Burn down panauti Modi stadium

6 minutes ago, Gollum said:

If you can dish it out, expect response as well. 

I can handle it just fine. Never had any issues on this forum previously and will never have.

19 minutes ago, Laaloo said:

I can handle it just fine. Never had any issues on this forum previously and will never have.

@Gollum daddy is there for my @Laaloo patel. There is a problem :police:

7 hours ago, Gollum said:

Maybe she got confused by the grey coloured seats, or maybe some people were sitting on the stairs. Eden, like Chepauk, Chinnaswamy, Uppal, has only bucket seats. 

@Mariyam do you feel this is the case?

I have to say, you would have to be bit of a fool to confuse grey bucket sests with concrete slabs

1 hour ago, G_B_ said:

@Mariyam do you feel this is the case?

I have to say, you would have to be bit of a fool to confuse grey bucket sests with concrete slabs

Omg grey bucket and talkin to @Mariyam sista like that? :nervous:

5 hours ago, Gollum said:

Luck ki baat nahi hai. Mohali was where we got knocked out in 2006 CT (final group game against Aus which was virtual KO), all venues will have happy as well as sad moments associated with Indian cricket. Kotla may be the only exception in last 30 odd years but that is just for test cricket. Ultimately boils down to how the team plays. Namo black soil pitch and dead crowd doesn't suit us, ultimately our players will have to crack it like professionals. 

This thread was made in lighter vein I am sure. But the point stands, when you have 8-10 top tier venues, should not favor one venue so much. Politics should take a backseat when we are hosting some global event. Even coming to bilaterals, since 2021, Ahmedabad has probably hosted more games than Wankhede, Chinnaswamy, Eden, Dharamsala etc. combined. If BCCI is applying rotation policy, I don't see it. 

BJP hates Pak so much, then why the desperation to host the Pak game in 23 WC in this stadium. Clearly other factors at play. 

Any proof of this?

Having been at eden gardens 2 weeks ago concrete miraculously turned into seats but it's still a filthy stadium and worst I have visited in India. I find this debate fascinating about Modi stadium and Ahmedabad becoming " epi centre" of Indian cricket . There are valid points on both sides of the argument but in cricketing terms you just got beat by a better side on the day . 

IMG-20260209-WA0001.jpg

36 minutes ago, Tattieboy said:

Having been at eden gardens 2 weeks ago concrete miraculously turned into seats but it's still a filthy stadium and worst I have visited in India. I find this debate fascinating about Modi stadium and Ahmedabad becoming " epi centre" of Indian cricket . There are valid points on both sides of the argument but in cricketing terms you just got beat by a better side on the day . 

IMG-20260209-WA0001.jpg

Hope you had a nice time and enjoyed your trip! And congrats on Eng reaching the SF stage!

4 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said:

Hope you had a nice time and enjoyed your trip! And congrats on Eng reaching the SF stage!

Now that is that worst thing you could ever say to a Scotsman :wp23:

Thanks I did but was glad to get back to Ahmedabad and Modi stadium from Kolkata.....oooooops maybe I should not have said that on this thread :wp23:

9 minutes ago, Tattieboy said:

Now that is that worst thing you could ever say to a Scotsman :wp23:

Thanks I did but was glad to get back to Ahmedabad and Modi stadium from Kolkata.....oooooops maybe I should not have said that on this thread :wp23:

Ha ha... Scotland disappointed this tourney and should've beaten Nepal. Hope they become stronger as would be good to have more decent cricketing nations.

13 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said:

Ha ha... Scotland disappointed this tourney and should've beaten Nepal. Hope they become stronger as would be good to have more decent cricketing nations.

They were disappointing, your top 5 batters can't give their wickets away by finding the only man on the boundary .

The game against West Indies too at 13 over stage we were actually favourites to chase the score but lost two wickets in 7 balls and collapsed . 
8 players play in the Scottish leagues , 2 play for English counties sides  and one in new zealand do we continue with that strategy of home grown or do we go Italy, USA, Netherlands etc and find Ex international , first class players who have Scottish grandparents? 

8 hours ago, Gollum said:

Luck ki baat nahi hai. Mohali was where we got knocked out in 2006 CT (final group game against Aus which was virtual KO), all venues will have happy as well as sad moments associated with Indian cricket. Kotla may be the only exception in last 30 odd years but that is just for test cricket. Ultimately boils down to how the team plays. Namo black soil pitch and dead crowd doesn't suit us, ultimately our players will have to crack it like professionals. 

This thread was made in lighter vein I am sure. But the point stands, when you have 8-10 top tier venues, should not favor one venue so much. Politics should take a backseat when we are hosting some global event. Even coming to bilaterals, since 2021, Ahmedabad has probably hosted more games than Wankhede, Chinnaswamy, Eden, Dharamsala etc. combined. If BCCI is applying rotation policy, I don't see it. 

BJP hates Pak so much, then why the desperation to host the Pak game in 23 WC in this stadium. Clearly other factors at play. 

What other factors ? There is nothing to be overly analytical about it in this. 

For the longest time ( before Wankhede was renovated ) , Eden Gardens Kolkata due to being the largest stadium by capacity got outsized importance. What also contributed to this was Jagmohan Dalmiya as the most powerful man in Indian cricket for several years.

Then the renovated Wankhede came up as the “show piece “ stadium and got treated like the most important venue - hosting 2011 WC finals. 

Now with India having built the largest cricket stadium by capacity, in a Gujarat city and country’s leadership at govt level and in cricket from Gujarat, it is getting outsized importance - given that crickets global profile has been rising - want to use it to showcase Indias “grandest “ stadium - in the 2023 WC final and 2026 T20 WC final. 

Things go in a cycle. 

If Delhi’s stadium wasn’t this hideous - it might have gotten more marquee games. 

As for the biggest game / final --- there is usually one stand out venue.  In Aus it is MCG,  in the UK it is Lords .....and for now given its size and current leadership -- it will be NAMO stadium Gujarat for India.  

Edited by rangeelaraja

Sustained Noise = unsophistication. We find that in India during festivals and marriages where people act as if they own the world without bothering about other’s conveniences. That culture probably shows up at cricket stadium too. 

I like how at Lord’s people “relatively” quietly appreciate a cricket match (non subcon teams games). In NZ, people spread out on lawns with their family and friends to enjoy time together and the game. 

Here we have all the hooligans shouting at the top of their voice, doing a dance move as soon as the camera focuses on them. Some even invade the pitches to touch a player’s feet like we saw during an IPL game at Bangalore.  And some of that guys portray such behaviour as “atmosphere” :facepalm:

:hatsoff:to Ahmedabad if the crowd acts in a “relatively” sophisticated manner. 

After looking at the pictures of Eden Garden, even the general dump storage quarters in my home are better. :rofl: 

10 hours ago, Tattieboy said:

Walk through the gate five yards at Eden Gardens in which I paid 1000r a ticket for when most seats were 100r I was greeted with this 

IMG-20260225-WA0007.jpg

This has been my experience too. A lot of construction debris lying on the walk way to the stands and a whole lot of seats just ripped off.

@G_B_^