Sgattick10 Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 Also we need to dial down on bronze medal celebration it's a bit embarrassing. Media and SM celebrating like we won gold. I mean in non traditional ones it's fine but badminton, archery, shooting we have been competing since 30+ yrs so no big deal.
neel roy Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 First event with no stress. Sen vs prannoy. Sgattick10, randomGuy and deepdynamo 3
LordPrabhzy Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 3 minutes ago, deepdynamo said: Sift Kaur Samra- world record holder and World No.1. Her position after her event - 31st out of 32....Is this how world champion perform?? Koreans and others do KLPD on us by not sending best archers to World cups an champs- Indians get medals there and think they will do same in Olympics, then they get shown their aukat in when the real world champs are competing Kron 1
neel roy Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 Just now, LordPrabhzy said: Koreans and others do KLPD on us by not sending best archers to World cups an champs- Indians get medals there and think they will do same in Olympics, then they get shown their aukat in when the real world champs are competing I understand all that. But end of day shooting is not boxing. You shoot a target. Be it in india or paris. You just have to shoot perfectly. Also 31st position for a world champion
New guy Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 4 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said: Koreans and others do KLPD on us by not sending best archers to World cups an champs- Indians get medals there and think they will do same in Olympics, then they get shown their aukat in when the real world champs are competing But she shot much better in those competitions too. She is unable to do here. Nothing to do with opponents. Sandz 1
rkt.india Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 6 minutes ago, Sgattick10 said: Also we need to dial down on bronze medal celebration it's a bit embarrassing. Media and SM celebrating like we won gold. I mean in non traditional ones it's fine but badminton, archery, shooting we have been competing since 30+ yrs so no big deal. True. Bronze pe kya jash manana. At least silver pe to banta hai. putrevus 1
bharathh Posted August 1, 2024 Author Posted August 1, 2024 4 minutes ago, neel roy said: I understand all that. But end of day shooting is not boxing. You shoot a target. Be it in india or paris. You just have to shoot perfectly. Also 31st position for a world champion Both the world record holders for qualification came in 15th (Norway) and 27th (China). Anyone can have a bad day.
putrevus Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 4 minutes ago, neel roy said: I understand all that. But end of day shooting is not boxing. You shoot a target. Be it in india or paris. You just have to shoot perfectly. Also 31st position for a world champion 100% correct. You cannot finish 31st. I can understand if she just missed a medal but this is embarrassing. Sgattick10 1
putrevus Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 Most Indian athletes are happy with any medal.That is where I think they are not able to raise their levels. They are not wanting to be the best.
randomGuy Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 10 minutes ago, neel roy said: First event with no stress. Sen vs prannoy. Singles in general is better to watch than doubles....in doubles, players are jumping n shouting arnd like chickens. Gollum 1
bharathh Posted August 1, 2024 Author Posted August 1, 2024 1 minute ago, randomGuy said: Singles in general is better to watch than doubles....in doubles, players are jumping n shouting arnd like chickens. Personally like watching and playing doubles more. Playing - because it's less strenuous and more strategic - so can play more games for longer. Watching- because it's faster.
Gollum Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 (edited) Come on Lakshya, hammer this Kela/Unadkat lookalike. Edited August 1, 2024 by Gollum coffee_rules 1
Sgattick10 Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 12 minutes ago, neel roy said: First event with no stress. Sen vs prannoy. Not even watching. Though I hope Lakshya wins
Number Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 (edited) Don't want to start a political discussion but BJP govt was basically sleeping till 2016 Rio debacle. Then they woke up and started throwing heavy money on top prospects to get some medals. The likes of TT, Archery, Boxing, Wrestling are all in doldrums. Not a single new field. Just a few top prospects but no effort to build a pipeline of talent at the grassroot level. If they had started efforts on this in 2014, we would be in much better position. Edited August 1, 2024 by Number
bharathh Posted August 1, 2024 Author Posted August 1, 2024 Just now, Gollum said: Cone on Lakshya, hammer this Kela/Unadkat lookalike. Why the hate for Prannoy? He was awesome to help us win the Asian Games and Thomas Cup medals.
coffee_rules Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 Just now, bharathh said: Why the hate for Prannoy? He was awesome to help us win the Asian Games and Thomas Cup medals. Hate is for Kela/Unadkat manifesting here putrevus and Gollum 1 1
bharathh Posted August 1, 2024 Author Posted August 1, 2024 Just now, Number said: Don't want to start a political discussion but BJP govt was basically sleeping till 2016 Rio debacle. Then they woke up and started throwing heavy money on top prospects to get some medals. The likes of TT, Archery, Boxing, Wrestling are all in doldrums. Not a single new field Just a few top prospects but no effort to build a pipeline of talent at the grassroot level. If they had started efforts on this in 2014, we would be in much better position. Until our politicians are banished from sports federations and we run them professionally and have a talent identification and refining system from as early as possible - nothing is going to change. It doesn't matter who is in power. Kron, Number and Ultimate_Game 1 2
New guy Posted August 1, 2024 Posted August 1, 2024 Just now, Number said: Don't want to start a political discussion but BJP govt was basically sleeping till 2016 Rio debacle. Then they woke up and started throwing heavy money on top prospects to get some medals. The likes of TT, Archery, Boxing, Wrestling are all in doldrums. Not a single new field Just a few top prospects but no effort to build a pipeline of talent at the grassroot level. If they had started efforts on this in 2014, we would be in much better position. As everything its about PR and social media for them than real improvement. I would say so much political and business involvement with politicians throwing crores at them actually puts extra pressure on our athletes.