Match Thread - Ind vs SA - 1st T20I - Delhi - 9th June

So the international cricket is back and the campaign for T20 world cup starts from this game. Though India is missing most of its key players, including the captain but this will give good opportunity for younger players to show their skills.

Expected Playing XI for India:

KL Rahul

Ishan Kishan

Deepak Hooda

Shreyas Iyer

Hardik Pandya

Rishab Pant

Venkatesh Iyer

Yuzi Chahal

Ravi Bishnoi

Harshal Patel

Bhuvi Kumar

:isalute:

Taj Mahal India GIF  South Africa Color GIF by Maytronics

Selection of bowling attack wud be tough this series- Harshal, umran, arshdeep all have been middle to death phase bowlers. 

Sa have a huge window against our opening overs- QDK anyways like to score against us 

It will be interesting to see how KL manage his resources, Hardik may have to bowl a lot more in 1-10 overs and a lot wud depend on how Bhuvi bowls 

Too many all rounders being picked knowing very well that bar Pandya none will go. They are bits and pieces option I will go with genuine picks :-

KL Rahul

Ishan Kishan

Shreyas Iyer

Rishabh Pant

Hardik Pandya A/R

Dinesh Karthik

Harshal Patel

Bhuvi Kumar

Umran/Arshdeep/Avesh

Kuldeep Yadav

Yuzi Chahal

Too many all rounders being picked knowing very well that bar Pandya none will go. They are bits and pieces option I will go with genuine picks :-

KL Rahul

Ishan Kishan

Shreyas Iyer

Rishabh Pant

Hardik Pandya A/R

Dinesh Karthik

Harshal Patel

Bhuvi Kumar

Umran/Arshdeep/Avesh

Kuldeep Yadav

Yuzi Chahal

1 minute ago, Majestic said:

KL Rahul

Ishan Kishan

Shreyas Iyer

Rishabh Pant

Hardik Pandya A/R

Dinesh Karthik

Harshal Patel

Bhuvi Kumar

Umran/Arshdeep/Avesh

Kuldeep Yadav

Yuzi Chahal

interestiing idea to have harshal at 7 

17 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

interestiing idea to have harshal at 7 

I want five proper bowlers who can make impact when given a bowl in hand. Picking defensive bowlers is pointless. Now obviously we would want some batting so I will rely on Deepak Chahar and Harshal Patel combo to do it going forward. Impact bowlers and can tonk a few. 

If the ultimate approach of Indian batsman is gonna be safety and conservative then better to strengthen the bowling attack. No 7 anyways is expected to just tonk a few.

4 hours ago, Majestic said:

KL Rahul

Ishan Kishan

Shreyas Iyer

Rishabh Pant

Hardik Pandya A/R

Dinesh Karthik

Harshal Patel

Bhuvi Kumar

Umran/Arshdeep/Avesh

Kuldeep Yadav

Yuzi Chahal

No longer this formula now. Axar should start now.

Just now, raki05 said:

Good news is kela is out. Bad news is Dravid baba is inclined towards all trundler attack. Bhuvi would keep feasting on these condition only to get exposed during wt20 like last time.

all trundler attack is confirmed. dravid was very negative (if you read between the lines) about playing umran. he is a certified trundler lover

Ruturaj likes pace & bounce & is one for the future especially with Ro Ko almost useless. I'll like to see him given a run. 

Ruturaj

Kishan

Shreyas

Pant (wk) 

Pandya

DK

Axar 

Arshdeep/Harshal

Umran

Boobie

Chahal 

Harshal can't bowl with new ball.  No need of 3 death over specialists.  Arshdeep can swing the new ball.  Umran the enforcer cancels out Harshal in middle overs. 

Bhuvi Arshdeep to handle death bowling. 

Wanted Hardik as captain, glad to see tortoises like KL (biggest letdown :facepalm:), Ro, VK etc. missing this assignment.

Hope Nortje-Rabada expose Shreyas Iyer, Ishan etc. Hope our trundlers get mauled.

Need an Aussie conditions specific team to emerge in coming months, either selectors use their brains for once or hope that misfits are shown their aukaat in these internationals by a top quality outfit like RSA. Force the selectors to pick a proper squad.....

Have missed most of the cricket these last 9-10 months. Haven't kept tab on most of these youngsters (including Umran), but mightily impressed by news of Hardik leading the Guj side to IPL title, heard/read lots of praise coming his way. Better bet for captaincy than Pant, KLR IMO And a fully fit Hardik walks into this XI, hope he is in prime fitness till this year's T20 WC edition.

Just recently Hockey India fielded such a rookie squad in the Asia Cup. 12-13 debutants in the squad, 8+ debutants starting in every single game (10 against Pak first XI and still they couldn't beat us, also our kids ensured they miss out qualification to next WC:phehe:), even the must win ones. Though we didn't win gold so many positives especially in the form of junior WC members punching above their weight against physically stronger and battle hardened opponents, lost just one game against the Japs (who we beat twice btw)....that is how you build a champion side. 

Main XI (more or less, we still liberally experimented against the lesser ranked sides like France and RSA) ensured a top 4 finish in the FIH Pro League (equivalent of World Test Championship), right now we are 2nd behind the Dutch with 80% league phase over. That is how you build a *ing championship material team, play close to your best squad in the big events, unleash the rookies in chota mota assignments. Even though quality was sometimes amateurish, I followed the Asia Cup with so much enthusiasm, so hopeful for the future. 

Now back to cricket and I see names of buddhas/relics/fossils/misfits like Bhuvi, Shreyas, Chahal....urgh. When will revolution happen in Indian cricket? Watching present Indian white ball teams is a soul sucking experience, rather watch the match for the opponents, far cry from the 2000-13 batch which had so much flair and in many ways set the trends of 21st century white ball cricket especially in batting department. 

1 minute ago, MultiB48 said:

Where were you all this while?be around till the eng test.

Student life over :p:, stress wallah life start, these days finding it tougher to spend time on forums, sports/politics/IR related topics etc. 

Will try to be here during important assignments like Eng test, Asia Cup, T20 WC, BG series etc., but probably won't spend as much time as before. That phase of my 'internet life' is over I guess, was fun. Anyway wish there is a revolution in Indian cricket and hope Team India's on-field performances force me to take keen interest in their matches, who will say no to a 2020-21 BG type series? Or a change in this drab approach to white ball cricket.....

Overload of trundlers and knuckle ball experts, what is Dravid smoking? Max can accomodate one such sample that too only if he can fill in the role of power hitter at #8, that too only occasionally. 

Gajab TM hai bhai hamara, they will play Aussie conditions bowlers in UAE and expect Harshal to do chamatkar in Perth and Brisbane. Too many retards in the system, and they occupy all the key decision making posts. And still this Shreyas Iyer fascination obsession...in T20s, in a tournament in Australia where we are set to face Shaheen, Rauf in MCG and a scary RSA pace trio in Perth!!!! Biggest scam this incessant pampering of Shreyas Iyer, makes no sense whatsoever, doomed to fail, 100% surety. 

7 hours ago, Gollum said:

Just recently Hockey India fielded such a rookie squad in the Asia Cup. 12-13 debutants in the squad, 8+ debutants starting in every single game (10 against Pak first XI and still they couldn't beat us, also our kids ensured they miss out qualification to next WC:phehe:), even the must win ones. Though we didn't win gold so many positives especially in the form of junior WC members punching above their weight against physically stronger and battle hardened opponents, lost just one game against the Japs (who we beat twice btw)....that is how you build a champion side. 

Main XI (more or less, we still liberally experimented against the lesser ranked sides like France and RSA) ensured a top 4 finish in the FIH Pro League (equivalent of World Test Championship), right now we are 2nd behind the Dutch with 80% league phase over. That is how you build a *ing championship material team, play close to your best squad in the big events, unleash the rookies in chota mota assignments. Even though quality was sometimes amateurish, I followed the Asia Cup with so much enthusiasm, so hopeful for the future. 

Now back to cricket and I see names of buddhas/relics/fossils/misfits like Bhuvi, Shreyas, Chahal....urgh. When will revolution happen in Indian cricket? Watching present Indian white ball teams is a soul sucking experience, rather watch the match for the opponents, far cry from the 2000-13 batch which had so much flair and in many ways set the trends of 21st century white ball cricket especially in batting department. 

So true. it is good to have you back. Hockey is moving from strength to strength, although there is still some way to go