Per capita is the excuse we conveniently hide behind any time we talk about record breaking "official numbers" of India. Ofcourse it is going to be lower in the second most populated country in the world. The countries with higher per capita covid are not the ones.flooding twitter with SOS messages. Essentially we blame the population, opposition parties, people who are reluctant to take vaccines not the party in Power. Where have I seen this before. Yes in Trump world.
Doesn't make sense ,this explanation.

Tamil Nadu cases on the rise since it has very low vaccination rate due to lower vaccination share from India. Hope Tamil Nadu has some way to generate money and try to secure some vaccines,  due to Indian govt gst TN revenue is also impacted. Guess it’s up to India to help Tamil Nadu may be they will do after whole of India is vaccinated. 

58 minutes ago, Vilander said:

Tamil Nadu cases on the rise since it has very low vaccination rate due to lower vaccination share from India. Hope Tamil Nadu has some way to generate money and try to secure some vaccines,  due to Indian govt gst TN revenue is also impacted. Guess it’s up to India to help Tamil Nadu may be they will do after whole of India is vaccinated. 

Jagan Spend Rs.87k crore for freebies. The cost for vaccinating entire AP, for free, is around Rs.2k crores. Interested to know what are the figures for TN.

Money is NOT the problem now. It is the availability of vaccines.  It will get worse before it improves dramatically. 

1 hour ago, kepler37b said:

Interested to know what are the figures for TN.

Of what? And what are freebies lol. States should receive vaccines based on their population not based on popularity. 

3 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

Per capita is the excuse we conveniently hide behind any time we talk about record breaking "official numbers" of India. Ofcourse it is going to be lower in the second most populated country in the world. The countries with higher per capita covid are not the ones.flooding twitter with SOS messages. Essentially we blame the population, opposition parties, people who are reluctant to take vaccines not the party in Power. Where have I seen this before. Yes in Trump world.

Per capita is not a convenient explanation. Per capita is the only statistical parameter to compare two non equal populations. Unless you have better one. 

There is not one party in power. There are parties in power in India. Health is a state subject in India. India is federal structure. 

56 minutes ago, ravishingravi said:

Per capita is not a convenient explanation. Per capita is the only statistical parameter to compare two non equal populations. Unless you have better one. 

There is not one party in power. There are parties in power in India. Health is a state subject in India. India is federal structure. 

Then explain Iwhy ndia suffered  the  worst if that per capita stats look better. How can states handle once Ina century pandemic?

5 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Then explain Iwhy ndia suffered  the  worst if that per capita stats look better. How can states handle once Ina century pandemic?

Because nothing will be enough in a huge infections.

4 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

There is nothing to explain. For folks who read numbers and understand difference between absolutes and relative. India has gone relatively unscathed ( comparing to numbers from west ) considering its poor infrastructure, density of population, callous attitude of govts and people post first wave. In fact, it’s just pure miracle how this has not hit India harder. Perhaps because of higher exposure to pathogens and viruses, folks have shown better immunity. 

Our constitution was not built for once a century pandemic. Your question is point of discussion but it doesn’t change roles and responsibilities. States are responsible for health. US centric view points don’t understand nuances of Indian structure. 

13 hours ago, ravishingravi said:

So, show me the data. In India. Now bear in mind, last year we didn’t have a lockdown. We had a shutdown. We are not doing that again. Now we had a lockdown in Maharashtra for 45 days. Virus takes one week to incubate. So give or take it takes 25 days for one full cycle. When we started the lockdown we had 55,000 cases. Now we have 40,000 cases. After 45 days. So, show me a good evidence of lockdown working in India. 

We have not killed Corona but certainly managed to kill business and daily wage workers. Lockdown is luxury for first world countries. For countries like India, with each lockdown we are pushing large chunk of people into the abyss much worse than corona. 

In Maharastra , lockdown started at 14th April, and the cases peaked at 25th April...Since then it is coming down steadily. Problem with data is, you never know what would be total cases if there is lockdown not imposed. Most people who have studied virus says it can go up n up till most people get infected. Thats scary because many will die due to non-availability of healthcare system, and they could've been saved if healthcare was available for them. 

8 hours ago, Vilander said:

Not completely correct. Tamilnadu has the High vaccine wastage rate which does show people have been reluctant to take vaccines. All big states like UP, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Gujarat have done over 1 cr vaccinations. TN around 70 lacs.  MP has also done less vaccinations for a big State at 90 lacs. While UP, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Rajasthan have done more than double of TN. Karnataka too is doing well.  Will have to blame TN govt or maybe they were distracted due to the elections.

Edited by rkt.india
9 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

Actually back in March 2020 in the UK there was a flood of SOS messages in the UK. It was much worse in northern italy. In Japan currently too there are plenty of these SOS messages and a record number of home deaths. I had coivd then and was told that as I was not in the at risk group there would be no help given to me. We recovered at home.

And rather it appears you are willing to blame only the central government. You are hiding behind absolute numbers.

3 hours ago, urbestfriend said:

In Maharastra , lockdown started at 14th April, and the cases peaked at 25th April...Since then it is coming down steadily. Problem with data is, you never know what would be total cases if there is lockdown not imposed. Most people who have studied virus says it can go up n up till most people get infected. Thats scary because many will die due to non-availability of healthcare system, and they could've been saved if healthcare was available for them. 

That maharashtra lockdown is meaningless.

The local trains for eg are in operation in mumbai. Though they are meant only for frontline workers, literally everybody is taking them.

The lockdown is only on paper.  It was business as usual even in cities like Nashik and Pune. People just started wearing masks and avoided unnecessary journeys (especially the elderly).

Another dip in Saturday numbers for positivity and ratio of recoveries to infections.

Re TN

More than vaccination CG focusing on distribution oxygen to the state. This should be the priority.  WB TN Kar and AP.

10 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

That maharashtra lockdown is meaningless.

The local trains for eg are in operation in mumbai. Though they are meant only for frontline workers, literally everybody is taking them.

The lockdown is only on paper. 

Exactly. All the shops are open in Mumbai with shutter half down. All you have to do is knock or just peek inside. 

It’s just non sensical. What China did is lockdown. This is nautanki. 

32 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

Actually back in March 2020 in the UK there was a flood of SOS messages in the UK. It was much worse in northern italy. In Japan currently too there are plenty of these SOS messages and a record number of home deaths. I had coivd then and was told that as I was not in the at risk group there would be no help given to me. We recovered at home.

And rather it appears you are willing to blame only the central government. You are hiding behind absolute numbers.

Many recovered at home during the first wave. Not during the second wave. Hospitalizations increased. But India declared victory over COrona and bragged about exporting vaccines like they save the world.  We are talking about real people who lost their lives. Per capita number high enough to overwhelm the helathcare system. Didn't happen in other countries as bad as it is happening in India. Even now i do see a false sense of security after drop in numbers for a few days.  We are not out of the woods yet. 

It is undeniable truth India handled the second wave the worst. Sense of over-confidence. Hope these answers "will convince" those who lost their lives. Blaming everything under the sun except the central government is the go to  strategy. 

https://www.msnbc.com/opinion/india-s-modi-made-all-trump-s-covid-mistakes-much-n1266101