Investment advice for newbies

MechEng

I am new to the playground of investment game, I have few questions, please answer if you can.

1.) Will investing in stocks be a very important skill in the future? Should everyone learn it as a common literacy?

2.) What is the right age to start with investing? Should I have a strong savings balance or an acceptable amount of salary to get started with investing?

3.) When should a person avoid investing and play safe by focusing on savings?

From my reading over the past couple of years, long term investment (not trading) perspective:

Stock selection is a very good & specialized skill in the job market itself. MF/Hedge fund managers make good money when they have right skills and even better with suitable experience. For the commoner, it's pretty much a gamble unless one is going through company financial statements and annual reports and can explain reason for stock selection: e.g. current valuation, competitive advantage, undiscovered underlying assets etc. Having said that, there's many approaches on stock selection and they have some overlap & divergences in terms of methodology.

Investing (maybe more safer options initially) should begin from day 1 of earning, whatever u earn. Compound interest works best over really long periods of time. Index funds & periodic asset allocation between equity/debt  are a good starting point, as one learns more with time the circle of competence can be built and one can then invest in specific industries in the stock market.

Saving & investing both go together, a low risk liquid fund is also an investment. One should not invest in relatively higher risk assets like stocks when they have near term goals since fluctuations in stock price could affect their goals e.g. buying house/car.

Edited by Clarke

https://static.nseindia.com/s3fs-public/2019-06/Basics_of_finmkts.pdf

Above to start with terminology and all. Rest, as @Clarke suggest. You need acumen.