Is it Time to Stop Considering Hardik Pandya as an All-Rounder?

Can Hardik still be classified as all-rounder?  

40 members have voted

1. 1. Can Hardik still be classified as all-rounder?

7 hours ago, Frustrated said:

So, Flintoff and Woakes are not all rounders. Then what exactly are they?  Woakes destroyed the Aussie top order in wc2019 SF.   Are Aussie minnows ?

Once in a while performance does not meanmuch. You have to be fairly consistent.

16 hours ago, Khota said:

You named one for India and I will only adress India as that is the only country of interst. One in 100 years. One.Fricking.Allrounder.

So you want to waste time to find others?

For Pakistan scratch out Razzak.

For england scratch out Stokes.

So now we are down to one for England and one for Pakistan.

So you want to spend time on mythical creatures that do not happen.

Smart man let me go back and explain. Human bodies at higher level cannot perform two tasks.

Let me simplify, in lympics what are the odds of someone winning 100 m dash and winning 50m in swimming.

Again you are claiming indians are somehow different than all others? Becuase thats the stupidest thing i have heard. How do thise countries liek SA etc have multiple? all rounders 

Why should we remove  all rounders who ranked no 1 in from paks and england ? Because it doesn't suit your agenda?

Dude how is it one from england,most all rounders named there are from england? 

Man i listed 20, 30 all rounder and you wont even read it?

Dude pace all rounders have dominated spin all rounders at a ratio of 15:1 in cricket

See how a normal intelligent brain works is fordt it sees the data and  then forms a conclusion. What you have a habit of forming a conclusion and then just  ignoring all evidence to the contrary.  This is a patrern i have seen

The audacity  of you claiming that i named 1 or 2 when i named over 20 and these are just top ranked, is astonishing. 

Dude if what you wwre claiming was true, pace all rounders would not be doninating spun all rounders by 15:1

19 minutes ago, Khota said:

Once in a while performance does not meanmuch. You have to be fairly consistent.

Flintop is in every top all rounder list in history. This gaslighting is becoming hilarious now

Dude this is NOT the way to debate. You need to mature a lot

Yoru technique of debate is like a child, you form a conclusion in your mind with no evidence and just ignore every evidence contradicting it with child like lies. Its like a child putting his fingers in the ears and going  cant hear you

7 hours ago, rollingstoned said:

the all rounder is a myth take is a bad one, it is for a reason that they are the mvps in cricket and that is because it is rare that a player gets into the team on weight of their abilities with both bat and ball. Bits and pieces players that are useful are a dime a dozen but not at the level you want in both disciplines effectively disprove that opinion.

This poster has a habit of doing this. He makes wild assertions. Then he just simply ignores every single bit of evidence you use. There are threads about players where he will use one single innings to claim a player is great or another is a failure 

I have never seen anyone over 14 continue this form of debating, where your method is simply to deny any evidence and moving goal posts 

10 minutes ago, New guy said:

Again you are claiming indians are somehow different than all others? Becuase thats the stupidest thing i have heard. How do thise countries liek SA etc have multiple? all rounders 

Why should we remove  all rounders who ranked no 1 in from paks and england ? Because it doesn't suit your agenda?

Dude how is it one from england,most all rounders named there are from england? 

Man i listed 20, 30 all rounder and you wont even read it?

Dude pace all rounders have dominated spin all rounders at a ratio of 15:1 in cricket

See how a normal intelligent brain works is fordt it sees the data and  then forms a conclusion. What you have a habit of forming a conclusion and then just  ignoring all evidence to the contrary.  This is a patrern i have seen

The audacity  of you claiming that i named 1 or 2 when i named over 20 and these are just top ranked, is astonishing. 

Dude if what you wwre claiming was true, pace all rounders would not be doninating spun all rounders by 15:1

I am not going around and around but if you put 20 names down it does not make them all rounders. 

The latest one Ben Stokes at best is hit and miss. Nothing more.

Flintoff was a decent player not an allrounder.

6 minutes ago, New guy said:

This poster has a habit of doing this. He makes wild assertions. Then he just simply ignores every single bit of evidence you use. There are threads about players where he will use one single innings to claim a player is great or another is a failure 

I have never seen anyone over 14 continue this form of debating, where your method is simply to deny any evidence and moving goal posts 

This is all science based. have you ever though that you were brain washed and did not know any better?

Show me any other sport were there is an allrounder.

In cricket the concept still works because it is not a competitive sport.

1 hour ago, Khota said:

I am not going around and around but if you put 20 names down it does not make them all rounders. 

The latest one Ben Stokes at best is hit and miss. Nothing more.

Flintoff was a decent player not an allrounder.

Except all these topped the all rounder rank in various years. Thats what makes them all rounder They are also in top all rounder lists everywhere, cricinfo, wisden, every expert and legends of the game's list of top all rounders. Thats where i got the names from

Now I dont know about you, but if these people put them not only in all rounders, but among top all time all rounders, I would take their word over an ICF poster

Edited by New guy
1 hour ago, Khota said:

This is all science based. have you ever though that you were brain washed and did not know any better?

Show me any other sport were there is an allrounder.

In cricket the concept still works because it is not a competitive sport.

Dude your rambling are not science. I gave you evidence, you ignored it, thats the opposite of science. Making random assertions is not science

And we are discussing about cricket itself here, arent we, a sports which specifically allows players to take multiple roles as teams take turns. While other team sports like football, hockey, etc doesnt, because its not turn based. When it is turned based, like say during penalties, you can see many goal keepers do goals or many scorers goal keep

4 hours ago, New guy said:

Dude your rambling are not science. I gave you evidence, you ignored it, thats the opposite of science. Making random assertions is not science

And we are discussing about cricket itself here, arent we, a sports which specifically allows players to take multiple roles as teams take turns. While other team sports like football, hockey, etc doesnt, because its not turn based. When it is turned based, like say during penalties, you can see many goal keepers do goals or many scorers goal keep

You gave me jack sheeet.

In football a striker is a specialist and defender is a different specialist. Two roles are not interchangeable.

And then the goalkeeper is another type of specialist with a completely different attributes (physical).

The only gane that comes closed to cricket is baseball and they dont have dual role players. And trust me basball is light years ahead of cricket.

3 hours ago, Cricspin said:

Flintoff and Ben Stokes are not all rounders. Then all rounders dont exist. 

What was Flintoff if not an allrounder ? Was he a batsman or bowler. What kind of decent player in your book.. :confused:  All-rounders dont have to be great all-rounders, they can be decent, good etc. Flintoff scored 5 test centuries and took 200 test wickets. All-rounder enough for most people. Helped England win Ashes.

Ben stokes has a damaged body. That is all I was trying to say. Flintoff. Stop it.

On 8/29/2021 at 7:14 AM, New guy said:

Has any indian ever been punished for making derogatory comments about women? Then why pretend thats a factor? BCCI cares two hoots about me too or derogatory comments 

I have no idea why you troll voted me here.

Yes Indians have far less sensitivity to misogyny, racial/ethnic  biases, homophobia etc comparatively to the west. 

The point is sure BCCI might be an old school Desi corporation run by babus but a popular cricketer like Pandya comes with a lot corporate sponsorships. These corporates are usually very sensitive to this kind of stuff in this day and age mostly for the good. The fact that they looked the other way is probably due to Pandyas backing from influential groups like BCCI or even maybe the Ambanis.

Even that’s only a part of the point, I was saying that in recent times, Pandya is probably one of the most protected players in Indian cricket which is not proportional to his actual returns.

outside from Rohit,Virat and Bumrah, how many players are you confident that have the same level of immunity?

I am not even suggesting to drop Pandya or saying he is a bad cricketer, I am only saying is not everyone gets the same kind of VIP treatment in Indian cricket. Pandya has been getting it even though he doesn’t have the credentials of some of the names I just mentioned.

Edited by maniac
1 hour ago, maniac said:

I have no idea why you troll voted me here.

Yes Indians have far less sensitivity to misogyny, racial/ethnic  biases, homophobia etc comparatively to the west. 

The point is sure BCCI might be an old school Desi corporation run by babus but a popular cricketer like Pandya comes with a lot corporate sponsorships. These corporates are usually very sensitive to this kind of stuff in this day and age mostly for the good. The fact that they looked the other way is probably due to Pandyas backing from influential groups like BCCI or even maybe the Ambanis.

Even that’s only a part of the point, I was saying that in recent times, Pandya is probably one of the most protected players in Indian cricket which is not proportional to his actual returns.

outside from Rohit,Virat and Bumrah, how many players are you confident that have the same level of immunity?

I am not even suggesting to drop Pandya or saying he is a bad cricketer, I am only saying is not everyone gets the same kind of VIP treatment in Indian cricket. Pandya has been getting it even though he doesn’t have the credentials of some of the names I just mentioned.

he was banned for few games for those comments.

4 hours ago, Khota said:

You gave me jack sheeet.

In football a striker is a specialist and defender is a different specialist. Two roles are not interchangeable.

And then the goalkeeper is another type of specialist with a completely different attributes (physical).

The only gane that comes closed to cricket is baseball and they dont have dual role players. And trust me basball is light years ahead of cricket.

Light years ahead of cricket in? Baseball is Ped infest boring trash sport. Do they have the stamina stamina last one day in test cricket rofl. Even with their peds. 

1 hour ago, Jay said:

Light years ahead of cricket in? Baseball is Ped infest boring trash sport. Do they have the stamina stamina last one day in test cricket rofl. Even with their peds. 

There are no peds. Their testing regimen is much stronger.

Dont talk about stamina etc. even the best cricket athlete will struggle to meet the baseball criteria of fitness.

6 hours ago, Lord said:

he was banned for few games for those comments.

KL suffered more, just because he was there along with the other c*** :lollypop:

And no those comments were BS. do you really speak that way even with your closest friends? I sure as hell don't!

6 hours ago, Khota said:

There are no peds. Their testing regimen is much stronger.

Dont talk about stamina etc. even the best cricket athlete will struggle to meet the baseball criteria of fitness.

Lol. One day. Just one day of test cricket and they will collapse on the field. Batting for 4 plus hours requires immense stamina. Bowling is even harder. Bowling 20 overs plus in one innings is much harder than anything related to the physical output required for baseball. 

Rofl testing is stricter. Go look up the database and see how many players get caught. Have you heard of masking agents? Doping is pervasive in American sports in general. 

4 hours ago, Jay said:

Lol. One day. Just one day of test cricket and they will collapse on the field. Batting for 4 plus hours requires immense stamina. Bowling is even harder. Bowling 20 overs plus in one innings is much harder than anything related to the physical output required for baseball. 

Rofl testing is stricter. Go look up the database and see how many players get caught. Have you heard of masking agents? Doping is pervasive in American sports in general. 

You are clueless.

4 hours ago, Jay said:

Let me put it this way, even Kohli will most likely fail the fitness criteria.