External Affairs Minister Jaishankar to go to Pakistan for SCO meet

Austin 3:!6

Your opinion on S.Jaishankar's Pak visit  

5 members have voted

1. 1. Should FM be visiting Pakistan?

• No, Pak is a rogue state
    • Yes, since its a SCO meeting

In the first such visit since 2015, the External Affairs Minister will attend the SCO’s Heads of Government meeting in Islamabad this month; no bilateral meetings fixed yet, says MEA

In the first such visit in nearly a decade, External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar will travel to Islamabad to attend the Heads of Government (HoG) meeting of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) on October 15 and 16, the government announced on Friday.

The Ministry of External Affairs said that Mr. Jaishankar’s visit was “mainly” for the SCO grouping’s meeting, given India’s focus on “regional cooperation mechanisms”. No bilateral meetings on the sidelines of the meet have been decided thus far, it added.

EAM Jaishankar to visit Pakistan to attend SCO meeting on October 15-16 - The Hindu

Deeply disappointed with this decision. 

Why can’t we stay firm ?

And WTF is SCO, it is a China initiated and dominated block. 

I hope this is not a precursor to sending our team to Pak for the champions trophy ( with the excuse that it is not a bilateral series ). 

34 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said:

Deeply disappointed with this decision. 

Why can’t we stay firm ?

And WTF is SCO, it is a China initiated and dominated block. 

I hope this is not a precursor to sending our team to Pak for the champions trophy ( with the excuse that it is not a bilateral series ). 

See this video. Even though its satire, this explains why we are in SCO: 

@Lone Wolf, CIA is influencing this government it seems. Precursor to us sending the cricket team to CT. Never mind the volatile situation in Jammu region where among several atrocities, Pak terrorists killed 10 Vaishno Devi pilgrims in Reasi couple of months back. 

22 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

See this video. Even though its satire, this explains why we are in SCO: 

It may be a true ( and not really a satire ) w.r.t why UK was in the EU....but I don't agree with the analogy and don't think it works in the case of SCO and not comparable.

1. Several large EU countries  ( Germany, France, Italy.....) could individually hold their own against the UK - whereas all the SCO members - largely former USSR states are too tiny and almost subserviant to China and hardly democracies ( like China ) and will not speak a word against China ( or for that matter even Russia )

2. So as much as we think we can be a force of disunity inside to disrupt the China initiate block, we do not have the relative clout and power. 

We joined at the insistence of Russia, who wanted a large country as a countervailing force to offset China, but we are still 20 years behind that level of "clout ".

China responded to this by including Pakistan the same year,  trying to humiliate us and pair us as equals.

We should have declined membership, the benefit of being here is ZILCH. Just a bloody talk shop.

Edited by rangeelaraja

42 minutes ago, Gollum said:

@Lone Wolf, CIA is influencing this government it seems. Precursor to us sending the cricket team to CT. Never mind the volatile situation in Jammu region where among several atrocities, Pak terrorists killed 10 Vaishno Devi pilgrims in Reasi couple of months back. 

Totally compromised.... After those conflict of interest reports both Jaishankar and Doval should have been let go... But didn't happen.

I reckon CIA has serious dirt on ruling party & are controlling them bts

1 hour ago, rangeelaraja said:

It may be a true ( and not really a satire ) w.r.t why UK was in the EU....but I don't agree with the analogy and don't think it works in the case of SCO and not comparable.

1. Several large EU countries  ( Germany, France, Italy.....) could individually hold their own against the UK - whereas all the SCO members - largely former USSR states are too tiny and almost subserviant to China and hardly democracies ( like China ) and will not speak a word against China ( or for that matter even Russia )

2. So as much as we think we can be a force of disunity inside to disrupt the China initiate block, we do not have the relative clout and power. 

We joined at the insistence of Russia, who wanted a large country as a countervailing force to offset China, but we are still 20 years behind that level of "clout ".

China responded to this by including Pakistan the same year,  trying to humiliate us and pair us as equals.

We should have declined membership, the benefit of being here is ZILCH. Just a bloody talk shop.

I disagree. I think we are in SCO to mess it up but currently lack the influence and power to do so.Not a problem,since being part of this meaningless alphabet soup  doesnt negatively impact us and in future, when we do have influence and power, then we can weild it in said group and use 'we've been here for 30 years' as credibility card. 

So what we can't do jack **** in SCO today. One day we will be.

For now its just an excuse to ship away a sleepy beurocrat for chai biskoot session.

52 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Totally compromised.... After those conflict of interest reports both Jaishankar and Doval should have been let go... But didn't happen.

I reckon CIA has serious dirt on ruling party & are controlling them bts

There is no need for serious dirt. CIA's main ace in the hole is green card and career advancement for children of many babus in the US. That is the bottomline many forget. 

26 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

I disagree. I think we are in SCO to mess it up but currently lack the influence and power to do so.Not a problem,since being part of this meaningless alphabet soup  doesnt negatively impact us and in future, when we do have influence and power, then we can weild it in said group and use 'we've been here for 30 years' as credibility card. 

For now its just an excuse to ship away a sleepy beurocrat for chai biskoot session.

It is shameful that India accepted the membership along with Pakistan instead of rejecting this useless bloc, which was conceived by China,  for China's gain.

" one day, in 30 years...we will will be influential here...." ........doesn't fly.

India and China are geopolitical enemies and the animosity will only get worse with time, unless China gets off its high horse ( which will never happen unless it considerably weakens ) , which makes it brainless to choose to be part of a bloc conceived by China.

China is the most outwardly opponent of India's rise in the world- be it using its veto power to keep India out of the NSG or expanding the P5. 

Yet India choose to be part of bloc bearing China's name and admitted along with Pakistan. 

If there was any evidence of stupidity in foreign policy...

Such purposeless blocs where there is inherent geopolitical tension between member countries rarely is functional or effective.....be it SEATO or Commonwealth of Independent states (CIS )

Trying to read through multiple theories. Coming back to Ocham's razor. 

This is not about going to Pakistan. This is basic Indian foreign policy. Balance the elements. Keep all stakeholders guessing and on toes. Prioritise India's regional interests. 

Non issue. Apart from usual tamasha. 

For folks saying, if the politicians can go, why not our cricketers, think again? Politicians won’t go in public with minimal security to a stadium full of jihadis. Yes, I will call them jihadis as long as they fund and support Hafeez Sayyad, Dawood and pille lulle terrorists like LeT, JeM etc. Aman tum rakh lo aur hum Asha!! 

23 hours ago, Muloghonto said:

Never burn bridges. We are in a unique position. Who knows, who is going to Win US China war.

15 minutes ago, mishra said:

Never burn bridges. We are in a unique position. Who knows, who is going to Win US China war.

Not going to Pak is not necessarily burning bridges with SCO! 

5 minutes ago, zen said:

Not going to Pak is not necessarily burning bridges with SCO! 

I m talking about China. We will be able to Push Pak soon. Don’t need bridges there