Ishan Kishan Ignores Team India Head Coach Rahul Dravid’s Advice To Play Ranji Trophy

Team India wicketkeeper-batter Ishan Kishan has reportedly ignored head coach Rahul Dravid's advice again ahead of IND vs ENG

The current absence of Ishan Kishan, the wicketkeeper-batsman for the Indian team, is notable. While initially included in the squad for the South Africa tour, Ishan Kishan took a hiatus from cricket, citing mental stress, as reported by sources. Following this, he has not been part of the team, even missing out on the T20 series against Afghanistan. In response, Rahul Dravid had suggested in a press conference that Ishan Kishan should focus on playing domestic cricket, and a return to the national team would be contingent on his performance in that arena.

Ishan Kishan’s Ignoring Dravid’s Advice?

The prospects of Ishan Kishan making a comeback to Team India are increasingly challenging. Despite being slated to play for Jharkhand in the Ranji Trophy, Ishan has yet to join the team. Although Rahul Dravid advised him to demonstrate fitness and participate in domestic cricket, Ishan has been conspicuously absent from the Jharkhand squad since his initial Ranji match

As a result, the speculations regarding Ishan’s return have gained momentum. Team India has enlisted three wicketkeeper-batsmen, KS Bharat, KL Rahul, and Dhruv Jurel, for the upcoming Test series against England.

Recent reports suggested that Ishan Kishan faced disciplinary action from the BCCI for misbehavior, resulting in his exclusion from the team. Disputing these claims, coach Rahul Dravid clarified in a press conference that all reports related to Ishan’s misconduct are untrue. According to Dravid, Ishan had taken a break from cricket due to mental stress.

Nevertheless, despite glimpses of Ishan Kishan engaging in on-field exercises a few days ago, raising hopes of a return, he has now exacerbated his difficulties by missing his first match in the Ranji Trophy.

If you are earning 15 crores a year since last 2 yeats plus all match fees and contract etc your net worth is around 60- 65 crores.. thats going to be 100 crores by 2026. If money only is your motivation then Kishan is saving himself from injuries before ipl. But again who knows we may be guessing.. motivation comes in different forms. For some its money for some pride..

18 minutes ago, neel roy said:

If you are earning 15 crores a year since last 2 yeats plus all match fees and contract etc your net worth is around 60- 65 crores.. thats going to be 100 crores by 2026. If money only is your motivation then Kishan is saving himself from injuries before ipl. But again who knows we may be guessing.. motivation comes in different forms. For some its money for some pride..

I don't think Ishan doesn't want to play for India but he seems pissed when everyone gets to play in the XI ahead of him even likes of Rutu or Tilak. There is a limit to which you can carry water bottles despite performing in almost every opportunity you get.

4 minutes ago, Number said:

I don't think Ishan doesn't want to play for India but he seems pissed when everyone gets to play in the XI ahead of him even likes of Rutu or Tilak. There is a limit to which you can carry water bottles despite performing in almost every opportunity you get.

Yuvraj singh played 40 tests. Was 12th man in 45 tests..

Kishan was chosen in wtc and then windies series. He played 2 out of the 3 tests. So actually he didnt even have to wait. So the cross format chances dont hold true. 

in odis and t20s yes. I agree. 

11 minutes ago, neel roy said:

Kishan was chosen in wtc and then windies series. He played 2 out of the 3 tests. So actually he didnt even have to wait. So the cross format chances dont hold true. 

in odis and t20s yes. I agree. 

Did reasonably well in WI and discarded from test team to accomodate KL Rahul.

36 minutes ago, Number said:

He needs to improve...  Rutu Tilak both have higher ceiling than him. 

With rise of Rinku Jaiswal...  No spot for him at present. 

2 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

He needs to improve...  Rutu Tilak both have higher ceiling than him. 

With rise of Rinku Jaiswal...  No spot for him at present. 

Totally disagree on Rutu and Tilak is yet to do anything worthwhile.

Ishan scored a double 100 in 32 overs in BD where our top order was fukcing dogsh!t in first 2 matches.

Next match dropped.

Stood there when Shaheen, Rauf were blowing us away in Kandy. Slowly dropped from the ODI team.

Scored 2 50s in T20Is after WC and dropped.

Dravid is throwing him out only to accomodate KL somehow. Because Jitesh ko ye aise bhi 1-2 failure pe nikaal denge, Ganju vaise bhi is format me kuch karta nahi.

3 hours ago, Trichromatic said:

Also didn't get chance ahead of tailender SKY in ODIs even when Kishan was doing well.

Last 2 matches before Odi world cup. Tri series against australia. Ishan and Surya both played in middle order

Ishan Kishan

18 (26)

31 (18) 

Surya Kumar Yadav.

50 (49)Remains not out and leads india to victory with Iyer after Kishan gets out

72 (37) India scores 399 instead of 340 odd

As a rational selector who will you choose in middle order?

Kishan after failing in middle order went on to open in two WC matches with a Duck and painstaking 40 odd. Sky did not even play those matches..

First match in which Sky played his innings ( in MO) gave us a fighting total against england..

Edited by neel roy
9 hours ago, Number said:

Totally disagree on Rutu and Tilak is yet to do anything worthwhile.

Ishan scored a double 100 in 32 overs in BD where our top order was fukcing dogsh!t in first 2 matches.

Next match dropped.

Stood there when Shaheen, Rauf were blowing us away in Kandy. Slowly dropped from the ODI team.

Scored 2 50s in T20Is after WC and dropped.

Dravid is throwing him out only to accomodate KL somehow. Because Jitesh ko ye aise bhi 1-2 failure pe nikaal denge, Ganju vaise bhi is format me kuch karta nahi.

This.

He should never have been dropped after this performance.

Madness of Indian Cricket, you reward a match winning performance by dropping a player for an uncle.

Yet our Uncles can have multiple failures in a row and still be selected. Just look at how poor Kohli batted at one stage where Ashwin was out performing him in Test cricket as a batsman.

Maybe Kishan don't see himself as a Test keeper..or don't want to play Tests.

There are multiple cricketers around the world who are happy playing white ball format & not interested in Tests...

Anyway Pant should be back by end of this year (hopefully). Kishan won't be needed there then as Jurel is also a capable keeper batter (unlike Bharat).