As a Dhoni fan quick question: Why are teams chasing targets before the 20th over

maniac

I know it’s been done to death about our approach at the start but how come teams try to finish game in over 18-19.

I thought taking it deep so that you can win mental battle with the bowler was the effective method. Not just MSD but I see younger Indian cricketers spew this taking it deep crap as well.

Once again our focus is stuck on opening and it is understandable but our middle order finishing is always the bigger problem.

In international T20s, I can't remember Dhoni winning a game by taking it to the 20th over. Always needed someone at the other end to hit while he focused on remaining not out.  Remember that ekic game vs WU. WI scored some 240-259 runs, we nearly chased due to a super 100 by KL Rahul, Dhoni could not even score a single off the kast hall. Instead he got out and we lost out by 1 run.

13 minutes ago, maniac said:

I know it’s been done to death about our approach at the start but how come teams try to finish game in over 18-19.

I thought taking it deep so that you can win mental battle with the bowler was the effective method. Not just MSD but I see younger Indian cricketers spew this taking it deep crap as well.

Once again our focus is stuck on opening and it is understandable but our middle order finishing is always the bigger problem.

Stoinis was doing thus exactly yesterday but Wade had different plans

13 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

In international T20s, I can't remember Dhoni winning a game by taking it to the 20th over. Always needed someone at the other end to hit while he focused on remaining not out.  Remember that ekic game vs WU. WI scored some 240-259 runs, we nearly chased due to a super 100 by KL Rahul, Dhoni could not even score a single off the kast hall. Instead he got out and we lost out by 1 run.

Wasn't that match like 5-5.5 years ago? Rahul batted so awesome in that match. Can't believe that the fattu, deer in the headlights Rahul of today and that fearless Rahul are the same batsman! 

India has lost more matches than won because of his ridiculous approach. Some of them were lost from winnable position. They guy was cancerous for any T20 batting line up. We didn't just play him, he captained for 10 freakin years. All those present foreign cricketers who speak so highly of Dhoni could not care less and give less * to his rubbish approach. 

38 minutes ago, maniac said:

Aaj kal ke bachon ko process ki kadar hi nahi hai. Don't be surprised if they finish before their girls too