Greatest Indian cricketers and their contributions post-retirement

maniac

Has any Indian ATG contributed to Indian cricket after their on field career was over?

Gavaskar- cushy commentator gig

Kapil- was coach for a brief period but apparently his best advice was to pitch it full to bowlers regardless of the conditions. One of the most difficult periods for Indian cricket as a coach. anyways post-career has been away from being involved in the game except for that ICL fiasco. 

Sachin- YouTube videos And occasional analyst roles.

Sehwag- analyst/commentator and May be its a good thing he is not involved in coaching.

Kumble- brief stint as a coach and again ended in controversial exit. Currently Coaching in IPL,  so lets see if there are any positive contributions there or he can further evolve.

Srinath- match referee 

Laxman- mentor role in IPL and commentator (not a good one at that either). Not even an active coach.

Dravid- well only guy who seems to be involved in something important. Regardless of what  you think the reasons behind it or how he is doing his job, will give him credit here.

Gambhir- politician

MSD- don’t think he will be a commentator or a coach. Probably transition in to politics.

Zak- commentator and probably a coach in IPL (someone confirm this)

Ganguly- BCCI President but what are his accomplishments?

Harbhajan- has he even retired?

Yuvraj- not sure even if he started a post retirement career yet.

For good or bad Waqar Younis and Misbah coach Pakistan, Ponting will be a future coach for Australia and has already had a successful start, Mahela is a successful coach, Langer is coaching Australia, Strauss handles the cricketing affairs in England, Gillespee might be one of the sought after coaches in world cricket, Kallis is a full time coach now.

No wonder we are stuck with Shastri,Chetan Sharmas and MSK Prasad’s of the world.

Yes good cricketer doesn’t make a good coach or analyst or administrator but these guys don’t even take it seriously bar Dravid to some extent. Kapil and Kumble seemed to

Implement coaching  styles from their childhood than learn the modern methods etc.

Edited by maniac

It is a paradox.  Great players are often not good coaches.  But in a superstar-worshipping culture, you have no gravitas in the corridors of power if you have not been a great player.  

There are some solid cricketers who, if empowered, can be good coaches or selectors.  Pravin Amre, Amol Muzumdar, Abhishek Nayar, Wasim Jaffer etc. come to mind.  They have been instrumental in taking teams like Vidarbha and making them champions.  Maybe even Parthiv Patel and Gujarat.  But at the national level, the overall attitude is - "Test mein yeh khud kar nahin paya toh dusron ko kya sikhayega?"

Edited by BacktoCricaddict

a) Whether to get involved with cricket in whatever capacity after retirement is a personal choice, b) If you do get involved, contributions can be evaluated per the role i.e. coach, administrator, selector, and so on 

PS being a commentator is not a "contribution" to Ind cricket. However, it is a personal choice based on interest so again no harm if cricketers want to pursue that. A commentator can be evaluated based on his commentary and analysis 

13 minutes ago, zen said:

a) Whether to get involved with cricket after retirement is a personal choice, b) If you do get involved, contributions can be evaluated per the role i.e. coach, administrator, selector, and so on 

PS being a commentator is not a "contribution" to Ind cricket. However, it is a personal choice based on interest so again no harm if cricketers want to pursue that 

Thats the point I was making. In fact I defended Sachin before too, A kid who makes debut at 16 years and plays for 25 years as a professional cricketer and has to maintain the discipline and live up to

expectations of a billion people deserves some leeway. Especially when he has given all his youth to the game he deserves to sit back and enjoy the fruits of his hardwork.

However what I am asking is why don’t these guys have enough passion to carry on and transition to more productive roles?

Don Bradman apparently  originally suggested the OdI format as an admin and did a lot of good work for Australia.

I am sure Ponting doesn’t coach just for money. He seems to be involved and passionate and has been learning and evolving and see the same with Mahela.

Flower another ATG changed the way English cricket is played  

Our cricketers seem to be happy and satisfied once their on field cricket is done.

Laxman never played a World Cup, Dravid or Kumble never won one, has anyone of then thought that they should may be coach or be the architects of one? Don’t think so. 

Typical desi mentality of Work till 60, buy a plot and save enough money for Kids education and Shaadi and countdown to final moments.

Edited by maniac

Also this is not a criticism, they don’t owe anyone anything. I am just putting the point that why don’t they have enough passion to keep Contributing? 

1 minute ago, maniac said:

However what I am asking is why don’t these guys have enough passion to carry on and transition to more productive roles?

We should discuss people who want to get / are involved. Not worry about those who do not want to (for whatever reasons and it should be respected) 

BCCI is the richest board in the world so it can hire the best brains irrespective of the country they played for 

4 minutes ago, zen said:

We should discuss people who want to get / are involved. Not worry about those who do not want to (for whatever reasons and it should be respected) 

BCCI is the richest board in the world so it can hire the best brains irrespective of the country they played for 

To your 2nd point, that itself deserves a separate thread why BCCI hasn’t being doing  that?

First point, I am saying the same thing, I respect their personal decision but how come there isn’t a single legend who is putting his hand up and showing that passion like some

foreign ex players? 

Now you might say these guys are rich and May be the others need money but that is a very easy way out. There has to be a deeper issue here like culture etc where once you retire, your passion ends as well.

Yuvraj is looking to come out of retirement. He is in probables of Punjab team for Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy. I don't know why he wants to waste a place which could be used for a youngster. 

4 hours ago, maniac said:

Also this is not a criticism, they don’t owe anyone anything. I am just putting the point that why don’t they have enough passion to keep Contributing? 

My guess is that the good ones don't want to deal with the intense politicking and power-games at that level.  

18 minutes ago, puneet28 said:

Yuvraj is looking to come out of retirement. He is in probables of Punjab team for Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy. I don't know why he wants to waste a place which could be used for a youngster. 

Yuvraj came out of retirement, in part, because Punjab has a very young team, and they see Yuvraj providing a player/mentor role.

4 hours ago, maniac said:

Has any Indian ATG contributed to Indian cricket after their on field career was over?

Gavaskar- cushy commentator gig

Kapil- was coach for a brief period but apparently his best advice was to pitch it full to bowlers regardless of the conditions. One of the most difficult periods for Indian cricket as a coach. anyways post-career has been away from being involved in the game except for that ICL fiasco. 

Sachin- YouTube videos And occasional analyst roles.

Sehwag- analyst/commentator and May be its a good thing he is not involved in coaching.

Kumble- brief stint as a coach and again ended in controversial exit. Currently Coaching in IPL,  so lets see if there are any positive contributions there or he can further evolve.

Srinath- match referee 

Laxman- mentor role in IPL and commentator (not a good one at that either). Not even an active coach.

Dravid- well only guy who seems to be involved in something important. Regardless of what  you think the reasons behind it or how he is doing his job, will give him credit here.

Gambhir- politician

MSD- don’t think he will be a commentator or a coach. Probably transition in to politics.

Zak- commentator and probably a coach in IPL (someone confirm this)

Ganguly- BCCI President but what are his accomplishments?

Harbhajan- has he even retired?

Yuvraj- not sure even if he started a post retirement career yet.

For good or bad Waqar Younis and Misbah coach Pakistan, Ponting will be a future coach for Australia and has already had a successful start, Mahela is a successful coach, Langer is coaching Australia, Strauss handles the cricketing affairs in England, Gillespee might be one of the sought after coaches in world cricket, Kallis is a full time coach now.

No wonder we are stuck with Shastri,Chetan Sharmas and MSK Prasad’s of the world.

Yes good cricketer doesn’t make a good coach or analyst or administrator but these guys don’t even take it seriously bar Dravid to some extent. Kapil and Kumble seemed to

Implement coaching  styles from their childhood than learn the modern methods etc.

Just thinking off hand. If we look at Gavaskar era players, there would be Bedi- who helped individual bowlers like Maninder Singh, has managed Indian sides, and battled corruption in Delhi cricket. Chauhan, Vishwanath, Brijesh Patel, Vengsarkar, Yashpal, Shivlal Yadav- stuff with state boards, selectors. Shastri- Now I enjoy making fun of the guy. But he left the easy “tracer bullet” job to get into coaching Indian cricket. Sandeep Patil, Rajput, Binny- work with junior and India A sides. 

Recent retirees ( Tendulkar generation)- still early. Dravid- India A, junior sides. Yuvraj- just starting work with Punjab as mentor/player. Banger- batting coach for India team, Kaif- did a bit of coaching? Jaffer- started coaching? 

Current players. Pujara, Ashwin have set up academies and help players out

Sure there is more. But there are people doing things with different levels of success

Then there was that 3 year period when Kumble, Dravid, Srinath took over and ran Karnataka’s board. Don’t remember specifics. But I thought they had certain goals in mind such as adding cricket facilities outside of Bangalore.

Waqar,  Azhar mehmood are the worst Pakistan had..  Can easily rival the likes of Kapil.  Only solution to india's problem lies in going after MI guys.  Get in guys like Parthiv or even Irfan pathan who has a great eye for talent & knows modern game

11 hours ago, nevada said:

Kiran More has or had a cricket academy. So did Vengsarkar. I wonder if they are still running. 

Yes Vengsarkar started the Elf cricket academy (not a Christmas joke) in Mumbai. I remember when they were holding trials,

planned to attended back then as well.

Wonder if Prithvi Shaw is a product of the Elf cricket academy (Christmas joke)

21 hours ago, maniac said:

I think they have sufficient money and dont want to travel stay away from family after their bcci driven ridiculous playing days travel commitments. Understandable. Dravid settled for  job near home for him.