Rohit and Virat ODI Future - World Cup 2027

With Kohli and Rohit now retired from T20s and Tests, and unlikely to feature in domestic cricket, it’s clear they will be heading into the next ODI World Cup with barely a few innings under their belt. Given how few ODIs we have before the tournament, this isn’t ideal preparation.

Meanwhile, we have a wealth of young talent performing consistently in the limited-overs format—why keep hanging on to aging stars whose time is clearly winding down? The transition should have already started. At the very least, it’s time to move on from Rohit.

If India does well in England with a fresh core, the case for these seniors only gets weaker. When will the selectors finally take the bold decisions?

This should be it for the oldies. Get Jaiswal in for Rohit and Sai in for Kohli at 3, and we're golden. Team for ODIs:

Jaiswal

Gill

Sai

Iyer

Axar

Rahul (wk)

Pandya

Sundar/Krunal Pandya/Riyan Parag/Vipraj Nigam etc. (basically a bowler who can bat and give you 6-8 overs a match)

Harshit/Akash Deep (any pacer who's in form)

Bumrah

Varun C

We don't need retirees and geriatrics who play 5-6 matches every year, don't play domestic cricket, and simply walk into the team. We have enough batters waiting in line.

Edited by Ultimate_Game
1 minute ago, Ultimate_Game said:

This should be it for the oldies. Get Jaiswal in for Rohit and Sai in for Kohli at 3, and we're golden. Team for ODIs:

Jaiswal

Gill

Sai

Iyer

Axar

Rahul (wk)

Pandya

Sundar/Krunal Pandya/Riyan Parag/Vipraj Nigam etc. (basically a bowler who can bat and give you 6-8 overs a match)

Bumrah

Varun C

We don't need retirees and geriatrics who play 5-6 matches every year, don't play domestic cricket, and simply walk into the team. We have enough batters waiting in line.

Think Gill should move to #3 in ODIs. 

2 minutes ago, wanted_desi said:

Think Gill should move to #3 in ODIs. 

He's good as opener in ODIs and gives us the left-reight combo. Really like the look of Jaiswal, Gill and Sai as top 3. Sai is the perfect long term no. 3 for us based on what we saw in SA a few years ago.

Even Tilak Verma is an excellent bastman in MO. We have enough world class ODI batsman.

No need of 40 year Rohit & 38 year Kohli.

Gill

Jaiswal
Sai

Tilak
Iyer

Rahul (wk)

Rinku

I think rohit won't play but kohli may sneak in

Team I will like

Jaiswal

Abhishek

Gill

Iyer

????

Rahul

Pandya

????

Chakravarti 

Arshdeep

Bumrah

I think these guys will be there

We need a dasher at top Abhishek can bowl too

We will need one more pace allrounder as tournament is in  south africa and azar won't be useful there

No 5 needs a genuine bat who can score briskly and be consistent maybe Tilak Verma or if parag can up his game

6 hours ago, Ultimate_Game said:

Jaiswal

Gill

Sai

Iyer

Axar

Rahul (wk)

Pandya

Bumrah

Varun C

Agree 100% and This could be a fantastic ODI side with Iyer skipper. Unfortunately we won't see it until after 2027 WC. 

6 hours ago, Ultimate_Game said:

Jaiswal

Gill

Sai

Iyer

Axar

Rahul (wk)

Pandya

Bumrah

Varun C

Would have Tilak at 3 and Axar at 8

4 hours ago, Sooda said:

Agree 100% and This could be a fantastic ODI side with Iyer skipper. Unfortunately we won't see it until after 2027 WC. 

Naah. They arent surviving 2 more years. Virat will likely retire soon, Rohit (not having won a WC) will hang on as long as possible 

Highest run scorer in kos of last three icc tournaments 

Ct25

Final - Sharma

Sf - Kohli

t20 wc 2024

finals - Kohli

Sf - Sharma

Wc 23

finals - Kohli

Sf - Kohli

Posters who try to run an agenda to portray the seniors as ko failures should be beaten with an iron rod.

Abe gadhe ye bata these two were highest scorers of each and every knockout of last three trophies than how are they ko failures.

Low iq janta.

45 minutes ago, Adamant said:

Highest run scorer in kos of last three icc tournaments 

Ct25

Final - Sharma

Sf - Kohli

t20 wc 2024

finals - Kohli

Sf - Sharma

Wc 23

finals - Kohli

Sf - Kohli

Posters who try to run an agenda to portray the seniors as ko failures should be beaten with an iron rod.

Abe gadhe ye bata these two were highest scorers of each and every knockout of last three trophies than how are they ko failures.

Low iq janta.

Kohli was playing for SA in the final. I am sorry there were other heroes like SHreyas Iyer, Axar patel that stepped up. This is how he was conning us for 5 years occupying the most critical batting test spot. Nobody is going to miss either of them. 

10 hours ago, deepdynamo said:

Even Tilak Verma is an excellent bastman in MO. We have enough world class ODI batsman.

No need of 40 year Rohit & 38 year Kohli.

Gill

Jaiswal
Sai

Tilak
Iyer

Rahul (wk)

Rinku

The problem here is you have only 4 bowlers.

To play 6 bowling options, we have to play Axar, Pandya + 4 bowlers.