Paris Olympics 2024 Discussion Thread

5 minutes ago, Chakdephatte said:

Still enough to be considered for it. He has medals at every other event, World Cups, World Championships, Asian games. 

I know most of these came as part of a team, but can't dismiss it like you did. 

Very few cricketers have got Padma Shri, ATGs like Sachin, Sunny, Kapil, Dravid, MS, Kohli, Kumble, Ashwin etc.

Many prominent chess players yet to get it. Neeraj Chopra got it after the Tokyo gold.

He looks like odd one out. Top Korean archers sit out of many of the events where India picks medals. A round 1/2 exit expert must consider himself extremely lucky to get this kind of recognition.

6 minutes ago, putrevus said:

Deepika also given Padma shri

Tbh her achievements on paper are far better, despite the subpar Olympics performance. 

One opponent I want us to avoid in QF is Netherlands. We have better chance against Germans. Best case will be Spain, then GBR.

Dunno about what they have invested in sports, but is it right to use athletes in middle of competition for their PR? Ambanis are vultures.

4 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Dunno about what they have invested in sports, but is it right to use athletes in middle of competition for their PR? Ambanis are vultures.

Do you think Ambani needs PR?

16 minutes ago, Gollum said:

This was what I was mentioning yesterday bro... 

Agree with you the funding bit is incorrect in the tweet, they definitely invest in grassroots. No complaints there. 

But to have this in the middle of the games is just unnecessary. Luckily Manu skipped this, Sarabjot was present. They still have events to go

26 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

Do you think Ambani needs PR?

No,  bashing Ambanis is in vogue, flavor of the season. Karo to na khush - sab PR hain bhai!  Na karo to - Dekh bhai they spent 5000 crores on a wedding, with that kind of money India would have got 50 medals in Olympics. Aadmi karein to karein kya? 

46 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Phuckin pieces of shyte. They're the types who will complain about dent in their car after hitting a pedestrian.

18 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

No,  bashing Ambanis is in vogue, flavor of the season. Karo to na khush - sab PR hain bhai!  Na karo to - Dekh bhai they spent 5000 crores on a wedding, with that kind of money India would have got 50 medals in Olympics. Aadmi karein to karein kya? 

Circus in middle of Olympics is ok for you? Govt should have asked Nita Ambani to hold it at end of the Games. 

I never made any dig about Reliance's role in grassroots sports development, because I am not informed on that topic. But this timing is nonsense. 

1 minute ago, Ultimate_Game said:

Phuckin pieces of shyte. They're the types who will complain about dent in their car after hitting a pedestrian.

Nita Ambani doesn't even shake hands with people from lower classes. Many videos that expose these classist billionaires.