Have we wasted Gill-Shaw?

BCCI and kirkut babus only back veteran superstars who continue to flop, i.e. living off of old glory, and superstart wannabes who have proof of karke-dikhana. Otherwise, Bharatmata does not have time to build a team for the future. :nod:

On 12/26/2022 at 12:51 AM, R!TTER said:

Yeah I wish Dhongi would've dropped that dead weight fly swatter midway through the tour of Eng 2014, at least we wouldn't have been humiliated so many times over there since then :laugh:

Who? 

On 12/26/2022 at 2:57 AM, Gollum said:

Shaw has the right mindset (and ability) to open in ODIs, T20s. Pity we are backing the finished Dhawan and perennial loser Kela in those formats as openers. 

Being mentally strong is very important. I would choose players like iyer anyday over overrated kela who may supposedly have the skills but lack the mental fortitude to succeed. 

10 minutes ago, wanted_desi said:

People don't know anything about developing a talent anymore. 

Kohli's captaincy destroyed the culture of talent development. Forgetting that he himself got picked and backed when he was far from a finished product, he always insisted on picking experienced players even for the last game of series that had already been won. He achieved a few clean sweeps and recognition for so called aggressive, ruthless, mindset but this proved to be counter productive as all opportunities were grabbed by a select few and new talent never got a chance to develop. 

58 minutes ago, nevada said:

Kohli's captaincy destroyed the culture of talent development. Forgetting that he himself got picked and backed when he was far from a finished product, he always insisted on picking experienced players even for the last game of series that had already been won. He achieved a few clean sweeps and recognition for so called aggressive, ruthless, mindset but this proved to be counter productive as all opportunities were grabbed by a select few and new talent never got a chance to develop. 

He didn't want anyone to compete with his ads. There is just too much money to be made off the cricket field. 

Edited by wanted_desi

Gill is his worst enemy.he had a golden chance to cement his place in test cricket but his inconsistency raised its head again.if he was to play as our no 3 in the future he cant be inconsistent.its probably the most important position in the lineup.

1 minute ago, cowboysfan said:

Gill is his worst enemy.he had a golden chance to cement his place in test cricket but his inconsistency raised its head again.if he was to play as our no 3 in the future he cant be inconsistent.its probably the most important position in the lineup.

no. 4 is the most crucial. he is not well-suited for no. 3, which will be taken ideally by someone like sundar

8 hours ago, cowboysfan said:

He has technical issues that are not that difficult to solve imo but I'm more worried about his temperament. He appears a bit too casual at times when he gets out. 

Shaw should be a project that Indian cricket should pursue on a war footing like it did Hitman in the late 00s even when everyone criticised his selection because he was not justifying it. He is that talented and promising a white ball opener for us. 

6 hours ago, rollingstoned said:

He has technical issues that are not that difficult to solve imo but I'm more worried about his temperament. He appears a bit too casual at times when he gets out. 

Shaw should be a project that Indian cricket should pursue on a war footing like it did Hitman in the late 00s even when everyone criticised his selection because he was not justifying it. He is that talented and promising a white ball opener for us. 

he is taking it too lightly. needs to realize there is serious competition

As far as Shaw is concerned..We know TM/selections etc is stupidity at finest..however that doesnt mean you are posting sad stories on insta when you have done nothing remarkable recently even in domestic..you should hv come back with a bang..see how Sarfaraz khan has continuously piled up runs..he needs to make it difficult for selectors to ignore him..and I still want him to succeed to give Indian team an agressive opener..the successor to Viru..

He needs to fix his motivation,fitness,technique and light up IPL now..

1 hour ago, Need4Speed said:

As far as Shaw is concerned..We know TM/selections etc is stupidity at finest..however that doesnt mean you are posting sad stories on insta when you have done nothing remarkable recently even in domestic..you should hv come back with a bang..see how Sarfaraz khan has continuously piled up runs..he needs to make it difficult for selectors to ignore him..and I still want him to succeed to give Indian team an agressive opener..the successor to Viru..

He needs to fix his motivation,fitness,technique and light up IPL now..

shaw's motivation is gone. he will still do well in IPL because it brings in the big moolah, but I think he will decline soon in domestics

54 minutes ago, Vijy said:

shaw's motivation is gone. he will still do well in IPL because it brings in the big moolah, but I think he will decline soon in domestics

Lets hope he does well in IPL..still very young..if Patidar and Sky can be late bloomers why cant he..even if exclude Unadcut from list due to his connections

Edited by Need4Speed
On 12/27/2022 at 3:17 AM, nevada said:

Off the top of my head: Bumrah, Pant, Siraj, Pandya all made their debuts and have grown to become world class talents under his leadership

GIll has developed a defensive tuk tuk mindset. Even in T20 he is focusing more on singles.  He has such a great backfoot game.  Should shine well on bouncy pitches. But his frontfoot game has some holes that needs to be addressed. When the ball swings he doesn't play besides the ball. He downswing is so straight.

33 minutes ago, Sooda said:

Off the top of my head: Bumrah, Pant, Siraj, Pandya all made their debuts and have grown to become world class talents under his leadership

Pant came in cause saha got hurt/injured and we had no choice so had to pick him. He even dropped pant after a few bad games. 

Siraj only got a chance once shami ishant all got injured. Complete fluke. Lolhi quit and ran away to India before that even happened btw. 

Bumrah. Lol. Dint kohli say yeh bumrah vumrah kya karega. Chod dhe yaar. 

Bumrah again only got in cause od rohit recommendation actually and some good performances from A tours. 

Pandya well. Pandya came in through Mumbai connections. Nothing to do with kohli. 

23 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

GIll has developed a defensive tuk tuk mindset. Even in T20 he is focusing more on singles.  He has such a great backfoot game.  Should shine well on bouncy pitches. But his frontfoot game has some holes that needs to be addressed. When the ball swings he doesn't play besides the ball. He downswing is so straight.

it has big holes. he needs to learn how to step down the pitch a la haydos IMO

On 12/27/2022 at 4:35 AM, speedracer said:

Who? 

This guy!

On 12/27/2022 at 8:47 AM, nevada said: