Darren Sammy calls out the use of a "degrading" name for him during his time at Sunrisers Hyderabad.

I have seem him talking in favor of pakistan and psl recently alot since he knows his ipl career is almost over and his future is in PSL (as coach maybe). I am Pretty sure he knew what it meant back then. I guess there is some agenda behind this. What you guys think?

Edited by Nikola

It's not necessarily meant in a racist sense, they don't regard him as an inferior. Seen many such descriptions being used for nicknames, chotu/lambu types, sometimes based on eye color or hair length/curls.

10 minutes ago, Nikola said:

I have seem him talking in favor of pakistan and psl recently alot since he knows his ipl career is almost over and his future is in PSL (as coach maybe). I am Pretty sure he knew what it meant back then. I guess there is some agenda behind this. What you guys think?

I like the way you think.

1 minute ago, Clarke said:

It's not necessarily meant in a racist sense, they don't regard him as an inferior. Seen many such descriptions being used for nicknames, chotu/lambu types, sometimes based on eye color or hair length/curls.

Obviously, but you know how hypersensitive people from Afro heritage can be,,

I will never understand this but why do they get offended when people (other than whites) call them black ? I mean yes I know terms like "Ni**er" are used in a condescending manner in the West (by the whites) and I'm against it for historical reasons but what's wrong in calling them black ? 

Why the insecurity ? It's just the freaking colour of your skin. Why the negative connotation for being of the colour black?

3 minutes ago, Norman said:

I will never understand this but why do they get offended when people (other than whites) call them black ? I mean yes I know terms like "Ni**er" are used in a condescending manner in the West (by the whites) and I'm against it for historical reasons but what's wrong in calling them black ? 

Why the insecurity ? It's just the freaking colour of your skin. Why the negative connotation for being of the colour black?

And Sammy didn't get offended when he thought kalu is strong black man. Is calling gora also racist? Brown?

With this line, eventually calling anyone by their eternity will be an offense. Silly....

10 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Kaala, Kaalu Kallu although means black, but derogatory nonetheless.. sorry Sammy! Ishant, WTF man :facepalm:

Darren Sammy has been to India many times, so he must be knowing that institutionalized racism doesn't exist there. 

Kallu, chinki yeh sab chalta hai. Itna mentally strong hona chahiye to take some things as a joke, Indians don't get offended by bobs and vagene jokes as well. 

2 minutes ago, someone said:

And Sammy didn't get offended when he thought kalu is strong black man. Is calling gora also racist? Brown?

With this line, eventually calling anyone by their eternity will be an offense. Silly....

Black is ok, but not the N word. Kallu, kaala, kaalu is not appropriate, derogatory, may be not racist, but the tone is condescending. [saala] kallu [BC.]

2 minutes ago, MechEng said:

Darren Sammy has been to India many times, so he must be knowing that institutionalized racism doesn't exist there. 

Kallu, chinki yeh sab chalta hai. Itna mentally strong hona chahiye to take some things as a joke, Indians don't get offended by bobs and vagene jokes as well. 

Cmon man, stop defending. It is not funny to call some one blacky. It is derogatory. Connotations are key.

7 minutes ago, someone said:

So he knew already that kaalu means black ? 

Why the sudden outcry now ? 

1 minute ago, coffee_rules said:

Cmon man, stop defending. It is not funny to call some one blacky. It is derogatory. Connotations are key.

Achha chalo, let us also start throwing our toys out of pram and sue pewdipie for bobs and vagene jokes.

Just now, coffee_rules said:

What is pewdipie? 

Famous youtuber with 2nd highest subscribers in the world. Bobs and vagene jokes may look harmless on surface but it amplifies the image of Indian men being creeps especially after the way media blows rape cases in India out of proportion.

Have to say that Indians are easily the mentally toughest when it comes to having a thick skin.

13 minutes ago, Norman said:

So he knew already that kaalu means black ? 

Why the sudden outcry now ? 

Maybe cashing on the current situation. Maybe it was said in a funny way, as I have seen Desis calling blacks, kaalu in India and sniggering. There are some jokes about watching WI and Eng cricket in a B&W TV , it is tough to set the contrast right, if it is too light , we can only see WI team and if it too dark, we can’t see WI players. Maybe it funny for some in India. If I see such WA forwards in US, I do object. It is insensitive and a bad joke in US. Just like the slur Baki is racist in UK, but not anywhere else.

36 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Kaala, Kaalu Kallu although means black, but derogatory nonetheless.. sorry Sammy! Ishant, WTF man :facepalm:

This 'brown american' Hasan minhaj thinks modi is an evil hindu nationalist. LOL.

I'm not sure why you'd bring up this video.