" Seniority " over " Current Ability ", as the main selection criterion, is preventing Team India from realizing its true potential

Seniority or youngster is not the issue

our best player this tournament  was a 32 year old seasoned domestic vet- SKY

You need dynamic multi-skilled cricketers and real athletes.

Livingstone and Ali can give you full 4 overs any day and bat in the top 4

All the Pakistani tail end sloggers can connect better than guys like DK, Pant etc. our tailenders can’t put bat to ball.

Hire people with skills and make sure they are  world class athletes to begin with.

reward  consistent domestic performances

Induct people with special skills like ability to bowl 140+ or play innovative shots against all kinds of bowling.

it’s as simple as that.

7 minutes ago, maniac said:

You need dynamic multi-skilled cricketers and real athletes.

Livingstone and Ali can give you full 4 overs any day and bat in the top 4

All the Pakistani tail end sloggers can connect better than guys like DK, Pant etc. our tailenders can’t put bat to ball.

Hire people with skills and make sure they are  world class athletes to begin with.

Induct people with special skills like ability to bowl 140+ or play innovative shots against all kinds of bowling.

it’s as simple as that.

We are very arrogant proud bunch here

They think there is no need to learn ,they are born special players

A lowly thought of not hiring foreign coaches as we have equally efficient desi coaches available is also hurting us

Which desi comes into the picture?all they about is saving their job by faking their praise for existing "big names"?

This chalta hai attitude will eventually hurt IPL and Indian cricket ,as sponsers will show them their aukat sooner than later

SKY maybe 32 but he is a " Junior " in this team based on year of debut and number of international matches played.

Seniors ard those who are in the Team India setup for a long time with significant number of international matches.

Maniac bhai ... IMHO this is the worst way to build a world class team. There are lots of state level cricketers who are giants against mediocrity but big zeros against international quality ... like a Graeme Hick.

it’s as simple as that.

Strongly agree. 

Just now, express bowling said:

SKY maybe 32 but he is a " Junior " in this team based on year of debut and number of international matches played.

Seniors ard those who are in the Team India setup for a long time with significant number of international matches.

Maniac bhai ... IMHO this is the worst way to build a world class team. There are lots of state level cricketers who are giants against mediocrity but big zeros against international quality ... like a Graeme Hick.

Strongly agree. 

They can only improve by playing all around the globe against different conditions and bowlers

Same goes with bowlers,guys like Rauf,Naseem,Afridi have massively benefitted

This whole England setup is based on this ,here we are content with only domestic and IPL cricket

Cricket has changed and it demands more,ie send you boys in other leagues to learn,innovate It is a science now

7 minutes ago, express bowling said:

we are on the same page on the 3rd point however it is absolutely essential that we take the first 2 in consideration too because as I said when you see a special athlete or skilled player it is right there and there should be no debate there. A Sachin gets in after 1-2 yrs of domestic and a SKY makes it after toiling for many years. Both are fair.

domestics are there for a reason. You can’t bypass it and pick people from gully cricket. You need to factor that it otherwise there will be no method to the madness.

on paper at least it shouldn’t be tough to strike a fair balance.

Aus and Eng now do it really well while Ind-Pak are on the opposite end of the spectrum so the inconsistencies and issues.

I thought 2021 wt20 was our wake up call like 2007 50 over wc was. But they just don't want to learn. I thought that 152-0 would have made them realise about the innocuous bowling attack and incompetent openers but no they went back to play IPL And all things became normal again..

KLR, Rohit,Kohli,DK,Ash,Bhuvi,Jaddu,Shami should be nowhere near T20 team...

9 minutes ago, maniac said:

we are on the same page on the 3rd point however it is absolutely essential that we take the first 2 in consideration too because as I said when you see a special athlete or skilled player it is right there and there should be no debate there. A Sachin gets in after 1-2 yrs of domestic and a SKY makes it after toiling for many years. Both are fair.

domestics are there for a reason. You can’t bypass it and pick people from gully cricket. You need to factor that it otherwise there will be no method to the madness.

Aus and Eng now do it really well while Ind-Pak are on the opposite end of the spectrum so the inconsistencies and issues.

Only Domestics should be relevant for tests/odis

Domestics(IPL+SMAT)+ global t20 leagues should be the metric to select future LOI (t20)players,these guys can always play odis as well

BCCI must stop acting stubborn and allow upcoming and current youngsters in line to play atleast The Hundred,CPL,Big Bash and SA league(which is Indian league anyway)

Just now, Suhaan said:

Domestics(IPL+SMAT)+ global t20 leagues should be the metric to select future LOI (t20)players,these guys can always play odis as well

BCCI must stop acting stubborn and allow upcoming and current youngsters in line to play atleast The Hundred,CPL,Big Bash and SA league(which is Indian league anyway)

Fair enough. Agreed 100%

31 minutes ago, maniac said:

I agree with this.

The method is simple.

Identify the types of players who do well in international cricket and make a player pool. (  Batsmen who are ok against pace  bounce, swing, spin .... Pacers who have pace, bounce and improving their accuracy .... spinners who can turn the ball or are very zippy  )

Pick the ones who are performing among them. 

England is quite ordinary regarding developing and choosing all condition bowlers.

1 minute ago, express bowling said:

England is quite ordinary regarding developing and choosing all condition bowlers.

Their bowlers struggle in Australia. They do well in SA, Nzl. I would say they have won more series than us in recent times.

They have done better than a lot of sc do in SENA. They have won a series in India in 2012, they regularly win a test at least when they tour, they have won series in SL, Bangladesh and in ODIs they have not lost a loi series to Pak while touring in the last few years. 

1 hour ago, express bowling said:

See us pick almost the same team for WC 2023 barring a miracle 

1. Rohit

2. Dhawan

3. Kohli

4. Rahul

5. Pant

6. Hardik

7. Jadeja / Axar

8. Harshal / Shardul / Ashwin 

9. Bhuvi

10  Bumrah 

11. Chahal

And they will deliver similar results again. 

Not that we have world beaters on bench . But atleast make  honest effort to induct promising new players who are hungry for name , who really work hard on their game to become good .  ITS BETTER TO GO DOWN FIGHTING WITH NEW SET OF PLAYERS THAN WITH THESE OVER THE HILL PLAYERS WHO SHOW NO SHAME WHILE LOSING IN WC GAMES .  

17 minutes ago, maniac said:

Their bowlers struggle in Australia. They do well in SA, Nzl. I would say they have won more series than us in recent times.

They have done better than a lot of sc do in SENA. They have won a series in India in 2012, they regularly win a test at least when they tour, they have won series in SL, Bangladesh and in ODIs they have not lost a loi series to Pak while touring in the last few years. 

England has been a middling test side for the last 50 years. Even recently they lost to NZ at home and drew against India. Lost the Ashes too. 

And they won a ODI World Cup just recently, that too due to a controversial decision. Almost nothing before that. 

Their T20 bowling will not worry most teams unless Archer is fit. 

19 minutes ago, prudent_kreeda said:

Not that we have world beaters on bench . But atleast make  honest effort to induct promising new players who are hungry for name , who really work hard on their game to become good .  ITS BETTER TO GO DOWN FIGHTING WITH NEW SET OF PLAYERS THAN WITH THESE OVER THE HILL PLAYERS WHO SHOW NO SHAME WHILE LOSING IN WC GAMES .  

Unless we give the players a fair run, we will never know whether they are World beaters.

Tyagi, Umran, Gill, Shaw, Bawa, Washington, Kuldeep Yadav, Bishnoi and maybe even Mohsin, Sen and Jaiswal maybe absolutely top bracket. 

Main thing is to develop accountability for non performance. 

Otherwise these youngsters will become just lije their predecessors after a few years. 

5 hours ago, express bowling said:

See us pick almost the same team for WC 2023 barring a miracle 

1. Rohit

2. Dhawan

3. Kohli

4. Rahul

5. Pant

6. Hardik

7. Jadeja / Axar

8. Harshal / Shardul / Ashwin 

9. Bhuvi

10  Bumrah 

11. Chahal

And they will deliver similar results again. 

first round exit coming up. they will also drop pant and play DK

3 hours ago, express bowling said:

Unless we give the players a fair run, we will never know whether they are World beaters.

Tyagi, Umran, Gill, Shaw, Bawa, Washington, Kuldeep Yadav, Bishnoi and maybe even Mohsin, Sen and Jaiswal maybe absolutely top bracket. 

Main thing is to develop accountability for non performance. 

Otherwise these youngsters will become just lije their predecessors after a few years. 

don't think most of them are top bracket (yes, it runs counter to my earlier hopes/predictions), but I agree they deserve a chance.

All the senior superstar batters retain their places despite shamefully slow batting at the top in WC 2022.

Rohit

Dhawan

Kohli

Rahul 

the sparkling top 4 preparing for a modern LOI tournament in 2023

And senior Chahar is preferred over Umran despite the fact thaf Umran was our best pacer in NZ ODIs and looked far more threatening than innocuous Chahar.   (  Shardul is there as bowling allrounder anyway, so that is not the logic )

24 minutes ago, express bowling said:

India going at 4 runs an over in the first 7 overs.

While teams are scoring at 7 rpo in test matches.

Strike rotation is a big issue with Rohit/Dhawan/Kela. They just go on a spree of dot balls and then the odd boundary (if lucky). Boring as fcuk. If they rotate the strike with the odd boundary they can easily play at good run rate.