It has been a major issue, especially in the winter months in North India. No Govt is able to solve this issue. It has to be coming from the people.

None of the government solutions will work   odd even vehicles or trucks being banned or water being sprayed on the streets or even stopping Tandoor. 

I think the main issue is dust on streets and burning of crops para in North India. Today a cricket match between India and South Africa was abandoned due to  pollution. Very high AQI in Lucknow. This is so shameful. Somewhere somebody has to do something to solve this.

There is probably more open garbage burning in South India. 

In delhi, there's very very less garbage burning and vehicles don't ply without pollution check. One of the strictest pollution checks in the country.

South India has equally bad or worse civic sense wrt keeping the air clean. And not that South India is not polluted - it is. But the north Indian plains happen to be geographically disadvantaged as well.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTUPcR093iQnnK1NHgL31j

1 hour ago, IndianRenegade said:

Something we need to learn from the chinese, remeber seeing news reports like this about Beijing a decade ago. 

Man China people have no rights they can do what they want. In India people will sit on dharnas or companies will go to politicians to stop it.

Edited by gattaca

Major issues are open construction that leads to lot of dust and too many vehicles. Parali is issue in winters

Have to make laws to cover buildings under construction and reduce vehicles by promoting walkability and public transport.

Now they are trying to suppress it by spraying water and having own AQI standards.

2 hours ago, randomGuy said:

There is probably more open garbage burning in South India. 

In delhi, there's very very less garbage burning and vehicles don't ply without pollution check. One of the strictest pollution checks in the country.

South India has equally bad or worse civic sense wrt keeping the air clean. And not that South India is not polluted - it is. But the north Indian plains happen to be geographically disadvantaged as well.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTUPcR093iQnnK1NHgL31j

PUC is made easily in North India atleast. It is not a guarantee that vehicle won;t cause pollution

South India has advantage of being surrounded by sea too.

5 hours ago, Lord said:

PUC is made easily in North India atleast. It is not a guarantee that vehicle won;t cause pollution

South India has advantage of being surrounded by sea too.

Won't be defensive about delhi, but fact is i don't see any smoke emitting vehicles which are commonly seen in other cities.

Reg. AQI, few things I noted

1. A place which otherwise would show aqi 50 will show aqi 200 due to fog alone (says AI also). So, imo that much tolerance we have to give in  Aqi reading in north India during December, January. Remember during childhood there was fog with low visibility etc. but the air felt ok.

2. For the same Aqi reading if someone lives near an industrial area he may be breathing far more dangerous and harmful gases. So, aqi tells partial story, you also have to worry about whether you are breathing harmful industrial gases in your area.

5 hours ago, Lord said:

Major issues are open construction that leads to lot of dust and too many vehicles. Parali is issue in winters

Have to make laws to cover buildings under construction and reduce vehicles by promoting walkability and public transport.

Now they are trying to suppress it by spraying water and having own AQI standards.

I believe parali is biggest from mid October to November end. Where one can smell smoke in the air. Isko solve kar dein to 60-70% problem solved.

11 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

How did they manage to solve it?

Simple equation:

Civic sense and sense of community among Chinks >>>> Civic sense and sense of community among jeets.

This also shows the serious flaws of hindu society.

Govt will not touch punjabi farmers as the well organized and co-operative sikh organizations will fight for their interests. Even if it is right to pollute. The delhi babus and netas will crawl on all the 4 limbs to kiss the behinds of these people.

Can the modern hindus do that? My bet is on word 'impossible'.

Edited by kepler37b
17 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

It has been a major issue, especially in the winter months in North India. No Govt is able to solve this issue. It has to be coming from the people.

None of the government solutions will work   odd even vehicles or trucks being banned or water being sprayed on the streets or even stopping Tandoor. 

I think the main issue is dust on streets and burning of crops para in North India. Today a cricket match between India and South Africa was abandoned due to  pollution. Very high AQI in Lucknow. This is so shameful. Somewhere somebody has to do something to solve this.

Match was not abandoned due to pollution. It was fog. 

10 hours ago, kepler37b said:

Simple equation:

Civic sense and sense of community among Chinks >>>> Civic sense and sense of community among jeets.

This also shows the serious flaws of hindu society.

Govt will not touch punjabi farmers as the well organized and co-operative sikh organizations will fight for their interests. Even if it is right to pollute. The delhi babus and netas will crawl on all the 4 limbs to kiss the behinds of these people.

Can the modern hindus do that? My bet is on word 'impossible'.

You are abusing Indians ? Be thankful you are Indian with freedom. If you were in China your Social score will be zero. What Civic sense are you talking about ? Gutter oil ? Talking loudly by Chinese in tourist places ?

Edited by gattaca
2 hours ago, rkt.india said:

There is no smog without fog 

What! Smog has nothing to do with fog. It is a play on words to indicate that smoke induced conditions that look like fog. It can happen even in warm conditions, tropical cities, where there is no fog it’s industrial pollution and man-made events like burning crops or garbage.