But "US supply chain is fine" is not being too optimistic and very un-unkil like :winky:. he is a youngsta beauty always 18 like afridi

On 3/20/2020 at 1:31 PM, sandeep said:

Thanks Coffee bhai.  Also if you have a 'good' recipe for curd rice online, point me to it.  My wife is a 'recipe' cook, and she can't handle spicy, so her couple of attempts to make at home have been ok-ok.  

I have a recipe that works for me.

Ingredients: cooked rice, yogurt (whole milk one) plain, milk, sour cream. 

tadka - curry leaves, chana and urad dal, green chilies, ginger, jeera, mustard, methi seeds, cashew nuts,

cut in half green grapes seedless and pomegranate seeds, (optional raw onion if you like them) And coriander leaves

Make  Tadka with curry leaves, chana and urad dal, green chilies, ginger, jeera, mustard, methi seeds, cashew nuts,

In a large vessel, add cooked rice, yogurt, sour cream, milk. Add tadka, salt to taste and mix.  Garnish with grapes and/or pomegranate seeds, and coriander leaves . If you like add raw onions too.

mix well, add water to get a texture, enjoy with pickle if you prefer. No need for pickle , IMO, for this curd rice.

On 3/21/2020 at 12:21 AM, Real McCoy said:

blabity blah

Jhumru taliyya mein baith kar Chachaa seekh dete Amreeka ki.  

Classic Whatsapp Unkil - his source - "My fraands in USA sent me pictures on whatsapp".

1 hour ago, sandeep said:

Jhumru taliyya mein baith kar Chachaa seekh dete Amreeka ki.  

Classic Whatsapp Unkil - his source - "My fraands in USA sent me pictures on whatsapp".

whatever youngsta beauty. mr.forever 18

2 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

^Pretty much. Just replace saga with time-period/era

Yes, literally, but daur and guzara shows you endure the time and period, hence a saga. A lot of words are are not translatable across languages, great words from Ghalib (or if it’s  you)

I just got out to purchase some medicine - and outside most stores I see people standing in line the Indian way.

Which is:  so close to each other they could be playing hump hump right there in the streets.  Up each other's backsides so to speak. 

I thought, I have to stand like that for 10 minutes or more?

So I came back singing all the way - bhag DK Bose DK, Bose DK Bose DK, Bose DK Bose DK bhaag!

8 hours ago, NameGoesHere said:

I just got out to purchase some medicine - and outside most stores I see people standing in line the Indian way.

Which is:  so close to each other they could be playing hump hump right there in the streets.  Up each other's backsides so to speak. 

I thought, I have to stand like that for 10 minutes or more?

So I came back singing all the way - bhag DK Bose DK, Bose DK Bose DK, Bose DK Bose DK bhaag!

Ignorance and habits are not going to disappear overnight. Not everywhere.

Even in the US, there are people who are not taking the distancing seriously.  I had to lineup for a few minutes outside a grocery store (Trader Joe's).  Everybody was standing 6 ft apart, but there were a couple of teenagers behind me, they kept on creeping closer to me - probably because they were getting impatient - it took about 10 minutes of waiting.  They thought me wearing a mask was funny.  

In general, mask-wearing is rare here where I am, especially among the 'locals'.  I am starting to see most desis wearing masks now. Asians already were.  But the 'natives' are not wearing masks yet.  The evidence is *ing crystal clear - Japan, S. Korea, Taiwan - all these countries are able to stop the spread, because of good hygiene and universal adoption of wearing masks.  In the Czech republic, folks started sewing masks since they aren't easily available, it became a viral thing, and now everybody's wearing masks, and their infection rates are near zero.

Folks, please wear masks.  Forget about the odd looks, or the awkwardness.  It is guaranteed to save lives.  And likely someone you know.  Maybe even yours.

Went out today to buy some supplies after 3 days at home. Everyone was taking precaution with most of them including the store workers, buyers wearing face masks or atleast a make shift one from a kerchief. No police harassment. Saw the main road with barricades to halt the vehicles' speed with some traffic police in the intersection.

If you saw the news, there was a lawyer who was talking about police harassment citing some mistreatment. The police and traffic police were saying how they only cornered those who just roamed around and beat them lightly for them to go home usually youngsta beauties who were proving how daring they are. They said they didn't stop anyone who was out to purchase groceries or medicine. They also said they were talking over the loudspeakers about wearing facemasks and how important it is to follow this simple advice for everybody's health. They also said they stopped those who didn't wear masks and also gave them some if they had any. There will be more police activity after 4 PM.

Appreciate TN police. They are usually criticized but when they have to follow any order, they are one of the best in India :csk: . Those who serve are the ones at major risk. So we have to thank them along with the medical staff, medicine shops, restaurant staff, grocers, cleaning staff. Hope they get a bonus at the end of this. Also appreciate EPS and Modi for handling this serious epidemic especially considering how people usually don't obey laws that much here. Also the people are surprisingly well behaved in this dire times. We will come out of this with help of govt and people. But we will be back to what we do best :phehe: after this epidemic is done.

1 hour ago, sandeep said:

Ignorance and habits are not going to disappear overnight. Not everywhere.

Even in the US, there are people who are not taking the distancing seriously.  I had to lineup for a few minutes outside a grocery store (Trader Joe's).  Everybody was standing 6 ft apart, but there were a couple of teenagers behind me, they kept on creeping closer to me - probably because they were getting impatient - it took about 10 minutes of waiting.  They thought me wearing a mask was funny.  

In general, mask-wearing is rare here where I am, especially among the 'locals'.  I am starting to see most desis wearing masks now. Asians already were.  But the 'natives' are not wearing masks yet.  The evidence is *ing crystal clear - Japan, S. Korea, Taiwan - all these countries are able to stop the spread, because of good hygiene and universal adoption of wearing masks.  In the Czech republic, folks started sewing masks since they aren't easily available, it became a viral thing, and now everybody's wearing masks, and their infection rates are near zero.

Folks, please wear masks.  Forget about the odd looks, or the awkwardness.  It is guaranteed to save lives.  And likely someone you know.  Maybe even yours.

Good feedback. Especially the comment on masks is very informative (given that you have made a comparison)

However, being an inveterate chewtiya, the part that I focused was on 

Trader Joe's

And I remembered the cheeses, the wines and most of all, with a sudden raging thirst, this prince of beers

8802835398686.png

Oh Trader Joe's I'll remember you till I die.

My father in law's small business - a very successful play school - may now go under. 

At the very least they're going to have no students (he anticipates) for 4/6 months.  Who'll send their kids to a play school, maybe for months after something like this ends. 

There's zero revenue and a staff of 60 people, a salary bill in the lakhs.  They're planning on reducing salaries by 50 percent. 

The cleaners and guards are so much more vulnerable.  But the business  won't last for 2 more months with no revenues. And what my FIL has saved in his personal account will take him maybe 6 months, even assuming very frugal spends.

3 minutes ago, NameGoesHere said:

My father in law's small business - a very successful play school - may now go under. 

At the very least they're going to have no students (he anticipates) for 4/6 months.  Who'll send their kids to a play school, maybe for months after something like this ends. 

There's zero revenue and a staff of 60 people, a salary bill in the lakhs.  They're planning on reducing salaries by 50 percent. 

The cleaners and guards are so much more vulnerable.  But the business  won't last for 2 more months with no revenues. And what my FIL has saved in his personal account will take him maybe 6 months, even assuming very frugal spends.

My FIL's business is already shut down - he was doing small-scale BPO for desi-owned hotel company in London.  Hotels are shut down, so they terminated the contract.  

There are going to be massive waves and waves of disastrous economic losses from this. All avoidable if the Chinese government hadn't lied and played games of hiding the truth.  Just 2 weeks earlier communication, and this pandemic would not have spread all over the world, not like this.  None of this had to happen.  It was preventable, but for the selfishness and amorality of the CCP.