Highly overrated films n Tv shows acc to you

Ankit_sharma03

Sci-Fi/Horror/Thriller: 

• Blade Runner 2049. Lacks repeat value relatively speaking. The original Blade Runner wins over this one
  • The Exorcist. For a classic horror film, it generates a lot of lol worthy scenes
  • Parasite. Have it on 4K iTunes but have only watched it once. A good film but not as great as I perceived it would be. Only mentioning it because it recently won an Oscar. With lower expectations, a 2nd viewing may elevate it 

27 minutes ago, maniac said:

I haven’t seen 1917 and Seventh Seal in your list. Now I have to absolutely check them out based on what you think is overrated :giggle:

Start off with Shakespeare in Love, then Birdman. If you retain your sanity get back to me and I will suggest the next movie. 

24 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Have to disagree.

Harry Potter is a legit fantastic literature. Centuries from now, those books are what would be termed as classics for this era. Also many Potterisms would find its way into the English language.  Don't be such a muggle and compare HP and the the DC Universe. JK Rowling has created an entire world out there and improvised along the way. 

The DC Universe also has a lot of written history. But unlike HP, it is written by many different authors over different time periods and there is hardly much interaction between the various 'heroes'. That is only of the script writers in the last 5 odd years. Point being, the universe backstories are as vividly crafted as the HP characters. Ofcourse the DC Universe is a big money spinner and they get good actors and brilliant CGI teams. But the characters they essay are horribly superficial. And I'm sure you'd find more holes in a DC Universe narrative than you would on a tarpaulin sheet above a chai-samosa wala's thela at Marine Lines station on a rainy July night. 

Forrest Gump, is not even well written IMO.

Corrections DC universe is critically panned. I think apart from wonder woman which was genuinely well made rest all are not well accepted.

I was talking about the Marvel universe. In fact don’t you think it’s a big challenge to put together a tightly bound script based on characters that have evolved over so many years and fit that into a universe to tell a story? 

It’s easy to say oh what the hell is this power or this new planet etc but if you are thinking that while watching a movie you will never enjoy it.

See some Indian movies be it bollywood or regional defy logic. For example Andaz Apna Apna is such a bizarre and surreal premise but it is still adored and admired but most because you were ready to suspend your disbelief.

Difference between a well made surreal/ fantasy movie and a boring one is lack of entertainment or engaging performances more than the plot line itself. 

Marvel universe for the most part does this very well and they are very tightly made in terms of plot gaps etc. I am sure if you nitpick you may find 1-2 loopholes but over a period of 12 years they made a juggernaut and plugged gaps and told a great story. We all bought the emotional interaction between Ironman and his daughter, Captain America’s conclusion or Thor’s comedy because they built these characters over a period of time. Don’t you think it’s genius? Houseful series or Golmaal series also have been around for a while, do you invest the same way in those movies that you invest in Marvel movies emotionally? Yes Hollywood is greedy and the prequels and sub movies are an overkill but overall the Marvel movies  are great cinema.

HP  movies is an adaptation of a literary classic based on wizards and different worlds, can you imagine the effort in translating that to a movie that is engaging. There will obviously be something’s left out or added for cinematic liberties. I don’t know because  I haven’t read the HP books but from the potter heads in my family they think it’s pretty close to the books and for most fans seem to appreciate the adaptation.

Forrest Gump for that time 1994 was a unique concept and story with path breaking special effects and performances for that time. If you see a Viv Richards 50(30) balls you want have the same appreciation now because we see every tom dick and Harry play such things in the IPL generation but you need to appreciate for what it was at that time and clearly it stands the test of time because Bollywood is adapting it after 25+ years.

Edited by maniac

4 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Start off with Shakespeare in Love, then Birdman. If you retain your sanity get back to me and I will suggest the next movie. 

I agree on Birdman, started watching but turned it off 20-30 mins into it.

Shakespeare in Love no thanks, not a fan of such movies. I would rather watch my Con Air or Face Off DVD’s/ digital copy for the 100 + time.

24 minutes ago, zen said:

Sci-Fi/Horror/Thriller: 

• Blade Runner 2049. Lacks repeat value relatively speaking. The original Blade Runner wins over this one
  • The Exorcist. For a classic horror film, it generates a lot of lol worthy scenes
  • Parasite. Have it on 4K iTunes but have only watched it once. A good film but not as great as I perceived it would be. Only mentioning it because it recently won an Oscar. With lower expectations, a 2nd viewing may elevate it 

Not seen parasite yet, but add Total Recall latest remake to the list. Arnold made the original classic action movie, but this one is all a waste, a regular lame action movie with no thrills as in the original. Probably settling for PG13 money, it compromised on good adult action, violence, language  and other R related perks.

7 minutes ago, maniac said:

Shakespeare in Love no thanks, not a fan of such movies. I would rather watch my Con Air or Face Off DVD’s/ digital copy for the 100 + time.

I like the fact that you recognize that these are not the films/genres for you and therefore stay away from rating them as overrated 

5 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Not seen parasite yet, but add Total Recall latest remake to the list. Arnold made the original classic action movie, but this one is all a waste, a regular lame action movie with no thrills as in the original. Probably settling for PG13 money, it compromised on good adult action, violence, language  and other R related perks.

I am not sure if the Total Recall remake is rated high in the first place  .... it is rated at less than 7 on IMDB .... Seen more like a timepass film :dontknow:

5 hours ago, Gollum said:

Part II:

American Beauty - Not it. Classic outrageous script to disrupt audience By Samendes same guy making 1917

The Shining - OMG, you got to be kidding

Casablanca - classic romance rated top by all time critics, I will take their word for yours

French movies like Amelie, - don't remember much, but not sure dc

The Intouchables - What was wrong with Intouchables. V good odd movie about caring rich handicapped 

Argo - ok for once totally agree

The Shape of Water - ok agreed

Unbreakable - I call it the best of MNS, beats even sixth sense

Gran Torino - why? Very appealing story and direction from CEastwood was v good

The Big Lebowski - you should be b& 

Mad Max ****...Mel Gibson ones - first was v good, didn’t watch it later. Latest one has good action, doesn’t  the first in emotion

How to Train Your Dragon series don’t care for animation movies

Catch Me If You Can - sweet cute story, classic casting, one for the records

Zodiac....piece of garbage compared to Memories of Murder - no definitely not garbage, engages till the end with great suspense

The Revenant - The triumph of human sipirt  against all odds - human or nature. Brilliantly engaging.

127 Hours - hate the director for making slumdog, didn’t care to watch , so thanks

Shakespeare in Love - definitely yes overrated and ha hated it then for spoiling Oscars for many deserving movies

The Aviator - unfair, Scorsese deserves Oscar better than the departed

Mystic River - Again a miss for you, very well directed, engaging acting, script and direction from CE top notch

1917...agree with @Mariyam She calls Ready a modern classic too, agree with her too?

Let me edit your list 

21 minutes ago, maniac said:

Then you agree my list has some merit :two_thumbs_up:

Shakespeare in Love won 'Best Picture' at Oscars in 1998..ahead of Saving Private Ryan and Life is Beautiful. Gwyneth Paltrow won 'Best Actress' award ahead of Cate Blanchett (Elizabeth). Harvey Weinstein's magic !!!!!

I find David Fincher, QT, De Niro and Caprio overrated. Clooney is another one. So most of my choices will feature these directors/actors. 'Up in the Air' is an overrated movie as well...'Scott Pilgrim' is another one...now I am just typing random stuff...Ok :goodnight:

Films from genres that are relatively difficult to rate as overrated:

• Action/Adventure: Either there are bad films or good ones. Most will have masala elements so will have something for most. An example of an overrated film in this genre could be Diehard 2 and the later ones in the series relative to Diehard 1, which is a bonafide classic, but those films still do have their moments. These films are usually designed to entertain than win awards.   
  • Comedy: These can be B movies. Either you like them or not. Like action/adventure, these are primarily designed to entertain like Zoolander than to win awards. 
  • Film Noir: Again these can comprise of B movies. And will have something for someone to like esp those who follow the genre. These can be designed to win awards or for serious cinema. 
  • Superhero films (could be a mix of action/adventure/comedy): These are usually targeted towards kids and families unless it is the Dark Knight, which falls into a different type of superhero film. 
  • Tragedy/Gritty films: By design the films are supposed to make you feel bad and the situation for key characters may not even improve at times. For e.g. a Joker or a Taxi Driver, will start from a situation that is bad and will go towards worse. Also the Revenant. You may need to be in a certain type of mood to appreciate these. It may not be possible to go into these like you would to watch a Fast and Furious film for e.g.  

2 hours ago, maniac said:

Never seen memories but Zodiac is definitely one of the finest thrillers ever made on that genre with some amazing performances.

Funny that it has 3 Marvel actors (if you include Gyllenhall) pre-Marvel days giving outstanding performances.

Love David Fincher. The Game is one of the most underrated thrillers directed by him as well.

Fellow Fincher fan :beer:. Zodiac and The Social Network are my favourites from his filmography. Need to see The Game. You might enjoy this video on Fincher:

20 hours ago, Gollum said:

Will come in installments :phehe:, otherwise will take me half the day. Starting with some English movies off the top of my head.

Lost in Translation

Dark Knight Rises

Pulp Fiction

Reservoir Dogs WTF

Chariots of Fire

Mulholland Drive WTF

Fight Club WTF

Inception

Titanic

Casino

Taxi Driver

Raging Bull

Heat WTF

Wolf of Wall Street

One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest WTF

Se7en WTF

It's a Wonderful Life 

Scarface WTF

Toy Story series

Inside Out

Leon: The Professional

There Will Be Blood WTF

No Country for Old Men WTF

Lion King the 1994 one

The Departed WTF

I am trying to understand this list, especially for the ones I have marked. Is this an attempt to appear woke? Or did you like these movies but did not agree with the reverence they have? Or did you not like these at all, period? Or maybe you don’t like gangster movies (most of these are that genre)?

What is your list of favourite movies?

1 hour ago, Ranvir said:

The Shawshank Redemption

The Green Mile

The Godfather

Aliens

Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara

ZNMD is overrated I agree. Poor version of Dil Chahta Hai.

The Shawshank Redemption definitely not. One of the Greatest movies of all time. And not just when it comes to english movies. It didn't get enough praise, should've won the Oscar for Best Picture in 1994. Forrest Gump got it instead. 

The Godfather part 1 is definitely worth the rating. Part 2 is what is overrated, it's not as good as part 1, but definitely better than the mess that was part 3. 

3 hours ago, I6MTW said:

ZNMD is overrated I agree. Poor version of Dil Chahta Hai.

The Shawshank Redemption definitely not. One of the Greatest movies of all time. And not just when it comes to english movies. It didn't get enough praise, should've won the Oscar for Best Picture in 1994. Forrest Gump got it instead. 

The Godfather part 1 is definitely worth the rating. Part 2 is what is overrated, it's not as good as part 1, but definitely better than the mess that was part 3. 

I think Goodfellas is the best Italian American Mafia movie of all time. The Godfather is just too slow moving. A Bronx Tale is another great mafia movie.

Shawshank is good but I don't find it as good as people say it is.