rollingstoned Posted July 12, 2024 Posted July 12, 2024 Rahul Dravid refused Rs 2.5 crore extra bonus for T20 World Cup 2024 triumph T20 World Cup 2024: Head coach Rahul Dravid refused to take extra bonus of Rs 2.5 crore for the T20 World Cup triumph. The outgoing head coach wanted equal prize reward for all members of the support staff. The BCCI announced Rs 125 crore for the victorious Indian team. Rahul Dravid requests BCCI to cut down his bonus for T20 World Cup triumph by 50 percent (PTI Photo) In Short Rahul Dravid refuses Rs 5 crore as bonus, wants it reduced by 50 percent Dravid's decision ensures equal prize money for members of support staff BCCI announced Rs 125 crore bonus for Team India after World Cup triumph Rahul Dravid's humility shone through once again as the outgoing head coach refused Rs 2.5 crore extra bonus awarded by the Indian cricket board (BCOI) after their T20 World Cup triumph in Barbados. Dravid took the call to ensure all the members of the support staff of the senior men's team were rewarded with equal bonus prizes. The BCCI announced Rs 125 crore prize money for Team India members, including the players and the support staff. While the players and Rahul Dravid were awarded Rs 5 crore, the other members of the support staff, including batting coach Vikram Rathour, bowling coach Paras Mhambrey, and fielding coach T Dilip were slated to receive Rs 2.5 crore as bonus. However, a source told India Today that Rahul Dravid told the board that he would only take Rs 2.5 crore as a bonus. The 15 players who were part of the squad were rewarded with Rs 5 crore each. The support staff members got Rs 2.5 crore while the selectors and the traveling reserves were rewarded with Rs 1 crore each. BCCI Secretary Jay Shah and President Roger Binny handed over the prize money to the team after their victory parade in Mumbai on Thursday, July 4. It's not the first time Rahul Dravid has come up with such a heartwarming gesture. In 2018, after India won the U19 Men's World Cup trophy, BCCI announced Rs 50 lakh prize reward for then coach Dravid, Rs 20 lakh for other members of his team, and Rs 30 lakh for the players. Dravid had asked the Indian cricket board to divide the prize money equally among the coaching staff and the board agreed to his request. Rahul Dravid had spoken highly of the members of his support staff when he recalled the T20 World Cup triumph during the felicitation ceremony at the Wankhede Stadium on Thursday. Along with Dravid, the tenures of Rathour, Mhambrey and Dilip also ended. DRAVID SIGNS OFF ON A HIGH Dravid signed off on a high, overseeing India's title triumph that ended their 11-year-long wait for an International Cricket Council crown. Dravid had contemplated quitting after the heartbreak of the ODI World Cup final in November last year. However, he decided to stay on and give another shot at winning a silverware when captain Rohit Sharma called him and pursued him to continue. Dravid ended his tenure with two major trophies, including the Asia Cup in 2023, and a runners-up medal in the ODI World Cup and the World Test Championship 2021-23. "We thank Mr Rahul Dravid and his team of support staff for their service and stellar effort in their tenure with Team India. The team enjoyed remarkable success across formats and being crowned champions at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, 2024 is a moment that the nation will cherish for a long time," board secretary Jay Shah said. The BCCI appointed Gautam Gambhir as the new head coach of the senior men's team on Tuesday, July 09. The former India opener has been handed a 3-and-a-half-year contract. Gambhir is expected to have Abhishek Nayar as his assistant coach. Ultimate_Game and Adamant 2
diga Posted July 12, 2024 Posted July 12, 2024 Good move.. however BCCI is rich enough to pay everyone the same bonus if they consider it as a team game instead of superstar culture. nevada, Stan AF and Chakdephatte 1 2
MumInd Posted July 12, 2024 Posted July 12, 2024 absolute gem of a person.... i always knew he was destined for great things when i met him when i was 5 or 6 at an event.... only cares about what is best fo rindia.... always puts team's best interests first.... that is why him declaring when tendiya was on 194 was one of the greatest things ever.... tendiya and his fans were crying and gave him backclash... but he had clear conscious and knew he made the best decision with no bias.... Laaloo, Ultimate_Game, New guy and 2 others 1 2 1 1
Popular Post Number Posted July 12, 2024 Popular Post Posted July 12, 2024 53 minutes ago, MumInd said: absolute gem of a person.... i always knew he was destined for great things when i met him when i was 5 or 6 at an event.... Unique capability of judging adults way elder to you and how are they going to be, all at the age of 5-6. Vk1, Adamant, Chakdephatte and 7 others 1 9
Zero_Unit Posted July 12, 2024 Posted July 12, 2024 What a guy. Learn BCCI, learn how to treat your own employees with respect. Everyone put in the work for the WC win
Kron Posted July 12, 2024 Posted July 12, 2024 1 hour ago, Zero_Unit said: What a guy. Learn BCCI, learn how to treat your own employees with respect. Everyone put in the work for the WC win All this for a t20 wc lmao. I care more about tests. Let's focus on that again.
MK55 Posted July 12, 2024 Posted July 12, 2024 That’s a good gesture from Rahul especially considering that his stint is over.
neel roy Posted July 12, 2024 Posted July 12, 2024 6 hours ago, MumInd said: absolute gem of a person.... i always knew he was destined for great things when i met him when i was 5 or 6 at an event.... only cares about what is best fo rindia.... always puts team's best interests first.... that is why him declaring when tendiya was on 194 was one of the greatest things ever.... tendiya and his fans were crying and gave him backclash... but he had clear conscious and knew he made the best decision with no bias.... Hope his conscious was fine when he decided to create a world cup final pitch which would favour India. Hope his conscience was clear when he forced ICC to play the final on that used pitch instead of the actual pitch created for the final. The whole world knows what happened after that. His legacy though untarnished, that stupid decision will always haunt him and us forever. I dont blame him singularly as it was the decision of TM but end of day unfortunately it is what it is.. Number, Ultimate_Game and Chakdephatte 1 1 1
Vickydev Posted July 12, 2024 Posted July 12, 2024 6 hours ago, Number said: Unique capability of judging adults way elder to you and how are they going to be, all at the age of 5-6. Dravid was probably 3 years old when they met Ultimate_Game, Stan AF, Chaos and 2 others 5
Chaos Posted July 12, 2024 Posted July 12, 2024 6 hours ago, Number said: Unique capability of judging adults way elder to you and how are they going to be, all at the age of 5-6. lmao that mumind cabbie/milk delivery guy…even knows about don bradman and viv richards life stories as he grew up with them. He compared IQ LEVELS of mukesh ambhani while he is a dhoot wala Ultimate_Game and Number 2
Chaos Posted July 12, 2024 Posted July 12, 2024 14 minutes ago, Vickydev said: Dravid was probably 3 years old when they met No chance. The way he types he wanst even born when kohli was born
Vickydev Posted July 12, 2024 Posted July 12, 2024 1 minute ago, Chaos said: No chance. The way he types he wanst even born when kohli was born That might be cause he got hit on the head, as he pretended to be Shaktimaan as a 35 yo and jumped off a roof Chaos and Number 2
Chaos Posted July 12, 2024 Posted July 12, 2024 1 minute ago, Vickydev said: That might be cause he got hit on the head, as he pretended to be Shaktimaan as a 35 yo and jumped off a roof ok i did that when i was 8 … that oil commercial… hit the side of the wall from 4th floor and landed on side… ouch still have scar Vickydev 1
Chaos Posted July 12, 2024 Posted July 12, 2024 2 minutes ago, Vickydev said: That might be cause he got hit on the head, as he pretended to be Shaktimaan as a 35 yo and jumped off a roof but that dhoot wala mumind is rly mental man….……. ………. ……… ……… lol thats his language
Ultimate_Game Posted July 12, 2024 Posted July 12, 2024 Though Dravid's eye for talent leaves a lot to be desired (backing Avesh Khan, Jadeja & Chahal, preferring SKY over Sarfaraz and Rinku etc.), and his decision making may not be great either (WC2023 final pitch fiasco), but he's a nice person at heart.
Lord Posted July 12, 2024 Posted July 12, 2024 19 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: Though Dravid's eye for talent leaves a lot to be desired (backing Avesh Khan, Jadeja & Chahal, preferring SKY over Sarfaraz and Rinku etc.), and his decision making may not be great either (WC2023 final pitch fiasco), but he's a nice person at heart. All those are TM decisions, not sure how much we can attribute to Dravid alone. Lets' hope GG shakes up things. Then we'll have better idea.
Zero_Unit Posted July 12, 2024 Posted July 12, 2024 8 hours ago, Kron said: All this for a t20 wc lmao. I care more about tests. Let's focus on that again. 20 teams entered, one came out without loosing a single match. Must be super easy eh? Also you're one of the few who still probably cares about test. I can't wait to see the final nail on the coffin for this stupid format which is beyond past it's prime and has no place in modern era. If you can't tell, I dislike test format.
Chakdephatte Posted July 12, 2024 Posted July 12, 2024 3 hours ago, Ultimate_Game said: Though Dravid's eye for talent leaves a lot to be desired (backing Avesh Khan, Jadeja & Chahal, preferring SKY over Sarfaraz and Rinku etc.), and his decision making may not be great either (WC2023 final pitch fiasco), but he's a nice person at heart. Not of this can be proved. Every person has a liking for certain players or certain kind of players. 3 hours ago, Lord said: All those are TM decisions, not sure how much we can attribute to Dravid alone. Even then, nothing is wrong with any of these decisions. Especially SKY, why would you not back such a talent?
Ultimate_Game Posted July 12, 2024 Posted July 12, 2024 1 hour ago, Chakdephatte said: Not of this can be proved. Every person has a liking for certain players or certain kind of players. Even then, nothing is wrong with any of these decisions. Especially SKY, why would you not back such a talent? SKY in Tests with a FC average of 30 over Sarfaraz who was averaging close to 100 over 3 years? Absolutely no rationale, and then sticking with KS Bharath till he was literally forced by selectors to go with Jurel. I'm sorry but I've yet to see Dravid backing a youngster with a high ceiling.