Shivaji bhonsle Posted November 25, 2014 Posted November 25, 2014 :offtopic: Chennai :ohyeah: :yay: Dude, a river called 'koovam' or something like that flows across Chennai which is basically a huge sewage and you are calling Chennai clean. I was appalled by the callousness of Chennaites for making a river like this. It smells horrible across Chennai..
randomGuy Posted November 25, 2014 Posted November 25, 2014 I have worked or studied in or visited extensively following major cities of the country. - Delhi (including Noida and Gurgaon)' date=' Mumbai, Bangalore, Chennai, Chandigarh, Pune, Lucknow. Have been to Kolkata and Hyderabad for weeks on work. [/quote'] Lucky guy, for experiencing so many cities!
gattaca Posted November 25, 2014 Posted November 25, 2014 somebody could give me a million dollars right now to live in chennai and i would give it back and say no thanks' date='how people survive there in the summer is beyond me.it feels like the air is sucked out of your body.[/quote'] If someone gives a million dollars I would just buy a summer home in kerala or banglore and live there for summer.:winky:
maniac Posted November 25, 2014 Posted November 25, 2014 WTH,Last time I was in Chennai...all I saw was Govt.Liqior shops with brands that are unheard of lol.....You may become blind if you pick up the wrong brand of Vodka :cantstop: God awful sticky weather Water Problem in a lot of areas and in some areas you literally get Salt water. Congested traffic(benefit of doubt problem with all big cities) Rent is expensive. Not very accommodating if you don't know the local language compared to Hyderabad or Bangalore Good food though for veggies lot of options...Love the Andhra Mess :giggle: :nice:
maniac Posted November 25, 2014 Posted November 25, 2014 If someone gives a million dollars I would just buy a summer home in kerala or banglore and live there for summer.:winky: What about capital of Andhrapradesh :--D and Telangana
vvvslaxman Posted November 25, 2014 Posted November 25, 2014 Actually back in the 90s it was a highly livable cheap city .. Nowadays urbanization has turned the city into a total mess. Been the same for most cities. If only the morons had taken steps years before , they could have had better road service. But with metro rail service people will breathe little easier. It was the cheapest metropolitan in India by a mile. Nowadays i doubt that is the case. Last 10 years or so transformation was dramatic and chennai became unrecognizable for me. I used to say "I love chennai nothing can come close to it" 10 years back. Ironcially despite tremendous development in the last 10 years i would reconsider that opinion. Amount of money they expect donation for kids is mind boggling. Even for pre kgs they expect 25k, 30k etc. Chennai will still be a top city. Given a choice i will shunt all these metro craps Chennai, Bangalore, Mumbai, Delhi and live in a small town anywhere . Kerala no.1 choice. In TN place where i grew up population didn't really swell up.
gattaca Posted November 25, 2014 Posted November 25, 2014 What about capital of Andhrapradesh :--D and Telangana Good climates Bangalore and Kerala have best summers.
Haarkarjeetgaye Posted November 25, 2014 Posted November 25, 2014 :hysterical: this shows the calibre of India Today, not Chennai
Laaloo Posted November 25, 2014 Posted November 25, 2014 rubbish awards maybe if you move out of dilli, they would win something :P
fineleg Posted November 25, 2014 Posted November 25, 2014 rubbish awards you wanted Dilli to get award? :D Dilli gets award for most girls using gaali words (Engleesh swear words included) :)
Texan Posted November 26, 2014 Posted November 26, 2014 Kolkata is the best city in terms of safety and crime rate...really? Who are you kidding India Today? I guess that just shows you what yardsticks they have used.
Mariyam Posted November 26, 2014 Posted November 26, 2014 Population of urban agglomerations in India ( 2011 census ) 1) Mumbai - 18.41 million 2) Delhi - 16.31 million 3) Kolkata - 14.11 million 4) Chennai - 8.69 million 5) Bangalore - 8.49 million 6) Hyderabad - 7.74 million 7) Ahmedabad - 6.35 million 8) Pune - 5.04 million ...16) Coimbatore - 2.15 million ... 52) Chandigarh - 1.05 million link IMO, the top 3 should be one group > 1 crore, next 5 should be one group - 50 lakh to 1 crore and others as one group. Not sure how Chandigarh with 1 million population can be compared to say Mumbai with 18 million population. I think it is not fair. The number that you quote for Mumbai is the residential population of Mumbai. The day time population of Mumbai is probably another 10-20% more and the people who come to work in Mumbai from the Thane- Virar- New Bombay belt. No other mega city in the world has , on a daily basis, such a huge (in terms of %) influx of population during working hours.
Kalia_Test Posted November 26, 2014 Posted November 26, 2014 The number that you quote for Mumbai is the residential population of Mumbai. The day time population of Mumbai is probably another 10-20% more and the people who come to work in Mumbai from the Thane- Virar- New Bombay belt. No other mega city in the world has , on a daily basis, such a huge (in terms of %) influx of population during working hours. Yep...credit should go to the Gujaratis who made Mumbai what it is..
Mariyam Posted November 26, 2014 Posted November 26, 2014 Yep...credit should go to the Gujaratis who made Mumbai what it is.. Did you mean Parsis? Its not Gujaratis who reside on the outskirts. Its mainly immigrant Marathis from other parts of Maharashtra and North Indians. I don't see your point though. Or its relevance.
Kalia_Test Posted November 26, 2014 Posted November 26, 2014 Did you mean Parsis? Its not Gujaratis who reside on the outskirts. Its mainly immigrant Marathis from other parts of Maharashtra and North Indians. I don't see your point though. Or its relevance. Gujratis, Parsis and other non-marathi, non-locals who actually developed Mumbai into an economic hub. Point is to celebrate the diversity of India where non-locals step in when the locals are clueless or do not know how to manage and develop a city. United we stand as a Nation.
Mariyam Posted November 26, 2014 Posted November 26, 2014 Gujratis, Parsis and other non-marathi, non-locals who actually developed Mumbai into an economic hub. Point is to celebrate the diversity of India where non-locals step in when the locals are clueless or do not know how to manage and develop a city. United we stand as a Nation. I don't know if you meant that as a snide remark towards me? I'm a non Marathi myself. And historically speaking, everyone who came to Mumbai apart from the Kolis ( that is the local fisher folk) are non locals in the strictest terms, as they too have been migrants from 400 odd years ago. And most of the Gujaratis and Parsi in Mumbai today have been here for 4 or 5 generations. Anyway, my point was not about local or not locals, which you seem to have misunderstood. It was that the day time population of Mumbai is much higher than the number you've posted. Meaning that there is more strain on the resources and infrastructure of the city. No other city has such a large discrepancy during the day time and night time population.