vayuu1 Posted September 1, 2013 Posted September 1, 2013 B.a. Pass is a good movie,I am eagerly waiting for anurag kashyap's ugly.
Lord Posted September 1, 2013 Posted September 1, 2013 B.a. Pass is a good movie' date='I am eagerly waiting for anurag kashyap's ugly.[/quote'] :giggle:
Sidhoni Posted September 1, 2013 Posted September 1, 2013 OP missed Ladies vs Ricky Bahl, Ishaqzaade, Special 26, OMG, Lootera, Barfi, Bhaag Milkha Bhaag So far best movie of the year from those I have seen has to be Kai Po Che. Milkha and Special 26 to follow.
Debutant Posted September 2, 2013 Posted September 2, 2013 I loved Go Goa Gone. Nice movie. Haven't watched a single movie listed in the OP
Mariyam Posted September 2, 2013 Posted September 2, 2013 Prakash Jha's anti-system films are part of the system. Janta ka bhadaas ka fuse ud jaata hai and it's business as usual. +++++ Prakash Jha tries to make movies on social issues but ends up doing a very shoddy job. 'Arakshan' for instance, had nothing to do with reservation. Chakravyuh was a very poor rendition on the Naxal issue. More a western movie with crazy shooting bouts, I expected insights into Naxalism. But that wasn't to be. Another grouse that I have with his movies is that they are just too long. Satyagraha, Rajneeti, Aarakshan etc. And many a times the title of the movie is a complete misnomer. Worst director for me right now, in terms of return on expectations.
Prakat Posted September 2, 2013 Posted September 2, 2013 ^ right. I liked apaharan and gangajal to a lesser degree but have studiously avoided his later efforts. They seem to be getting more and more ham-handed in tone and style and with this one he has finally managed to make a parody of his own shtick.
Khalpat Posted September 3, 2013 Author Posted September 3, 2013 I use to watch movies regularly in the era when: 1. Manisha Koirala can be seen sitting in front of mirror while combing her hair, despite the fact that she was blind in the movie--- courtesy Guddu 2. Sunil shetty can be seen starting on a Yamaha Bike from his home which gets converted into Hero Honda on the way and then again gets converted into Yamaha when he reaches destination.- courtesy Waqt Humara hai 3. Ashok Kumar's Heart Attack gets cured while hearing the patriotic song - courtesy Clerk 4. Mithun, Akshay, Ajay doing stunts and beating 50 goondas in one go. Obviously for me, the movies in OP are something to cheer about. May be if I would have regulaly seen the Bollywood movies in past couple of years it would not have amazed me so much.
coffee_rules Posted September 3, 2013 Posted September 3, 2013 Jolly LLB, OMG, Kai Po Che were regular fare, just like Talash/Chennai Express. Yet to see lootera, Raanjhanaa, (i have seen half of it, not impressed). BMilkhaB
The Outsider Posted September 3, 2013 Posted September 3, 2013 Sab Bokwaas hai - the only movies I've watched over the last few years and have stood out are Bhardwaj's movies, Kahaani, Wednesday, and Gangs of Wasseypur(yeah, I finally gave in and watched it at home).
FischerTal Posted September 3, 2013 Posted September 3, 2013 Sab Bokwaas hai - the only movies I've watched over the last few years and have stood out are Bhardwaj's movies' date=' Kahaani, Wednesday, and Gangs of Wasseypur(yeah, I finally gave in and watched it at home).[/quote'] You forgot Chennai express :protest:
The Outsider Posted September 3, 2013 Posted September 3, 2013 You forgot Chennai express :protest: :icflove: That's too good for this thread.
Khalpat Posted September 3, 2013 Author Posted September 3, 2013 I am not sure why everyone is giving personal opinion of individual movies. I mean is it even surprise that Maryam would not like anything of Prakash Jha or Outty would not like anything other than Kashyap. What I intended to ask in the OP was has the quality of movies in recent times improved compared to previous decade of bollywood movies? May be calling golden era is a bit OTT but are we moving towards that era.
rkt.india Posted September 3, 2013 Posted September 3, 2013 Sab Bokwaas hai - the only movies I've watched over the last few years and have stood out are Bhardwaj's movies' date=' Kahaani, Wednesday, and Gangs of Wasseypur(yeah, I finally gave in and watched it at home).[/quote'] Agree. Though Bhardwaj movie Matru ki bijli ka Mandola was crap. Kahani was good for the most part bar messed up climax. A Wednesday was real standout film. The best Hindi film to come out in a long time.
The Outsider Posted September 3, 2013 Posted September 3, 2013 I am not sure why everyone is giving personal opinion of individual movies. I mean is it even surprise that Maryam would not like anything of Prakash Jha or Outty would not like anything other than Kashyap. What I intended to ask in the OP was has the quality of movies in recent times improved compared to previous decade of bollywood movies? May be calling golden era is a bit OTT but are we moving towards that era. :whine: I gave you a list of movies I genuinely liked over the last few years and these kind of allegations? :(( Seriously, you should watch Kahaani and Wednesday - neither are from Bhardwaj or Kashyap and they are my favorites over the past few years. Kahaani is a watch just for Vidya Balan's acting.
The Outsider Posted September 3, 2013 Posted September 3, 2013 Agree. Though Bhardwaj movie Matru ki bijli ka Mandola was crap. Kahani was good for the most part bar messed up climax. A Wednesday was real standout film. The best Hindi film to come out in a long time. Yeah, I think he was drunk while making that one. Khalpat, avoid that one. But do watch his other movies - Maqbool, Omkaara, Saat Khoon Maaf, Ishquiyaa, Kaminey. All top notch movies.
rkt.india Posted September 3, 2013 Posted September 3, 2013 I am not sure why everyone is giving personal opinion of individual movies. I mean is it even surprise that Maryam would not like anything of Prakash Jha or Outty would not like anything other than Kashyap. What I intended to ask in the OP was has the quality of movies in recent times improved compared to previous decade of bollywood movies? May be calling golden era is a bit OTT but are we moving towards that era. No. You can say films varied in terms of subjects and new young directors, writers bringing new ideas and different kind of films, but it does not automatically improve quality of the films. You can say people are attempting new subjects, but they still struggle to execute good ideas well enough, most often.
rkt.india Posted September 3, 2013 Posted September 3, 2013 Yeah' date=' I think he was drunk while making that one. Khalpat, avoid that one. But do watch his other movies - Maqbool, Omkaara, Saat Khoon Maaf, Ishqiyaa, Kaminey. All top notch movies.[/quote'] Yeah. Those were good.