Gollum Posted May 12, 2025 Posted May 12, 2025 LINK Legendary India batter Virat Kohli has announced his retirement from Test cricket with immediate effect. The 36-year-old finishes with 9230 runs in 123 Tests at an average of 46.85, which includes 30 centuries. In an Instagram post, Kohli wrote, "It's been 14 years since I first wore the baggy blue in Test cricket. Honestly, I never imagined the journey this format would take me on. It's tested me, shaped me, and taught me lessons I'll carry for life. "There's something deeply personal about playing in whites. The quiet grind, the long days, the small moments that no one sees but that stay with you forever. "As I step away from this format, it's not easy - but it feels right. I've given it everything I had, and it's given me back so much more than I could've hoped for. "I'm walking away with a heart full of gratitude - for the game, for the people I shared the field with, and for every single person who made me feel seen along the way. "I'll always look back at my Test career with a smile. #269, signing off." New guy 1
Lone Wolf Posted May 12, 2025 Posted May 12, 2025 Ro Ko PuRane gone .. Test team might be worth following again Sai Sudarshan should be next in line. Need a left hander in Top 3/4 besides YBJ in England. Something tells me Kohli will push for DDP and Patidar over Sai, Patidar even got a central contract afaik... He will be there in England Manucrick, cricspirit and Ultimate_Game 1 2
Bigg Brother Posted May 12, 2025 Posted May 12, 2025 Underachieved. Anyway thanks for his services. SandeepMotta 1
Gollum Posted May 12, 2025 Author Posted May 12, 2025 Early glimpes of brilliance like the Adelaide ton, his clutch 50 against NZ in 2012 Bengaluru runchase on day 5. 2014-15 BGT especially Adelaide test which changed the DNA of our test team 2015 Lanka tour, beginning of a new era of Indian test cricket. Incredible run with the bat from 2016 WI tour till 2019 RSA home series, the 2016 home series and 2018 away against England stand out. Also his brilliant tours to RSA on nonsense pitches, our best ever batsman there. Very few batsmen in history had such a peak for 4 years, like Ponting of 2002-06. But most of all, thank Virat for two things. 1. Our test run under his captaincy. Most ruthless home streak of all time, and amazing memories in SEA. GOAT test captain for us. 2. Pace bowling culture and focus, crafted by him (and Shastri, Arun) for the first time in our history. Watching 4 pronged Indian pace attack making Amla, Elgar hop and cry in 2018 Jo'berg or 2018-19 BGT dominance. Bumrah's inclusion in 2017 Cape Town, in general the way he nurtured and cared for our pacers. Thank you Virat, amazing career. Mosher, SandeepMotta, rollingstoned and 3 others 1 5
Gollum Posted May 12, 2025 Author Posted May 12, 2025 (edited) Kohli Ashwin Rohit Pujara Rahane Saha Ishant Umesh Vijay Dhawan All gone. Will miss the 2015-21 test team, wonderful memories. Jadeja and Shami are the last men standing. Anyway believe Shami too is finished now. Jadeja will play another WTC cyle I suppose, and deserves too, once he goes will be official end of an era. Edited May 12, 2025 by Gollum tweaker, New guy, Mosher and 5 others 1 7
The Dark Horse Posted May 12, 2025 Posted May 12, 2025 Tbh he could have stayed for 2 more years...he gave up too soon? Soorma Bhopali 1
Bigg Brother Posted May 12, 2025 Posted May 12, 2025 1 minute ago, The Dark Horse said: Tbh he could have stayed for 2 more years...he gave up too soon? Nah. He was done in test cricket. With new WTC cycle coming up, this was right decision. He was in ordinary in last 2 WTC cycles. Should focus solely on ODIs now and eye for 2027 if he is good enough till that.
Bigg Brother Posted May 12, 2025 Posted May 12, 2025 2 minutes ago, Gollum said: Kohli Ashwin Rohit Pujara Rahane Saha Ishant Umesh Vijay Dhawan All gone. Will miss the 2015-21 test team, wonderful memories. Jadeja and Shami are the last men standing. Anyway believe Shami too is finished now. Shami will follow the footsteps soon. Only Jaddu can play next home cycle. Gollum 1
Gollum Posted May 12, 2025 Author Posted May 12, 2025 Such a welcome change after the 2011-14 Dhoni years. 2015-21 was the peak of Indian test cricket. rollingstoned 1
Gollum Posted May 12, 2025 Author Posted May 12, 2025 6 minutes ago, The Dark Horse said: Tbh he could have stayed for 2 more years...he gave up too soon? Lost the fire. Anyway credit to NZ, they ended the careers of Rohit, Kohli, Ashwin in that one series. These guys were anyway old/jaded/finished, but Kiwis dealt the killing blow. rollingstoned, Bigg Brother, Texan and 1 other 4
cowboysfan Posted May 12, 2025 Posted May 12, 2025 Thank you,enjoy your new country and watch out for Pakistani s as they are lurking in all the bushes over there.
Lone Wolf Posted May 12, 2025 Posted May 12, 2025 (edited) 11 minutes ago, The Dark Horse said: Tbh he could have stayed for 2 more years...he gave up too soon? Whaaaaat? Bro had an insane fall from 2021 onwards. It was right time to step away. I totally respect this call. He didn't drag for too long. Edited May 12, 2025 by Lone Wolf Sandz, Scarface and New guy 1 1 1
Bigg Brother Posted May 12, 2025 Posted May 12, 2025 16 minutes ago, Gollum said: Early glimpes of brilliance like the Adelaide ton, his clutch 50 against NZ in 2012 Bengaluru runchase on day 5. 2014-15 BGT especially Adelaide test which changed the DNA of our test team 2015 Lanka tour, beginning of a new era of Indian test cricket. Incredible run with the bat from 2016 WI tour till 2019 RSA home series, the 2016 home series and 2018 away against England stand out. Also his brilliant tours to RSA on nonsense pitches, our best ever batsman there. Very few batsmen in history had such a peak for 4 years, like Ponting of 2002-06. But most of all, thank Virat for two things. 1. Our test run under his captaincy. Most ruthless home streak of all time, and amazing memories in SEA. GOAT test captain for us. 2. Pace bowling culture and focus, crafted by him (and Shastri, Arun) for the first time in our history. Watching 4 pronged Indian pace attack making Amla, Elgar hop and cry in 2018 Jo'berg or 2018-19 BGT dominance. Bumrah's inclusion in 2017 Cape Town, in general the way he nurtured and cared for our pacers. Thank you Virat, amazing career. Adelaide twins tons are the stand out memories of him. Almost written off from the test format 6 months ago after 2014 England series and India struggling under the Dark era of Dhoni, Captain Kohli definitely made this format watchable both with his captaincy and batting.. rollingstoned and Gollum 2
Insidious Posted May 12, 2025 Posted May 12, 2025 Faded away too soon. Mostly career graph of great batsman boom after 30s, however in virat's case, his downfall started after 30. Unable to make a comeback like sachin did in late 30s, which is hallmark of great players that how you re adjust your technique with your age and fading reflex. Nonetheless a good career. Thanks for the memories. cricspirit 1
Bigg Brother Posted May 12, 2025 Posted May 12, 2025 6 minutes ago, Gollum said: Lost the fire. Anyway credit to NZ, they ended the careers of Rohit, Kohli, Ashwin in that one series. These guys were anyway old/jaded/finished, but Kiwis dealt the killing blow. Losing Ashwin was massive. I doubt we will ever find the replacement of him. sorak 1
Gollum Posted May 12, 2025 Author Posted May 12, 2025 Just now, Bigg Brother said: Adelaide twins tons are the stand out memories of him. Almost written off from the test format 6 months ago after 2014 England series and India struggling under the Dark era of Dhoni, Captain Kohli definitely made this format watchable both with his captaincy and batting.. Yup, that 2015 series in SL was also dope. Crazy, underrated come from behind win against the last strong SL team. Also broke a long drought there by winning that series. Bigg Brother 1
Gollum Posted May 12, 2025 Author Posted May 12, 2025 1 minute ago, Bigg Brother said: Losing Ashwin was massive. I doubt we will ever find the replacement of him. Kuldeep is there. Losing Jaddu in next 2 years will be our biggest loss IMO (until Bumrah's retirement), don't see any replacement for him. Bigg Brother, cricspirit and wanted_desi 1 2
Gollum Posted May 12, 2025 Author Posted May 12, 2025 (edited) Also when you see all your colleagues/peers retiring, motivation dies down. Common in team sports. Kohli would have had a much deeper bond with Rohit, Ashwin, Rahane, Pujara, Ishant than Pant, Gill, Bumrah, Kuldeep, Jaiswal etc. Edited May 12, 2025 by Gollum
Gollum Posted May 12, 2025 Author Posted May 12, 2025 Think his biggest all-weather fans on ICF are @Austin 3:!6 @putrevus @Adamant. Others here had more or less given up on his test career a while back. Anyway hope for a last dance, 2027 WC jeetna hai. And win that by beating Aussies in the final Serpico, rollingstoned and New guy 1 2