Paris Olympics 2024 Discussion Thread

China will get  opportunities in their dominant sports of Diving, TT and Weightlifting to add more Golds..

US have Basketball(both men and women), Volleyball, Football and track events.

Think US will just do enough to beat them

In terms of total medals (and then adjusting for gold to break tie) we are 37th, a more accurate reflection.

Bahrain imported two Africans (one of them still trains in Kenya) to win a couple of medals including gold. Don't rate such countries. 

We will bounce back in LA and finish in top 20 in terms of total number of medals.

Sweden won 10 medals

Belgium 9

Uzbekistan 8

Iran 8 

etc

Other countries with 6 medals are:

Cuba

Kenya

Israel

Jamaica

Turkey

Thailand

Taiwan

North Korea

Countries with less than 6

Denmark

Mexico

RSA

Argentina

Serbia

Norway

Portugal

etc

Despite all the setbacks and bad luck, we are not in bad company. 

16 minutes ago, Gollum said:

In terms of total medals (and then adjusting for gold to break tie) we are 37th, a more accurate reflection.

Bahrain imported two Africans (one of them still trains in Kenya) to win a couple of medals including gold. Don't rate such countries. 

We will bounce back in LA and finish in top 20 in terms of total number of medals.

Sweden won 10 medals

Belgium 9

Uzbekistan 8

Iran 8 

etc

Cuba

Kenya

Israel

Jamaica

Turkey

Thailand

Taiwan

North Korea

Denmark

Mexico

RSA

Argentina

Serbia

Norway

Portugal

etc

GIven the number of people that finish 4th we competed much better than many countries just have one gold sucked in all the other events

48 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Sweden won 10 medals

Belgium 9

Uzbekistan 8

Iran 8 

etc

Cuba

Kenya

Israel

Jamaica

Turkey

Thailand

Taiwan

North Korea

Denmark

Mexico

RSA

Argentina

Serbia

Norway

Portugal

etc

Top 3 should be counted. Not just gold. 

Great stuff india. We will build on this. 

3 hours ago, Gollum said:

Gora umps now have the courage to shaft China. How white is this sport? 

We need to shove our balla across these gora nations in hockey but developing a ipl esque version of hockey league. And then make them grovel like we do in krikut.

3 hours ago, Gollum said:

Our women got robbed against GBR and Arg last time in hockey. 

Imagine me having to support Chinese at anything. 

I hate all of them. Including Chinese. But Asian block first despite rivalry. 

1 hour ago, Gollum said:

Sweden won 10 medals

Belgium 9

Uzbekistan 8

Iran 8 

etc

Cuba

Kenya

Israel

Jamaica

Turkey

Thailand

Taiwan

North Korea

Denmark

Mexico

RSA

Argentina

Serbia

Norway

Portugal

etc

Yeh kya cope hai. Every country except the US orders by gold, then silver, then bronze. It's fair enough because gold is very difficult to get, bronze toh phir bhi repechage mein mil jata hai

We are way behind in that. That sucks but there are good chances of improvement. This time multiple things went against India. Hoping for a double digit tally next time and then 20ish medals in 2032. Gotta keep improving 

7 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

I lost 3 pounds yesterday in  6 hours after an intense 1 hour HIIT workout. Vines for some reason came to my mind.  Safe way to manage this weighing 49.5 without dehydration to start with. 

There's something more to it. Somebody really messed up as I can't believe for a second that a veteran wrester in her 3rd Olympics doesn't know how to manage the weight. It's more of a SA not able to read/interpret DLS target score in 2003 type of blunder. IMO they realized too late the amount of weight which needed to be cut.

7 hours ago, Sgattick10 said:

Why can't our Olympic team create a new anthem/song for every new edition like IPL. Why borrow a popular song from bollywood? Just cheap and lazy no creativity mofos. 

Earlier we took the "Chake De" song and made it to a cricket song. And now this Lehra Do. I can understand playing the same one odd time maybe at the end of the games but playing it numerous times during the day, and that too when someone ended up 4th is tone deaf.

Folks gold and silver are actual medals. Bronze is more a participation medal in a way.  That’s why gold is top. India did not win any event this Olympics which is a sad reality but does not mean India did not compete. The amount of silver bronze and fourth place is good start but need to get better. 

Ok , Even Pakistan with their troubles have focused and got a gold we can do it.

Ok bye 

:vroam:

Edited by Vilander
1 hour ago, Vilander said:

Folks gold and silver are actual medals. Bronze is more a participation medal in a way.  That’s why gold is top. India did not win any event this Olympics which is a sad reality but does not mean India did not compete. The amount of silver bronze and fourth place is good start but need to get better. 

Ok , Even Pakistan with their troubles have focused and got a gold we can do it.

Ok bye 

Bronze is a medal too. 

Top 3 in the world is no easy feat.

1 hour ago, DeepSpace said:

India is in between Ethiopia and Krygyztan! :lol: A billion people shooting blanks including the Dear Leader!!!!!

No one in india shooting “blanks” they need to open up with their kids. Kids who do are in foreign countries. @Kron is one:eyedance:. Look at @coffee_rules he cares about sambhar kid, who wants to be it dude. I have two masters n opposed my family at things i do. I have issues but boys we need a change, inly if my dad did allow me, i would be playing to WIN! Let your kids be who they want to be!

1 hour ago, Vilander said:

Ok bye 

Yep. Really hurts.    Ind (with 6 medals) is 11 places below Pak(with just 1 medal).  Even if we had won 10 bronze medals, we still would be ranked below Pak (marginally).    Indonesia with just 2 medals is among the top 30. (As both are gold).