Sing Vande Mataram or quit India: BJP to Muslim corporators

rageaddict

NEW DELHI: In a shocking incident, BJP workers allegedly asked Muslim corporators in Uttar Pradesh's Meerut district to sing Vande Mataram or "quit India", Times Now reported on Thursday.

The incident took place on March 28, when Muslim corporators claimed they were forced by the saffron party's members to sing the Indian national song during a Meerut Municipal Corporation meeting.

"We respect Vande Mataram, but BJP corporators and mayor were literally forcing us to sing," Afzal, a SP corporator told ANI.

Meanwhile, according to ANI, the city Municipal Corporation has prohibited some members from attending a meeting as they had refused to sing the national song.

This diktat comes despite the Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityananth's promise that there will be no discrimination on the basis of caste and religion in the state and his government's main goal would be development for all communities.

http://m.timesofindia.com/india/sing-vande-mataram-or-quit-india-bjp-to-muslim-corporators/articleshow/57918835.cms

Muslim councillors in Meerut walk out during Vande Mataram, membership terminated.

A group of Muslim councillors left the Meerut Municipal Corporation House as soon as other members started singing Vande Mataram, following which a proposal to terminate their membership was passed.

The proposal put forth by mayor Harikant Ahluwalia of the BJP made it clear that any members opposing Vande Mataram will not be welcome in the House.

The Muslim members, however, said they will continue to boycott Vande Mataram “as the Sharia law does not allow them to sing it and that they will move court over the issue if necessary”.

“The seven Muslim councillors of the House had walked out on Tuesday when other members started singing the national song. They returned after some time, but I refused to let them in,” Ahluwalia said.

The proposal to terminate their membership was passed at a meeting of the municipal board on Wednesday, the mayor said.

He said it was a serious issue and all members, barring Muslim councillors, were sincere about singing Vande Mataram.

“We will not allow members, who are against the singing of Vande Mataram, to sit in the House, when it assembles next. We will even go to jail, if required, over it,” he said.

Reacting to this, councillor Shaahid Abbasi said, “We are being looked at with suspicion even when we ready to lay down our lives for our country.”

Councillors Diwanji Sharif and Arshad Ulla said, “Our religion... the Sharia law does not accept Vande Mataram. We are ready to tender resignation but would not sing it.”

http://m.hindustantimes.com/india-news/muslim-councillors-in-meerut-walk-out-during-vande-mataram-membership-terminated/story-c0m8uAVw0X9omZ9642gDWK.html

3 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

why does anybody have a problem in singing Vande Materam?

How exactly is this discrimination on the basis of religion? If a Hindu refuses to sing Vande Materam he/she would have met with same fate.

* that.no one should be forced to anything they dont want to do,this is a freaking democracy and not China.

1 hour ago, surajmal said:

Make their living via the state but won't pay respect to it's symbols or song/anthem...

Point is, vande matram is *not* the the national anthem.

If someone doesn't want to sing it, for whatever claimed theological reasons, just let them be.

Refusal to sing vande matram at official events is permissible in the constitution. However, discriminating against those refusing to sing is not.

I don't know why this is such a big deal. Poor litmus test of patriotism.

4 hours ago, cowboysfan said:

* that.no one should be forced to anything they dont want to do,this is a freaking democracy and not China.

they have a choice not to be councilors.

This is civic responsibility and not anarchy. Based on your logic government hospital doctors should not be forced to treat people they dont want to. 

and these people say they are ready to lay their lives down for their country. So Sharia law does not allow you to kill other muslims and India is at war with another muslim nation. So they are not really ready to lay down their lives either right?

Its their choice, if they want to be in the armed forces or not. But this is a logic fail right there.

Nothing new, 

every year since last decade there is always a news item once year someone not singing the national anthem or song and someone calling them out and media gorging on the controversy 

it happened without Yogi and will happen with Yogi, and continue to happen after Yogi gone

18 minutes ago, asterix said:

Why Vande Matram is required in Council Meets? Koi kaam dhaam nahin hai kya?

I know across Gujarat and MP where Hanuman Chalisa is sung before council meetings

wait till media get foothold into this meeting and create an uber controversy 

and these people say they are ready to lay their lives down for their country. So Sharia law does not allow you to kill other muslims and India is at war with another muslim nation. So they are not really ready to lay down their lives either right?

Its their choice, if they want to be in the armed forces or not. But this is a logic fail right there.

They shouldn't have unnecessarily referenced sharia here. Deifying the country as 'mother' is considered as idol worship and against the abrahamic concept of one god. Even some orthodox christians are against it.

Anyway, it does sound silly to compel people to sing the national song or the national anthem. Yes, you could follow some basic etiquettes like standing up when the song is played and avoid disrespect, but to consider it binding on the individuals to actually sing it is frankly a bit fascist.

3 hours ago, G_B_ said:

they have a choice not to be councilors.

This is civic responsibility and not anarchy. Based on your logic government hospital doctors should not be forced to treat people they dont want to. 

Please do me a favor and think about what you wrote, this is not even a national anthem for Pete's sake.

If you are in public office you are bound to do this. If you are a citizen no one cares if you sing or not. That's the way things are. Even in US there was lot of controversy regarding a quarter back not standing for national anthem. If that's was a publicly elected official even in US they will face consequences.