When will a Indian Team management understand the value of a Fast Bowler?

15 hours ago, Sooda said:

yes...

The management have given opportunities when and where they can to the likes of Umran, Prasidh, Sen...  we arent blessed with a huge number of genuine quicks by any means

The fault I find with Dravid and his team is they are not even trying to get fast bowlers into the team.

They have totally reverted back to trundler culture which does not bodewell for Indian cricket. Guy like Dravid needs to be booted out.

But we also need to blame players like Umran for not improving. Injuries are becoming a major factor in fast bowling eco system?Why are so many fast bowlers getting injured and second question why are fast bowling talents not developing thru the system guy like Nagarkoti is nowhere to found.

Are injuries happening due to bad NCA Management of fast bowlers? I don't know the answer.

On 7/9/2023 at 1:23 PM, deepdynamo said:

India did well in test cricket in the last decade or so because of 6 quality 'different' bowlers which never happened in Indian history. They all played in the same era and improved overseas results.

Ishant - Tall, bouncy, hit the deck, big inswing
Bhuvi- Swing king in his prime

Umesh - hit the deck and reverse swing
Shami- pin point seam bowler with good pace
Bumrah- Generation bowler with all skills
Siraj- skiddy, good pace, intense

Now problem is Bhuvi, Ishant and Umesh are all gone.

Bumrah is on stretcher.

Shami is a grandpa now.

We desperately need new fast bowlers otherwise its going to be massacre in next overseas assignment.

We will lose badly in Australia next year but we can manage to push or fluke a win here or there...  If we groom some decent pacers in time (we won't though) and India will be left to make 11th hour changes.   Oldies like Shami won't work in a year's time or would be trundling. 

Siraj would be all alone...  And he ain't known for big hauls yet.  Boom is uncertain...  I don't think he will play Tests much. 

Now SA test series is this December...  Too soon but Tall Trundlers may work there. 

Saini must be given a shot in WI over Mookesh Koomar I think.  He is not too old & may have something to offer still. 

As long as Indian fans worship Stat padders like Rohit, Dhawan, Kohli, and the next "superstar" Gill...

There will never be a fast bowler who will succeed. The pitches are made to serve these superstar batsmen and increase their brand value.

It's almost like fast bowlers are used as slaves to toil in the sun to serve batsmen.

We have seen this where none of the top order batsmen are expected to bowl but all the fast bowlers are expected to at least bat a little or they get discarded (example: Pandya and Thakur will always get priority over Umran Malik or Natarajan instead of the variety they bring)

This is why no one will train hard or be motivated to be a fast bowler when their career is only 5-7 years max, zero brand value, and zero fan base and high risk of injuries.

It's better to be Jadaja/Ashwin style spin all rounder or top order batsman to get a spot in the team with zero risk of injury.

Poor Bumrah toiled for the team and what did he get in return? He will be forgotten in history books and will have zero ads and brand value while Shubman Gill will take over from Kohli as the next big star destroying an entire generation of bowlers.

10 hours ago, BlueBlood said:

As long as Indian fans worship Stat padders like Rohit, Dhawan, Kohli, and the next "superstar" Gill...

There will never be a fast bowler who will succeed. The pitches are made to serve these superstar batsmen and increase their brand value.

It's almost like fast bowlers are used as slaves to toil in the sun to serve batsmen.

We have seen this where none of the top order batsmen are expected to bowl but all the fast bowlers are expected to at least bat a little or they get discarded (example: Pandya and Thakur will always get priority over Umran Malik or Natarajan instead of the variety they bring)

This is why no one will train hard or be motivated to be a fast bowler when their career is only 5-7 years max, zero brand value, and zero fan base and high risk of injuries.

It's better to be Jadaja/Ashwin style spin all rounder or top order batsman to get a spot in the team with zero risk of injury.

Poor Bumrah toiled for the team and what did he get in return? He will be forgotten in history books and will have zero ads and brand value while Shubman Gill will take over from Kohli as the next big star destroying an entire generation of bowlers.

Well said brother. 

12 hours ago, Lord said:

Some hope is there

So these "intellects" have no clue about existence of some of the guys with the names ,Harshit,Simarjeet Singh,Gurnoor,Eden Apple,Avinash Singh,Nikhil Kohli,Wasim Bashir,Yudhvir,Raunak Dev,Mayank Yadav,Ashok Sharma,SalaudeenRavi Sharma,Hemant iirc , unnoticed  Bihar has Shakib Hussain very raw etc and acting as if there is no one even in the domestic circuit

These are the few names,I have missed quite a few

Edited by Suhaan
9 hours ago, Malcolm Merlyn said:

Jo hai unko chance nahi mil raha aur naye ki khoj.

Jay Shah thinks BCCI is a political party. Scheme pe Scheme diye jao.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

It has been done before too(even in the 90s and 2000s) but to no avail

Edited by Suhaan
13 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

So these "intellects" have no clue about existence of some of the guys with the names ,Harshit,Simarjeet Singh,Gurnoor,Eden Apple,Avinash Singh,Nikhil Kohli,Wasim Bashir,Yudhvir,Raunak Dev,Mayank Yadav,Ashok Sharma,Salaudeen etc and acting as if there is no one even in the domestic circuit

This is just some PR stunt. Acting as if this is some innovative concept lol This should have already been part of Indian set up.

14 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

We will lose badly in Australia next year but we can manage to push or fluke a win here or there...  If we groom some decent pacers in time (we won't though) and India will be left to make 11th hour changes.   Oldies like Shami won't work in a year's time or would be trundling. 

Siraj would be all alone...  And he ain't known for big hauls yet.  Boom is uncertain...  I don't think he will play Tests much. 

Now SA test series is this December...  Too soon but Tall Trundlers may work there. 

Saini must be given a shot in WI over Mookesh Koomar I think.  He is not too old & may have something to offer still. 

For the change of guard, India is trying Unadkat and Mukesh Kumar which is hilarious. Infact Saini is also well past his best.

If Bumrah is fit for SA tour then we will be alright as Bumrah, Siraj and Thakur should be sufficient. We just need to introduce Prasidh or Sen or Harshit along with them.

34 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

So these "intellects" have no clue about existence of some of the guys with the names ,Harshit,Simarjeet Singh,Gurnoor,Eden Apple,Avinash Singh,Nikhil Kohli,Wasim Bashir,Yudhvir,Raunak Dev,Mayank Yadav,Ashok Sharma,Salaudeen etc and acting as if there is no one even in the domestic circuit

They have completely ignored Nagarkotti and Karthik Tyagi is also going on same path. Not sure why Nagarkotti never gets selected gor his state team or any A tours or emerging asia cup .. Same pattern has been followed for Tyagi as well. Other than ipl he is not part of any domestic tournaments.

4 minutes ago, raki05 said:

They have completely ignored Nagarkotti and Karthik Tyagi is also going on same path. Not sure why Nagarkotti never gets selected gor his state team or any A tours or emerging asia cup .. Same pattern has been followed for Tyagi as well. Other than ipl he is not part of any domestic tournaments.

Nagarkoti and Tyagi are like abandoned child, Nagarkotis case is even worse

7 minutes ago, raki05 said:

Actually both of them did play the limited over formats last year and performed good in VHT and SMAT.

Main issue is corruption, Rajasthan and UP has a lot of pacers who refuse to hang boots despite of no hope of making to internationals, likes of Aniket Choudhary, Rituraj Singh, Tanvir Ahmed in Rajasthan and Ankit Rajpoot, Karan Yadav, Aaqib Khan in UP are hogging the places...despite being mediocre to the core.

That's why I appreciate that Akash Singh moved to Nagaland..he was quick to realize that Rajasthan is tough to break in. Likes of Kartik Tyagi, Purnank Tyagi should do the same, and move to Uttarakhand or Himachal where they can play in to the XI. 

Edited by singhvivek141
14 minutes ago, deepdynamo said:

For the change of guard, India is trying Unadkat and Mukesh Kumar which is hilarious. Infact Saini is also well past his best.

If Bumrah is fit for SA tour then we will be alright as Bumrah, Siraj and Thakur should be sufficient. We just need to introduce Prasidh or Sen or Harshit along with them.

Harshit is ripe enough to be introduced,any delay and we may see a Saini like career trajectory

13 hours ago, BlueBlood said:

Shubham Gill is next prima donna of Indian cricket,he is true disciple of bollywood koolie

16 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

India's dream run has ended. Lost 5th test. Lost WTC final. Almost lost to Bangladesh.  Lost a test to Australia at home. Once Ash/Jaddu leave that record will also be under threat.  We have no players have enough motivation to pursue Tests.

You could have just said that Kohlis axing as captain ended Indias golden run in tests.

As clear as it gets