ravishingravi Posted November 16, 2025 Posted November 16, 2025 One of sure signs of ageing is you are part of multiple conversation starting with lamenting the next generation. It's a pattern I guess. But Gen Z sure is a stark change from millennials. Most millennials built their formative years sans technology. Their emotional core was formed by new channels, MTV, Srk and Shaktiman ( not really ). Average person was not as informed and not even aware of the other side of the side. Things were not polarized. In fact everyone was happily tranquilized. Certainly rate 90s and early 2000s as happy time for me. In contrast Gen Z, grew up right in middle tech surge. More affluence and options. Working parents in urban households. More awareness but less grounding. More freedom but also more fears. Millenials lived in fear mostly. Lacking the fake purpose that millenials had. Now this gen, which largest and most relevant population to capture the hearts and minds of. I realized this especially when I saw the craze of Mamdani win among Gen Z in India. They don't know Obama. Some don't know even the CM of their state. They are certainly better in many respects. Confident. No nonsense. Say what they want. Clear about themselves. But all the upsides have basically been hijacked by one big downside. SM. This was absolutely clear with killer of Charlie Kirk. They are growing up in echo chambers. Most of their psychological grooming is happening under invisible hand of SM. They are becoming consequential everywhere. Politics. Economics. Corporate culture. Wonder how this will play out in India. Mantra is catch them young. But sure does look like death of critical reasoning. coffee_rules and Lord 2
G_B_ Posted November 16, 2025 Posted November 16, 2025 Built by technology (sm) and impacted by technology (ai). ravishingravi, Laaloo and coffee_rules 1 2
randomGuy Posted November 16, 2025 Posted November 16, 2025 Maybe gen x had similar conundrums with millennials? I guess it's the age mainly. Once that age (20-30 bracket) passes, good chance that the left leaning, support from communism, idealism etc. may change. G_B_ 1
G_B_ Posted November 16, 2025 Posted November 16, 2025 I had many left leaning friends. Once they had families and started paying taxes, became right leaning. ravishingravi, jf1gp_1, randomGuy and 2 others 1 4
G_B_ Posted November 16, 2025 Posted November 16, 2025 I think personally it was a great time to grow up for me. Was an early teen by the time the nokia brick came out. By the time it filtered through to the pop was 18. Was 21 at time of smartphones. Myspace and orkut (indian relatives) were in mid teens. As a child played in the street etc woth friends. So made use of tech but no negatives of social media. Its been 8 years since i stepped into a bank branch. Increasingly do monthly shopping including groceries online. singhvivek141 and ravishingravi 2
ravishingravi Posted November 16, 2025 Author Posted November 16, 2025 34 minutes ago, G_B_ said: I think personally it was a great time to grow up for me. Was an early teen by the time the nokia brick came out. By the time it filtered through to the pop was 18. Was 21 at time of smartphones. Myspace and orkut (indian relatives) were in mid teens. As a child played in the street etc woth friends. So made use of tech but no negatives of social media. Its been 8 years since i stepped into a bank branch. Increasingly do monthly shopping including groceries online. Those are my recollections too. Brings us back to the question of what is hapiness ? What is progress ? Eventually I think SM made everyone feel lesser one way or another. We didn't have this information.
BacktoCricaddict Posted November 16, 2025 Posted November 16, 2025 1 hour ago, Lord said: Apna ICF waala @Lone Wolf hai kya yeh? Lord, kepler37b, ravishingravi and 3 others 5 1
kepler37b Posted November 17, 2025 Posted November 17, 2025 @Chaos and @Mariyam are definitely GenZ. We should keep a lower age limit on this forum. Please make it happen @Lord Mariyam 1
Lord Posted November 17, 2025 Posted November 17, 2025 29 minutes ago, kepler37b said: @Chaos and @Mariyam are definitely GenZ. We should keep a lower age limit on this forum. Please make it happen @Lord Language on this forum is not family friendly
Chaos Posted November 17, 2025 Posted November 17, 2025 4 minutes ago, Lord said: Language on this forum is not family friendly Abhe what
G_B_ Posted November 17, 2025 Posted November 17, 2025 16 hours ago, ravishingravi said: Those are my recollections too. Brings us back to the question of what is hapiness ? What is progress ? Eventually I think SM made everyone feel lesser one way or another. We didn't have this information. I think even sm has its benefits. My parents moved to the uk in the 80s and i remember them writing letters to my grandparents. I missed out on interactions with them. Phone calls were very expensive. Now whatsapp calls are the norm. Its much much easier to move out of india and have netflix hotstar etc and phone home. Obviously, you have insta twitch tiktok snapchat etc and i am sure alpha n beta gens will have their own thing. These apps do evolve mental anguish.
Mariyam Posted November 24, 2025 Posted November 24, 2025 On 11/17/2025 at 7:12 AM, kepler37b said: @Chaos and @Mariyam are definitely GenZ. We should keep a lower age limit on this forum. Please make it happen @Lord Gen Z? I have an 11 year old daughter!
Lord Posted November 25, 2025 Posted November 25, 2025 18 hours ago, Mariyam said: Gen Z? I have an 11 year old daughter! Not making any comment on you, but Gen Z is another word for immature people Mariyam 1
Zero_Unit Posted January 12 Posted January 12 On 11/16/2025 at 9:02 AM, G_B_ said: I had many left leaning friends. Once they had families and started paying taxes, became right leaning. Guilty Lmao. I feel like school sets you up with a left wing mentality but when you go out in the real world, you realize how many people plays the system and only puts on a fake mask to get benifits. You lean right so fast once that pay cheque comes in LOL ravishingravi, randomGuy and G_B_ 1 1 1
randomGuy Posted January 13 Posted January 13 7 hours ago, Zero_Unit said: Guilty Lmao. I feel like school sets you up with a left wing mentality but when you go out in the real world, you realize how many people plays the system and only puts on a fake mask to get benifits. You lean right so fast once that pay cheque comes in LOL Plus the Netas who do competitive populist freebies many a times bankrupting their countries. Not just freebies, it includes salary and pensions of govt employees.
Zero_Unit Posted January 13 Posted January 13 42 minutes ago, randomGuy said: Plus the Netas who do competitive populist freebies many a times bankrupting their countries. Not just freebies, it includes salary and pensions of govt employees. Can't speak for India, but I am ashamed of voting for Justin Trudeau 3x. When I was younger, that nutbag got me with his cool words, how everything needs to be inclusive, money for this group, money for that group, etc. But then you start growing up and start paying tax and you know pay for your own things - When you don't pay much attention but suddenly realize the country went to nutbag land, and everything goes up to the moon in price, country's demographic changes to a point you don't even feel like it's the same country, you wake up real fast. That old man Harper was right all along about these lefty nutbags. ravishingravi and randomGuy 1 1
randomGuy Posted January 13 Posted January 13 9 minutes ago, Zero_Unit said: Can't speak for India, but I am ashamed of voting for Justin Trudeau 3x. When I was younger, that nutbag got me with his cool words, how everything needs to be inclusive, money for this group, money for that group, etc. But then you start growing up and start paying tax and you know pay for your own things - When you don't pay much attention but suddenly realize the country went to nutbag land, and everything goes up to the moon in price, country's demographic changes to a point you don't even feel like it's the same country, you wake up real fast. That old man Harper was right all along about these lefty nutbags. Same for voting for kejriwal for me. It's probably the age (say 18-28) where we think we know everything. Zero_Unit 1
ravishingravi Posted January 13 Author Posted January 13 Definitely coming to terms with this everyday. I think we haven't fully understand the impact of Instagram on the young folks especially women. It has fundamentally changed how they look at themselves and each other. Actually they are only looking at themselves. Will be good business to have well being or rehab set up to wein folks from SM. Thinking about it. Women certainly have been screwed over in a big way. Made folks terribly unhappy. Finding more and more people as unformed beings. Not having actual experiences apart from what they consume on sm. Their opinions are largely just rehashed from what they see in reels. Idiocracy is here. No other way around it. We didn't quite understand that arc of technology being more advanced than arc of human mind will be counted productive. someone 1
jf1gp_1 Posted January 20 Posted January 20 On 11/16/2025 at 7:54 PM, G_B_ said: I think personally it was a great time to grow up for me. Was an early teen by the time the nokia brick came out. By the time it filtered through to the pop was 18. Was 21 at time of smartphones. Myspace and orkut (indian relatives) were in mid teens. As a child played in the street etc woth friends. So made use of tech but no negatives of social media. Its been 8 years since i stepped into a bank branch. Increasingly do monthly shopping including groceries online. Gist of post. Guess my age ??