Burn down panauti Modi stadium

6 hours ago, Laaloo said:

Hope  Jay Shah announces 2031 WC final to be played here as well.  :yay:

SA proved the myths about this stadium wrong.

I don't think it will have any impact for tomorrow .

2 hours ago, Forward Defence said:

When you build a 1,32,000 capacity stadium it is bound to get to host a lot of important games. Actually there has been a paradigm shift regarding venues over the years. 96 world cup had 17 games in India with 17 different venues. Patna hosted a game. Now we have restricted the games to a select few and the pecking order is Ahmedabad, Mumbai , Kolkata/Chennai and a sort of merry go round over the others. There may be sound economic reasons for such choices but a part of me wants to see games at these venues also. For instance Rajasthan does not get any games, MP had Gwalior/Indore in 96 but no WC games now. Kochi used to be a great venue(Sachin did great there). 2023 had an average of 5 matches in each venue and this T20 wc has 7 matches / venue. Shouldn't it be spread around a little bit? What say others

Add pune, mohali, dharamshala, b'lore, Hyderabad stadiums. I am from Delhi, while the stadium is not great, the crowd is great here. Being the capital city, people have the paying capacity as well..

Ahmedabad alone should not be having all the finals.

17 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

Add pune, mohali, dharamshala, b'lore, Hyderabad stadiums. I am from Delhi, while the stadium is not great, the crowd is great here. Being the capital city, people have the paying capacity as well..

Ahmedabad alone should not be having all the finals.

The thing about hosting finals is interesting. There is a convention internationally about prime venues. Australia's prime venue is MCG, all finals are hosted there. England have Lord's and SA Johannesburg. Even Wi which is a conglomeration of several nation states have agreement over Bridgetown, Barbados being their prime venue.
The question now is whether the same template of prime venue should be adopted in India where there is fandom everywhere? I personally don't agree but what do I know.

28 minutes ago, Forward Defence said:

The thing about hosting finals is interesting. There is a convention internationally about prime venues. Australia's prime venue is MCG, all finals are hosted there. England have Lord's and SA Johannesburg. Even Wi which is a conglomeration of several nation states have agreement over Bridgetown, Barbados being their prime venue.
The question now is whether the same template of prime venue should be adopted in India where there is fandom everywhere? I personally don't agree but what do I know.

But at least other teams pick their venue where the home team does well and has some sort of advantage. But at this venue it's our opponents who start off with an advantage! When you're 32-0 all over the world in ICC tournies across the world and are 0-2 at this stadium, it means we would rather play away from home than this stadium. Surely BCCI can see that and forget giving us a home advantage, at least let us play at a venue where we're at equal footing.

15 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said:

But at least other teams pick their venue where the home team does well and has some sort of advantage. But at this venue it's our opponents who start off with an advantage! When you're 32-0 all over the world in ICC tournies across the world and are 0-2 at this stadium, it means we would rather play away from home than this stadium. Surely BCCI can see that and forget giving us a home advantage, at least let us play at a venue where we're at equal footing.

If you add asia cup  37 wins out of 39 matches since 2023 world cup

Screenshot-2026-03-07-120621.jpg

5 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

If you add asia cup  37 wins out of 39 matches since 2023 world cup

Screenshot-2026-03-07-120621.jpg

When you're 37-0 at all other venues and are 0-2 at one specific venue, surely that's not a coincidence. That's a red flag! And BCCI should've seen it when majority of fans can. or at the very least make the match a day match so at the very least the conditions remain the same throughout the match.

Given our luck with the toss, we'll be in a position to fight against the conditions and also the venue which simply doesn't work for us.

4 hours ago, Forward Defence said:

When you build a 1,32,000 capacity stadium it is bound to get to host a lot of important games. Actually there has been a paradigm shift regarding venues over the years. 96 world cup had 17 games in India with 17 different venues. Patna hosted a game. Now we have restricted the games to a select few and the pecking order is Ahmedabad, Mumbai , Kolkata/Chennai and a sort of merry go round over the others. There may be sound economic reasons for such choices but a part of me wants to see games at these venues also. For instance Rajasthan does not get any games, MP had Gwalior/Indore in 96 but no WC games now. Kochi used to be a great venue(Sachin did great there). 2023 had an average of 5 matches in each venue and this T20 wc has 7 matches / venue. Shouldn't it be spread around a little bit? What say others

Post modi ahemdabad might not get games. Since Guj is not that important a state. 

36 minutes ago, Vilander said:

Post modi ahemdabad might not get games. Since Guj is not that important a state. 

Hopefully we cut down their Olympics funding as well. They're getting around 120 crores with 0 medals or Olympics representation. While states like Punjab and Haryana who've won multiple medals and have numerous Olympians get a lower budget than Gujarat :facepalm:

1 hour ago, Ultimate_Game said:

When you're 37-0 at all other venues and are 0-2 at one specific venue, surely that's not a coincidence. That's a red flag! And BCCI should've seen it when majority of fans can. or at the very least make the match a day match so at the very least the conditions remain the same throughout the match.

Given our luck with the toss, we'll be in a position to fight against the conditions and also the venue which simply doesn't work for us.

It is not just superstition. There is more to it. People outside the forum are also discussing about it.

Screenshot-2026-03-07-134509.jpg

18 hours ago, Gollum said:

Tbh even that support is fading among many erstwhile voters. I won't vote for them based on their track record. India would have grown at this rate no matter what, and waise bhi quality of life is only going down. Congress in its present form is a joke of a party but there are many regional parties doing a better job yet demonized by the cultists. 

@MechEng once made a good point about the shift in rhetoric since 2014. That time, there was a constructive agenda where BJP spoke about development, creating jobs, infrastructure, atmanirbharta etc. I really bought into the Modi hype back then and expected him to deliver on those lofty ideals. But now all they do is mandir, masjid, ghuspaitiya, gobar/gomutra, communal politics, same ghisa pita Nehru, IndiraG etc. They have dumbed down political discourse. And even their so called revolutionary schemes have turned out to be duds, like Swachh Bharat. Infrastructure is crumbling, rampant food adulteration, unscientific views about nutrition/medicine being normalized, and no accountability for mishaps. Media is also compromised now, like never before, no pretence of neutrality. For their so called national security agenda, they haven't done a good job in kicking out illegal Bangladeshis, our foreign policy is a disaster and India is just a pushover now. A handful of crony industrialists are making merry while nothing has improved for the common man...I firmly believe that Modi has been reduced to a puppet and strings are being pulled by those 2-3 businessmen, in exchange for managing his PR and funding elections and the lifestyles of the cultists.  

Anyway politics ki baatein aur nahi karunga.

I remember this quote by Kasparov, same thing is happening in this country now. 

I will only spare BJP from civic sense part though.

Our countrymen itself are chewts and lack any consideration for the surroundings. Swachh Bharat abhiyan cannot change mindset, only we can.

And yes, the freedom to the armed forces to use lethal weapons against neighbour military assets is what I commend this government for. Those pics of blown up hangars are as iconic as the '71 surrender pic where Pak military general signs to end the war.

What I dislike the most is the free hand given to cronies, they have become way more powerful than they deserve to, because of this the Indian startup scene has taken a hit.

Edited by MechEng
9 hours ago, Ultimate_Game said:

Didnt we win against Pookistan there in 2023 WC ?

13 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Didnt we win against Pookistan there in 2023 WC ?

They are minnows just like Netherlands. That win was a given. Against better teams we've struggled at this venue.