Lord's Test: Pre-match discussion

5 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Jadeja as a batsman failed in WTC, having to bat with tail is not his forte, takes singles off the first ball and exposes the tail. If we had picked Shardul, he would have served better than Ashwin , all iffs and butts.

Jadeja scored 58 here.Batted well with tail too

if going by WTC alone,drop Bumrah first.But obviously thats not  gonna happen

Nothing to suggest Thakur would have taken more than 4 wickets or scored crucial 22 in those conditions

We will play the same XI.   Pujara's career got saved by the rain for time being. 

I have a feeling if we lose the toss we will lose this one. 

Lord's slope will help guys like Siraj & Shardul. 

6 minutes ago, Lord said:

Jadeja scored 58 here.Batted well with tail too

if going by WTC alone,drop Bumrah first.But obviously thats not  gonna happen

Nothing to suggest Thakur would have taken more than 4 wickets or scored crucial 22 in those conditions

Totally agree, we lost WTC on batting, Rahane and Pant batted like schoolboys, Pant aggression was unnecessary. Had we batted about 10 overs more, it would have been a draw. So a bad example to go forward to decide the set of bowlers

29 minutes ago, Cricspin said:

People keep talking about 2 spinners for WTC final as if the bowling lost the match for India. We would have still lost with one extra pacer. Ashwin bowled well and Jadeja was decent in the first innings for whatever chances they got. During the second innings, there was no score on the board to defend.

In any match all 4 pacers are not running hot anyway. In that particular match the bowlers did their job for the first innings even though they were not super impressive as a group. We would have won or drawn the WTC final with better batting and not by dropping one of Ashwin/Jadeja. 

On that pitch, 250 was like 400 elsewhere. 

This debate of picking a seamer allrounder is coz both ash and Jadeja together dont contribute as much in SENA as they do in India in both disciplines combined. Either Jadeja has a bad game with ball or Ash with bat with high chances of both events happening in the same test.

Edited by Vk1
1 minute ago, Vk1 said:

On that pitch, 250 was like 400 elsewhere. 

This debate of picking a seamer allrounder is coz both ash and Jadeja together dont contribute as much in SENA as they do in India in both disciplines combined. Either Jadeja has a bad game with ball or Ash with bat. 

so both are contributing in one discipline atleast

In Aus both contributed with bat and ball

45 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

How confident are you to take both spinners in Eng, esp after WTC Final? I don’t think so

ill , in WTC it was bumrah who was led down and in last game it was bumrah who bowled well 

Ashwin bowled well in wtc and jaddu is 5th bowler , 5th bowler will always be underutilized most days. Ill always play an attacking spinner like ashwin

But even thakur is fine coz he is an outswing bowler who will be very handy in these conditions so its fine either way

England have realised their batting is shitt and indian bowling is too good, they may even give a good batting wkt .

Seeing that pujara n kohli havent been in good form and rohit gets outs generaly in 30-50s, rahane is inconsistent (to ye sab to apne hi dushman hai pitch kya kre legi inka)....atleast make a good batting wkt for themselves

3 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

England have realised their batting is shitt and indian bowling is too good, they may even give a good batting wkt .

Seeing that pujara n kohli havent been in good form and rohit gets outs generaly in 30-50s, rahane is inconsistent (to ye sab to apne hi dushman hai pitch kya kre legi inka)....atleast make a good batting wkt for themselves

It will prolong the careers of our brittle batting in the MO. :sad_smile:

4 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Rohit might convert if its a good batting track

and there's Pant :cheer:

58 minutes ago, Cricspin said:

It may be good if they promote Jadeja a bit. He looks to have more runs under his belt than the opportunity he gets. He does not need to throw his wicket because there is none to bat with him. No.5 or No..6 can work for him. 

Problem is they cant find a good team unless they drop one of the guys who is not consistent. The candidates are Pujara and Rahane.  I will not want either Thakur or Siraj dropped. They can score a few runs and they bowl.

Debate on Jadeja must stop too. The guy needs to be fixture in test team as he contributes to almost all matches in some capacity.

Ashwin is a better spinner than Jadeja but there is no guarantee that he is going to be difficult to deal with given conditions.  That said, I have supported Ashwin every time I make a post for picking the test team. My personal preference is always playing Jadeja and Ashwin. Jadeja more as the batting allrounder and Ashwin the bowling allrounder. 

I dont mind us going one less specialist batsman as they are not really adding any value. If the team can be bold enough to drop Pujara they can have this lineup.

Rohit

Rahul

Virat/Rahane

Rahane/Virat

Jadeja

Pant

Ashwin

Thankur

Shami

Siraj

Bumrah

Just want to say that Rahane is a better slip fielder than Pujara and generally better in the field other than being the VC. 

6 bowlers, sorry babu, No thank you.

Now again talk of getting in Ishant in place of Siraj and dropping Thakur for Ashwin - from Laxman. Will be interesting to see the three Bumrah, Shami and Ishant again together but I am not optimistic with these three.

1 hour ago, Cricspin said:

It may be good if they promote Jadeja a bit. He looks to have more runs under his belt than the opportunity he gets. He does not need to throw his wicket because there is none to bat with him. No.5 or No..6 can work for him. 

Problem is they cant find a good team unless they drop one of the guys who is not consistent. The candidates are Pujara and Rahane.  I will not want either Thakur or Siraj dropped. They can score a few runs and they bowl.

Debate on Jadeja must stop too. The guy needs to be fixture in test team as he contributes to almost all matches in some capacity.

Ashwin is a better spinner than Jadeja but there is no guarantee that he is going to be difficult to deal with given conditions.  That said, I have supported Ashwin every time I make a post for picking the test team. My personal preference is always playing Jadeja and Ashwin. Jadeja more as the batting allrounder and Ashwin the bowling allrounder. 

I dont mind us going one less specialist batsman as they are not really adding any value. If the team can be bold enough to drop Pujara they can have this lineup.

Rohit

Rahul

Virat/Rahane

Rahane/Virat

Jadeja

Pant

Ashwin

Thankur

Shami

Siraj

Bumrah

Just want to say that Rahane is a better slip fielder than Pujara and generally better in the field other than being the VC. 

Good post.I suggest the same.Wouldnt lose much batting if we play Ashwin for Rahane/Pujara in their current form

Ofcourse it wont happen though

3 minutes ago, AKane said:

Now again talk of getting in Ishant in place of Siraj and dropping Thakur for Ashwin - from Laxman. Will be interesting to see the three Bumrah, Shami and Ishant again together but I am not optimistic with these three.

these experts are always way off.Manju picked Vihari ahead of Jaddu :facepalm:

2 minutes ago, Cricspin said:

Jadeja plays like a batsman there at no.5 and he may not get the ball if others do their job. The middle order is useless so why not. 

Batting is weak. Bandaiding with BNP allrounders is not the solution. Pick Mayank over Pujaara if you want to fix batting.

1 hour ago, Cricspin said:

People keep talking about 2 spinners for WTC final as if the bowling lost the match for India. We would have still lost with one extra pacer. Ashwin bowled well and Jadeja was decent in the first innings for whatever chances they got. During the second innings, there was no score on the board to defend.

In any match all 4 pacers are not running hot anyway. In that particular match the bowlers did their job for the first innings even though they were not super impressive as a group. We would have won or drawn the WTC final with better batting and not by dropping one of Ashwin/Jadeja. 

All pacers don't do well that's why you pick 4th pacer. If one has a bad day. At least, 3 will do well. If you have 3 and one is off color, you are stuck with 2 seamers. Spinners aren't going to win you games in England. 

Controversial if England picks a right handed dominated XI..  I would tactically drop Axar Patel on them again.  He is the wild card in the series. 

But not at Lords maybe Headingley or Manchester. 

4 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Controversial if England picks a right handed dominated XI..  I would tactically drop Axar Patel on them again.  He is the wild card in the series. 

But not at Lords maybe Headingley or Manchester. 

curious to see how Axar does in overseas